We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant views !”
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Maria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely hotel with fantastic views. Difficult to access if you have mobility issues, although the very helpful staff will get your luggage up from the main square in Ravello, which is as far as you can get in a car/taxi. Breakfast was fine, although the staff were slow to refill coffee and replenish the buffet. The a la carte lunch and dinner menus were excellent and it is well worth eating in the hotel,great atmosphere , food and views. Rooms were good and the only issue is that the beds are very hard and not very comfortable. Some of the other guests made a similar comment. Overall an excellent choice if your stopping in Ravello, particularly if your going to a wedding at villa Eva which is right next door.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cohenfan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We really wanted to fall in love with this hotel but it didn't quite hit the mark. After spending hours researching where to stay in Ravello we were excitedly anticipating what we hoped would be a highlight of our holiday but for a property of this standard we left feeling a little disappointed. When we arrived a very helpful valet parked our car at the Giordano Hotel and transported our luggage to our rooms while we went ahead to Villa Maria and checked in.
We each had a Superior Double Room with Frontal Seaview which were in the annex. The rooms had wonderful views but certainly did not feel particularly plush or top-shelf. Our friends encountered many problems with their air-conditioning and their bar-fridge did not work at all despite several attempts by staff at rectifying the problem.
We ate dinner that night on the terrace and the meal was delicious and all the staff were very professional and friendly.
The most disappointing aspect, however, was the calamity that ensued at breakfast the following morning. We were seated at 9.30 am and there was a strange tense atmosphere amongst the guests already there and it didn't take long for us to understand why. The breakfast room was almost devoid of food and was not being replenished. There were 2 staff on duty struggling to do their best but there was only so much they could do to keep up as they were serving the (tepid) tea and coffee, so not sure who was checking up on the food. We had to ask for the juice and cereal to be refilled as there was a scant amount left at this early stage. A small amount of eggs and bacon was brought out and once word got out amongst the guests everyone swooped like a plague of locusts but not many got some of that and all that was left on the table was a few dry cakes . It felt like some weird scene out of Fawlty Towers. Everyone was joking about how paltry the breakfast was and to be honest it was just totally embarrassing for everyone.
Sadly, what started out quite promisingly proved to be memorable for the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Many thanks for the kind words about the kindness and the professionalism of our staff and the beautiful location.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience you had at our breakfast.
On the morning you described, we had a technical problem in our kitchen that caused some delays at the service.
Our staff, as you correctly noticed and described, did their best to make things go smooth, but it was obvious that the clients would have noticed a little delay with the food/pastries replacement –Our pastries/croissants/eggs are freshly made and it was unfortunately predictable that we would have some problems.
The problem with the air conditioning and the minibar was luckily sorted out on the due time expected.
We are very sorry you had a bad impression of our Breakfast because this is our “strong point”!
As matter of fact, you will surely notice from the past reviews that most of our clients left good comments about the quality and the service of our Rich Buffet Breakfast.
We hope you will have the chance to come back and spend an unforgettable stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a beautiful place. The setting for dinner is awe inspiring and the head water and senior staff including receptionists and breakfast staff very good. The rest of the staff let down the customer service unfortunately, but maybe that was coming from The Grand Hotel Capodimonte where service is exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SheepsMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Many thanks for your kind feedback and the nice words spent for our staff - although we did not understand who was the "rest of the staff" that let down the customer service.
We are very sorry if you got this bad impression and we really hope we will have a next occasion to leave you the best good memory!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at villa maria hotel on suggestion of a friend. Outstanding hotel clean great service nice. Only drawback is it is on top of the hill. Great view lousy walk but a must place to visit and stay. Also ate at the restaurant. Very good nice staff good food outstanding view from the table. The hotel doesn't have its own pool but you can use the villa giordano's a short walk and beautiful setting for the pool. Will say that the bed in our room was very hard so if that bothers you ask if they have a different type of bed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tommyv40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Many thanks for your kind review!
if you only asked for a different bed, we could have satisfied your request by switching you into another room or providing you with a different mattress.
The comfy of the bed is very personal and it is pretty impossible to fix which is the "standard" to make all the clients happy (someone would rather have a soft mattress, some others the hard instead).
However, we appreciated the gentle words spent for our hotel and we really hope to meet you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this lovely location for the last part of our visit to Italy. It is a beautiful villa (our rooms were spacious, clean, and very elegant--large bathroom with whirlpool tub and good shower). The outdoor restaurant is spectacular with a wonderful view of the surrounding mountain towns and the ocean. All in the most lovely garden with pergolas of wisteria; lush foliage everywhere. Our complimentary breakfast was wonderful--again with the breathtaking scenery and delicious food. Our gourmet dinners were included and truly a wonderful dining experience. The staff was friendly and helpful. Nice boutique on premises also. Be prepared for a bit of a challenging walk up to this hotel from the charming town of Ravello. We would recommend to anyone who wants to have a relaxing visit--sister hotel Giardino has a beautiful pool so your enjoyment of the beautiful climate and surroundings is complete. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Our room had a small terrace which a beautiful view of everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Many thanks for your kind feedback!
We hope to meet you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place was the only one on our month long trip that we would not bother to return to.
The negatives-
-The rooms are very dated and worn out, ours also had a really bad musty smell. They are definitely overpriced for what you get (we had a junior suite). I can send pics if anyone wants to see how bad it is.
-The staff at the front desk could not be bothered to help with simple requests and were actually unfriendly and somewhat rude. My impression at the time was they must really not want to be working there.
-The free buffet breakfast was not very good, ice cold scrambled eggs, etc..
Positives-
-good view
-fairly good restaurant to eat dinner or lunch at located at the hotel (breakfast was not good).
-Nice waitresses helping with the morning breakfast service
There are many more places to choose from where you can probably do a lot better than this place !

Room Tip: We had the junior suite which had a large deck with a good view but that is the only positive. It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfbaytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Many thanks for your personal comment.
We are pretty surprised to read about the negative aspects you described, mainly because the kindness and the smile are our main motto and the majority of the comments left on the portals (Tripadvisor included) have been always congratulating the frindly and helpful staff, the beautiful location and the Rich Buffet Breakfast and Restauant.
The great part of our rooms have been renovated and principally we paid attention to the Junior Suite, which is (for us) the "representative room" (thus, sounds very strange that is so bad as described).
Anyway, we take note of your review because all comments are very important to us!
We hope to redeem a positive comment in the future, on your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

What an amazing, magical place! The staff were friendly, accomodating, and always greeted us with a smile! They went out of their way to make our stay an incredible one! The food was excelllent and the rooms were wonderful! The views were spectacular! I cannot wait to return next year to bring more of our family!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Many thanks for your kind feedback. We hope to meet you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.3 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#14 of 21 in Ravello
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £131 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool (parking and swimming pool situated at the sister HOtel Giordano, approx. 5 Minutes walking distance). Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing