We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Maria Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. The staff were amazing, friendly, nothing was too much trouble and completely welcoming. We will definitely return to Villa Maria in the future, we loved staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0useface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    109
    31
    13
    6
See reviews for
47
261
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 2-week vacation which included stops in London, the Amalfi Coast, Cortona and Florence. While our entire trip was wonderful, the 2 nights we spent at Villa Maria in Ravello topped the list. We highly recommend Villa Maria to anyone traveling to that area. This was our first visit to the Amalfi coast and we arrived with no lodging in place. We drove through Positano, Praiano and Amalfi before heading up the hill to Ravello – we were so glad we landed there and especially at the Villa Maria which provided exactly what we were looking for. The staff was wonderful, the room was spacious, the views were incredible and the owner, Vincenzo, was happy to share special stories and the history of the Villa. Ravello is a beautiful spot and Villa Maria was perfect. Our room overlooked the terrace and with the twinkly lights and music, it felt like a movie set. Absolutely perfect and we hope to return one day! Assunta at the front desk was amazingly helpful with a smile on her face at all times. She is the reason we choose Villa Maria after also checking on lodging at Villa Cimbrone. Villa Maria had the feel we were looking for and they didn’t disappoint, it was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melinda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Villa Maria Hotel in Ravello. The location can't be beat although there are a lot of stairs to climb to get to the property so not for elderly or disabled. The free parking is also a huge bonus and the lovely valet - Marco was our favorite - brings your luggage to and from the hotel with a golf cart. The food in the restaurant was also excellent, especially the dinner. Would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonStewartClarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Along with friends from London we spent a weekend in Ravello recently, staying at the Villa Maria. The food in the restaurant was simply superb. We dined on the balcony with that amazing view over the Mediterranean on the Saturday night. All in all a wonderful experience. Room was a little on the small side, but comfortable. And after all when you go to Ravello, you won't spend too much time in your room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gonzalo156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manhattan beach, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I loved my stay at the Villa Maria. The room was HUGE, as was the bathroom. Tons of closet and drawer space. The restaurant had a wonderful view of the ocean and hills and the breakfast was delicious. My only complaint was that the wireless internet was a bit sketchy, but they did have a computer in the living area which was most often available. The location was perfect - an easy walk to the town of Ravello and close to the trails that lead down to Amalfi. We loved our stay at the Villa Maria!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manymcds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Victoria and I just wanted to say a massive thank you for all your help and support in making our wedding day amazing. Sometimes when you deal with people you don't know you don't know what to expect. And things can be even more difficult when working so far apart, conducting the planning via Skype etc.

But all your help and advice in planning our day was extremely useful. You really helped reassure us about how the day would work and about the choices we could make on the different options.

The day itself was unbelievable. We didn't really know what to expect but every aspect of the day was even better than we expected. Mario you were very good in both your organisation and making us feel comfortable on the day, we loved the service. It was fantastic! Our friends were amazed. And Annamaria you were great in all your help with the organisation and helping with our questions. Everything worked like a dream.

Villa Maria is a beautiful restaurant and the food was outstanding. We couldnt have asked for a nicer wedding meal for 30 people. And the staff were very helpful and attentive.

All in all you did an excellent job and we can't thank you enough for a day we will never forget. And we wish the best for you, your families and Wagner Tours in the future.

All the best,

Rob and Victoria

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here and really enjoyed our time. Quiet setting with friendly staff. Our room was nice, food was very good and the views great. We enjoyed the walk to and from the square as it allowed us to explore the town more fully.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0.3 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#5 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Property: Villa Maria Hotel
Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#10 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool (parking and swimming pool situated at the sister HOtel Giordano, approx. 5 Minutes walking distance). Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing