We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical wedding in beautiful surroundings. Take me back!!”
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Maria Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We had our wedding in Villa Eva owned & catered by Villa Maria, We were greeted by champagne cocktails with a view, we had the most beautiful meal and then went indoors to dance till 4am. Our guests are still talking about it. The management and staff were fantastic and our planner Mario made it just perfect. We stayed in the Junior suite in Villa Maria the night before and the night of the wedding, the balcony that wrapped around the room was amazing and again had beautiful views of the coast.. It was a large room by Italian standards with flat screen tv and a seating area. It was bright and airy and had a lovely bathroom. The rooms beside us were a lot smaller and had a little balcony, but this is typical in Italy. Breakfast is typical Italian style with lots of buns, cakes and sweet things, but you can order a hot breakfast if you want. We had a gorgeous lunch with our family and it was with heavy hearts that we left, but we soon cheered up as spent a few more days in the sister hotel, Hotel Giordana whch has a pool and a huge terrace if you pick the right room, you don't get views of the coast but you do get a lovely view of the mountains and the little towns built into them. We are going back to Ravello for our 1st anniversary as it is the most beautiful little place on earth and so say all our well travelled wedding guests too.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hera08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

Stayed for 3 nights on my honeymoon and the stay was exceptional. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The food at the restaurant was unreal. Staff was especially attentive even by american standards. The other hotel Cimbrone had a great pool to lounge by as well. Ravello itself is a bit slower than other amalfi towns but was beautiful and extremely relaxing. Piano concert if outside was also worth the time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bostonRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Poor service, quite unfriendly some times, rooms (108 and 111) quite noisy (water and telephone for the maids terrific !), poor brekfast, hotel is quite far away from the pool (located at Villa Giordano, 10 mn by walk), VERY VERY EXPENSIVE, AVOID IT ! there are a lot of other very nice places to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philippemeyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We have recently returned from our week long stay at Villa Maria. First of all Ravello is the most unbelievable place on earth. We have travelled all over the world but have never been to such a beautiful and romantic place.

Villa Maria is a beautiful hotel. The restaurant is amazing. It has a amazing views to the sea and they play lovely music throughout the day. You can hear birds singing every morning. We had a beautiful room with a small balcony that looked over the sea. The bathroom had a jazzcuzi. The breakfast was really nice. We also ate dinner one night which although pricy was amazing. We had lunch almost everyday which was very reasonable. 7 euro for a huge pizza.

We were getting married in Villa Eva (close by). The staff were incredicble. Everyday we had different people arriving and we would just turn up for lunch/dinner and they would have a table arranged within secs. They went out of their way to help us. They are very professional.

If you are thinking of getting married in Ravello stop thinking now and just book it. You won't be let down. It was beyound all my dreams for our wedding. We had a wedding planner called Mario who is absoultely incredible! Any email we ever sent to ask a question while we were at home he would answer within mins. The price he quoted us the previous year was exactly the same. Every detail of the wedding was perfect. The staff work so hard to make you day so special. We met with many wedding planners the previous year however alot of them would not give us an excat price and were vague about the legal side of the marriage and organising the religious part. Mario did everything for us. You will not be disappointed if you choose a wedding in Ravello with Mario!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DXDXDXDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

What a lovely place. We stayed 2 nights at the Villa Maria in a “superior” room (room 5). It was beautiful, with gorgeous tiles, a huge bed, antique furniture, a balcony overlooking the sea and a bathroom with a Jacuzzi bath!! It was our anniversary so we had arranged for champagne and the staff couldn’t have been more helpful and charming, wishing us all the best. Breakfast was taken overlooking the sea – It will definitely linger long in the memory

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Ravello is stunning, and Villa Maria is pretty good too! The whole town is cobbled, very quaint, and for the Amalfi Coast, fairy reasonably priced (the hotel and the town). Villa Maria overlooks the coast a few km's away, and the views are amazing. The hotel is a pretty typical Italian villa style, old (in a good way), slightly 'rustic', OK grounds, good restaurant. There is a pool at the sister hotel which any VM guests can use (not so nice as Villa Maria by the look of it from reception / outside). The rooms are a bit old fashioned, but they are clean, cool and comfortable. Most (maybe all) have a small balcony or garden, which is great to relax and take in the scenery. In comparison to other more expensive hotels in Ravella (there are at least three others, which we looked at), I'd say this was very good value - we paid about 220 EUR a night in the middle of August, which I don't think is bad at all. I WILL DEFINATELY be back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Maria in Ravello for 4 nights in October. The hotel is beautifully situated, overlooking the Amalfi Coast in the lovely town of Ravello. We enjoyed our stay, but our only disappointment was the tiny rooms. After a week at an agriturismo in Tuscany, and 3 nights in a spacious room in Bevagna, we were surprised by the small rooms at the Hotel Villa Maria. We were not even able to unpack our suitcases, because there was nowhere to put our clothes, or the empty suitcases. The shower was a cramped, plastic "mobile-home" shower. For the price we paid, we expected a nicer room. But we found that to be the case all over the Amalfi Coast. Everything is very expensive! We would love to return to Tuscany, but will probably skip the Amalfi Coast next time.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#3 of 21 in Ravello
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#10 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £124 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool (parking and swimming pool situated at the sister HOtel Giordano, approx. 5 Minutes walking distance). Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing