We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely breathtaking”
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Maria Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this lovely location for the last part of our visit to Italy. It is a beautiful villa (our rooms were spacious, clean, and very elegant--large bathroom with whirlpool tub and good shower). The outdoor restaurant is spectacular with a wonderful view of the surrounding mountain towns and the ocean. All in the most lovely garden with pergolas of wisteria; lush foliage everywhere. Our complimentary breakfast was wonderful--again with the breathtaking scenery and delicious food. Our gourmet dinners were included and truly a wonderful dining experience. The staff was friendly and helpful. Nice boutique on premises also. Be prepared for a bit of a challenging walk up to this hotel from the charming town of Ravello. We would recommend to anyone who wants to have a relaxing visit--sister hotel Giardino has a beautiful pool so your enjoyment of the beautiful climate and surroundings is complete. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Our room had a small terrace which a beautiful view of everything.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Many thanks for your kind feedback!
We hope to meet you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Villa Maria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place was the only one on our month long trip that we would not bother to return to.
The negatives-
-The rooms are very dated and worn out, ours also had a really bad musty smell. They are definitely overpriced for what you get (we had a junior suite). I can send pics if anyone wants to see how bad it is.
-The staff at the front desk could not be bothered to help with simple requests and were actually unfriendly and somewhat rude. My impression at the time was they must really not want to be working there.
-The free buffet breakfast was not very good, ice cold scrambled eggs, etc..
Positives-
-good view
-fairly good restaurant to eat dinner or lunch at located at the hotel (breakfast was not good).
-Nice waitresses helping with the morning breakfast service
There are many more places to choose from where you can probably do a lot better than this place !

Room Tip: We had the junior suite which had a large deck with a good view but that is the only positive. It wa...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfbaytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Many thanks for your personal comment.
We are pretty surprised to read about the negative aspects you described, mainly because the kindness and the smile are our main motto and the majority of the comments left on the portals (Tripadvisor included) have been always congratulating the frindly and helpful staff, the beautiful location and the Rich Buffet Breakfast and Restauant.
The great part of our rooms have been renovated and principally we paid attention to the Junior Suite, which is (for us) the "representative room" (thus, sounds very strange that is so bad as described).
Anyway, we take note of your review because all comments are very important to us!
We hope to redeem a positive comment in the future, on your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

What an amazing, magical place! The staff were friendly, accomodating, and always greeted us with a smile! They went out of their way to make our stay an incredible one! The food was excelllent and the rooms were wonderful! The views were spectacular! I cannot wait to return next year to bring more of our family!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Many thanks for your kind feedback. We hope to meet you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had an excellent vacation in ravello staying 4 nights at villa Maria. Staff was helpful and rooms were clean. Had a great view and they went out of their way to be helpful in every way possible. Because it is facing west sunsets are amazing from your balcony and that also means it is a little chilly in the am so bring a sweater. The cooking class is a lot of fun even for non cooks like myself. Vincenzo is a great cooking instructor.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Good bed. Hotel had heat which was needed in early May. Breakfast was good but would have liked to see more fruit. Servers were so-so. It felt like we were imposing on them if we got there at the time they were supposed to be serving breakfast. Serving table not completely ready. Tea water or coffee would come when they were ready to bring it but not before. Beautiful view from breakfast room. Bedroom was spacious and had a small patio with lounge, table & chairs. My room did not have a view. Very clean and in good repair. Small but adequate shower. Reception friendly and nice. No vehicles to hotel. Parking lot below and a hike up many steps and incline to reach hotel. Not good for anyone with breathing or heart problems. Hotel is nice once you reach it but the walk up discourages one from going down into the town very often.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat-in-Rancho-Mirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Many thanks for the kind feedback!
We are happy to find out the clients appreciated the location, the kindness of the reception staff and the cleanness of the room. The kindness is a must and our motto and the staff will never let the clients feel as if their wishes is an imposition in any kind of request. The only case the Breakfast serving table is not ready is when the clients show up before the serving times without any advance notice, but, also in that cases, the staff is ready to serve the food and explain the reason why there are missing staff on the buffet (before of the unexpected early breakfast).
Additionally, we are always at the clients’ disposal to arrange an “early breakfast” in case of the clients’ early departure – obviously, to grant the service, we need the clients to advice us in advance
The distance to reach Villa Maria is not a climbing but, obviously, it might be difficult for people who have health’s problems.
In that case, we suggest our clients (when they make the reservation, or even at arrival or during their stay) to choose our sister Hotel which is situated in the historical centre of the town, easily accessible, with swimming pool and parking.
In both accommodation options, we offer our clients free valet and luggage transportation from/to the guests’ rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Having eaten here on our last trip to Ravello we were expecting something very special. It was fine but not up to the high standard we had hoped for. The public rooms are very sumptuous but we had a superior room and it was OK but not special. At €300 a night we expected more. Breakfast was poor for this standard of hotel. The location is exceptional.

We attended the cooking course which was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

We are pleased to reply to the clients’ feedback.
Needless to say that tastes are very personal and opinions so different, but them all always very important to us, because are a guidance to make always better and better.
Our main target is to grant the clients’ request to make their stay unforgettable, and, as most of our clients’ reviews show, we can proudly say that we have a good average (this thanks also to our clients’ suggestions).

Honestly, Breakfast has been never criticized with a negative review, because it is our “strong point” for the wide choice of cakes, pastries, marmalades, cereals, fresh cut selection of cheese, ham, salami, fruit, etc
All our rooms have been renovated and offer high comforts of the 4 star hotel. Formerly a country mansion, Villa Maria prefigured a different layout for the rooms, which the lords separated by class distinction in master's rooms, guest's rooms, family's rooms and relative's rooms. Presently they are differentiated as Junior Suite, Superior and Standard all with elegant furnishings; for these reasons, all rooms are different (some have got balcony, some others balcony or even terrace) and each one with its own peculiarity.
We are happy to find out the clients enjoyed the experience had at our cooking school and we really hope to meet them again and make their stay unforgettable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What a pleasant surprise - this hotel in Ravello has an organic garden and cooking school under the expert instruction of Vincenzo. It was a wonderful course - 3 1/2 hours -we cooked our own 3-course lunch, complete with wine - all in the Mediterranean style of cooking - no butter and little/no salt - fresh bream local fish, shrimp, organic vegetables. What a great experience! The hotel itself is a gem of a place up at the top of the cliff overlooking Amalfi - service and cleanliness was impeccable - restaurant was excellent. Just remember, you have to walk up a steep hill of steps to the hotel from the town square in Ravello - (they porter the bags up). Wear your walking shoes.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the 1000 ft cliff hillside down to Amalfi - beautiful - sometimes we could hear...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30CatherineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

We are very happy to find out the clients enjoyed their experience with us! We hope to meet them again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#3 of 21 in Ravello
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#14 of 21 in Ravello
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#10 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £119 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool (parking and swimming pool situated at the sister HOtel Giordano, approx. 5 Minutes walking distance). Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing