We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place”
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Maria Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a place”
Reviewed 19 May 2009

What a lovely place. We stayed 2 nights at the Villa Maria in a “superior” room (room 5). It was beautiful, with gorgeous tiles, a huge bed, antique furniture, a balcony overlooking the sea and a bathroom with a Jacuzzi bath!! It was our anniversary so we had arranged for champagne and the staff couldn’t have been more helpful and charming, wishing us all the best. Breakfast was taken overlooking the sea – It will definitely linger long in the memory

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    112
    31
    13
    6
See reviews for
50
263
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Ravello is stunning, and Villa Maria is pretty good too! The whole town is cobbled, very quaint, and for the Amalfi Coast, fairy reasonably priced (the hotel and the town). Villa Maria overlooks the coast a few km's away, and the views are amazing. The hotel is a pretty typical Italian villa style, old (in a good way), slightly 'rustic', OK grounds, good restaurant. There is a pool at the sister hotel which any VM guests can use (not so nice as Villa Maria by the look of it from reception / outside). The rooms are a bit old fashioned, but they are clean, cool and comfortable. Most (maybe all) have a small balcony or garden, which is great to relax and take in the scenery. In comparison to other more expensive hotels in Ravella (there are at least three others, which we looked at), I'd say this was very good value - we paid about 220 EUR a night in the middle of August, which I don't think is bad at all. I WILL DEFINATELY be back.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Maria in Ravello for 4 nights in October. The hotel is beautifully situated, overlooking the Amalfi Coast in the lovely town of Ravello. We enjoyed our stay, but our only disappointment was the tiny rooms. After a week at an agriturismo in Tuscany, and 3 nights in a spacious room in Bevagna, we were surprised by the small rooms at the Hotel Villa Maria. We were not even able to unpack our suitcases, because there was nowhere to put our clothes, or the empty suitcases. The shower was a cramped, plastic "mobile-home" shower. For the price we paid, we expected a nicer room. But we found that to be the case all over the Amalfi Coast. Everything is very expensive! We would love to return to Tuscany, but will probably skip the Amalfi Coast next time.

  • Liked — Beautiful facility & grounds; great views
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We stayed in the Villa Maria Ravello for one week and had a wonderful holiday .The hotel has a lovely relaxed feel to it  and although we were not happy with the room first offered the staff were  happy to give an alternative.In fact the room we eventually decided on had it's own little garden with beautiful views over the hills.We specially went at this time as it was during the Ravello festival and we had pre booked tickets for Einaudi and the Baku Philhamonic.The holiday was booked through the agent Italian Journeys who also booked the festival tickets and with their knowledge and expertise of the area helped us with a day trip to explore La Mortella in Ischia .We also visited Amalfi and Positano  and had some excellent meals in the Hotel restaurant with it's superb terrace views.We will definitely return to exquisite Ravello and the delightful Villa Maria and would always trust Italian Journeys to organize our trip.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We just returned from our wedding and honeymoon in Ravello. During our time in Ravello, we stayed at the Villa Maria. The property is wonderful with an amazing staff.

I highly recommend staying in the large room with the enoromous deck with spectacular views. We had our wedding dinner on the private balcony with an amazing view of the coast. We could not have asked for anything more romantic for our big night.

The room was spacious, clean and quite comfortable. The bathroom was equally spacious and clean.

The treasue of this facility is the amazing staff. They were quite accomodating during our stay and meeting all of our requirements for both our stay and dinner. Everyone is top notch and goes out of their way to ensure we had a great time. The food was some of the best we had while in Italy and the lemon wedding cake was perfect.

We look forward to returning to celebrate many anniversaries in the future with Villa Maria. Special thanks to Mario at Wagnor Tours for coordinating everything!

  • Liked — The amazing deck.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mmunson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

I have just returned from Villa Maria and have had a wonderful stay there. The hotel is very clean and furnished in traditional Italian style and has fabulous views. I also found the staff friendly and helpful and the owner kindly allowed us to visit the former home of Gore Vidal.

There is no swimming pool at the hotel but I actually found this to be advantageous as it added to the tranquility of the place, however if you do wish to swim guests can use the pool at the sister hotel Giordani.

I am looking forward to returning to Villa Maria in the next couple of years.

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere, great setting
  • Disliked — not enough hanging space
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ladystardust13uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2008

Beautiful hotel with an outstanding view and balconies for most of the rooms. The staff goes out of there way to assist you. The breakfast were elegant with a lovely view from the dining room. We had one dinner at the hotel and it was very nice with many items from their garden. Get in good shape before you go because Ravello is all steps up and down. Don't miss Cumpa Cosimo restaurant for dinner - "mama" is not to be missed. In all a very lovely hotel and town.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank bettyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#5 of 21 in Ravello
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Property: Villa Maria Hotel
Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#10 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool (parking and swimming pool situated at the sister HOtel Giordano, approx. 5 Minutes walking distance). Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing