We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabolous hotel”
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Maria Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabolous hotel”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A wonderful charming hotel situtated in the picture perfect town of Ravello. We enjoyed the views of the sea & sorrounding countryside from our hotel room terrace as well as from the hotel outdoor terrace restaurant, which serves great food (the hotel has their own organic vegetable garden) and the staff in both the restaurant and hotel are very friendly and helpful.
The owner of this magical hotel is always around chatting to guests and making sure that everything is running well.
A pool and beauty center are available at the sister hotel,Giardano, a short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: The superior rooms have the sea view, we were in room 105, in the annex. There are alot of stairs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    112
    31
    13
    6
See reviews for
50
263
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A delightful hotel in an outstanding area of natural beauty. Breakfast and the evening meal overlooking the hills and looking towards the sea are very nicely presented by very sweet staff. The owner Vincenzo Palumbo , a very quiet man, makes sure the whole place runs very well and is very hands on . A very nice family run hotel. Rooms very clean and a nice size.evening meals a real treat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We didn't stay at the Villa Maria Hotel in Ravello but we did linger over lunch actually longer than we thought because I asked her if she'd brought her purse and then after a breathess climb up the hill she said she had forgotten it. Never mind. This was a fairly traditional Italian lunch spot but with loads of character and a range of choices-seafood, pasta, the usual staples. What makes it perfect is the fabulous sea view and warm and friendly staff. It's about 20 minutes walk from the cathedral square but well worth the climb which in any case takes you a further 10 minutes away to fabulous ornate gardens. Just remember to bring your wallet or purse or you'll end up with one of you doubling the walking time back to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

During our travel to the Costa Amalfitana in Italy we found an enchanting placed called Ravello.
In this City full of charming streets and fantastic atmosphere we found this quiet, beautiful hotel.
The hotel, a former noble roman house, received us very warm with its beautiful gardens, splendid view to the sea and a gentile and kind service.
The restaurant is simply marvelous, great food, great wine. What else can be said?
Ravello is very close to Positano, Amalfi and other small villages of the fantastic Costa Amalfitana.
In addition, in the hot days of Italian summer you can use the swimming pool of the Giordano´s hotel, from the same owner.
Ravello and Villa Maria were the perfect match for a relaxing days in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElliotAug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Do consider staying here, preferably in the junior suite. Why? The staff and the owner are such warm hearted and pleasant people, it's not too big, and the views are beautiful, and the food from their own organic garden overlooked by the open air restaurant mostly has a rare fresh and healthy quality. All the great gardens and hotels, and the shops, are in easy walking distance for you to sample as you wish. Villa cimbrone hotel and gardens just around the corner are a must in the early morning and evening. Gore Vidal's house also is a must see and as villa Maria's owner also owns it, you can ask for a guided tour. Wonderful walks, especially the path of the gods, and do ask if Vincenzo can guide you, for an exceptional experience. Catch the ferry back from Positano. Torre de Zirro walk and on to Amalfi and back up if you are fit, or by bus, is special also. At the nearby church of the poor Clare's, you can hear the nuns sing a mass. The cooking class also run by Vincenzo is a must, even for non cooks, because he is passionate and enthusiastic. Watch out for the home made lemoncello! It is three star and not five star, and so there are some quirky aspects, but this hotel has a heart. And if the owner's friend Eddie Oliva is visiting, you will enjoy a superb guitar serenade! Pompeii and Herculaneum can be visited in a day.

Room Tip: Junior suite a must
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BillfromMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield,west yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was our first holiday on our own as a couple since parenthood and we wanted to return to magical Ravello. We did a fair amount of research and hoped that the Villa Maria would be the right choice and it was.
The superior room was worth the cost for the view and we would especially recommend the half board dining option which, although had much less choice than the a la carte, represented great value for money when comparing all the restaurants in the town.
The food was really excellent and the accommodation was typically Italian quirky but clean and spacious. All the staff were friendly and helpful, advising on bus times etc and wine choice in the restaurant.
A fantastic visit and we would certainly stay at Villa Maria again.

Personal tip- don't hire a car. We didn't this time and got a taxi from Naples airport then walked or used the buses locally during our stay. To drive/park on the Amalfi Coast and surrounding area is not for the faint hearted and for us would have ruined a truly relaxing and enjoyable break!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trafalgarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My Mum and I stayed here last year and came back this year. We were pleased to see many of the same staff and see that the hotel was every bit as lovely as we remembered. The restaurant is great, the views just beautiful and it really is worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Property: Villa Maria Hotel
Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#10 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool (parking and swimming pool situated at the sister HOtel Giordano, approx. 5 Minutes walking distance). Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing