We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with on-premises parking”
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Maria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Villa Maria Hotel in Ravello. The location can't be beat although there are a lot of stairs to climb to get to the property so not for elderly or disabled. The free parking is also a huge bonus and the lovely valet - Marco was our favorite - brings your luggage to and from the hotel with a golf cart. The food in the restaurant was also excellent, especially the dinner. Would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharonStewartClarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Along with friends from London we spent a weekend in Ravello recently, staying at the Villa Maria. The food in the restaurant was simply superb. We dined on the balcony with that amazing view over the Mediterranean on the Saturday night. All in all a wonderful experience. Room was a little on the small side, but comfortable. And after all when you go to Ravello, you won't spend too much time in your room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gonzalo156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I loved my stay at the Villa Maria. The room was HUGE, as was the bathroom. Tons of closet and drawer space. The restaurant had a wonderful view of the ocean and hills and the breakfast was delicious. My only complaint was that the wireless internet was a bit sketchy, but they did have a computer in the living area which was most often available. The location was perfect - an easy walk to the town of Ravello and close to the trails that lead down to Amalfi. We loved our stay at the Villa Maria!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manymcds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Victoria and I just wanted to say a massive thank you for all your help and support in making our wedding day amazing. Sometimes when you deal with people you don't know you don't know what to expect. And things can be even more difficult when working so far apart, conducting the planning via Skype etc.

But all your help and advice in planning our day was extremely useful. You really helped reassure us about how the day would work and about the choices we could make on the different options.

The day itself was unbelievable. We didn't really know what to expect but every aspect of the day was even better than we expected. Mario you were very good in both your organisation and making us feel comfortable on the day, we loved the service. It was fantastic! Our friends were amazed. And Annamaria you were great in all your help with the organisation and helping with our questions. Everything worked like a dream.

Villa Maria is a beautiful restaurant and the food was outstanding. We couldnt have asked for a nicer wedding meal for 30 people. And the staff were very helpful and attentive.

All in all you did an excellent job and we can't thank you enough for a day we will never forget. And we wish the best for you, your families and Wagner Tours in the future.

All the best,

Rob and Victoria

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here and really enjoyed our time. Quiet setting with friendly staff. Our room was nice, food was very good and the views great. We enjoyed the walk to and from the square as it allowed us to explore the town more fully.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is NOT a 4 star hotel,
Rooms are very big, we had a supreme room with a terrace.
To many steps to get to the room, tub is very narrow,
Parking is the sister hotel , on the web it says 40 meters but it's more like 600 meters,
We really like Ravello but this hotel doesn't worth E 305 a night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

I am pleased the clients highlighted the great size of the room with terrace – they omitted the room was among our Superior rooms, situated in the annex, which is even more exposed to the view over the sea.
The peculiarity of the Amalfi Coast are the streets and the steps so, if you are not dynamic and lover of the particular landscapes, we cannot suggest to visit the Amalfi Coast, which was, from the ancient times, described by artists and poets as “divina costiera” (Heavenly Coast).
Villa Maria “reflects” the peculiarity of the Amalfi Coast – you can reach the hotel by a 5 minutes walking distance from our parking and all the times the clients reach our Hotel, they always affirm the walking is worth!
The clients omitted also that the parking is a very important facility in the Amalfi Coast because it is pretty hard to find parking place and it is also very expensive. We are maybe among the fews that have got the parking and it is also free of charge.
We checked our website and the parking doesn’t seem to be advertised as 40 metres away from Villa Maria – maybe the clients meant the distance between the square and the Parking, which is more or less 40/70 metres OR maybe the clients took this information from another little known website, for which we are not responsible (it is very hard to check all the information advertised in the million of websites we are in and, in the most of the cases, we are not even advised of having been selected).
We are glad the clients rated the highest points for the position (don’ t you think this goes in contraposition with what he previously stated?).
As regards the tub, we would like to underline that the tub are of different sizes and even if the clients had a “standard size” tub, this does not mean that is against the dimensions expected by the law or by the minimum standards expected for a hotel.
So, if we consider, the great position, the great size of room with nice terrace and sea view, the free parking, we must also add the free use of the sister Hotel Giordano’s swimming pool, the well reputed restaurant with terrace and sea view… well… Euro 305 is mathematically worth for a Superior category room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We loved this hotel in Ravello with beautiful views from everywhere! The service was outstanding, room was super and the restaurant was superb. There was free wifi in the lobby and on the patio. The rooms were spacious and beds were firm but good. The shower was in a tub that required a step up.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105 that had a lovely terrace (shared wit two other rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BetsyGite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#3 of 21 in Ravello
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#10 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £124 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool (parking and swimming pool situated at the sister HOtel Giordano, approx. 5 Minutes walking distance). Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing