We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed at this amazing hotel for our honeymoon after a wonderful wedding in Florence and it was a fabulous experience....nothing was too much trouble and everyone was friendly. Yes, the prices are high particularly for a cup of tea priced at 12 euros...but the food and service is worth every euro. Hotel Caruso is well located and the views are really breath taking!!!

I would certainly recommend this hotel as it is a real gem with lots of character and really is an extremely luxurious place to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caruso_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

As others have said the journey from Naples to Ravello is through the mountains and takes around an hour, the drivers both ways were excellent and helped with luggage and talked with us about the surrounding area.

The Caruso is set up on a street about a five minute walk from the centre of Ravello, which is a charming yet very small village. The Hotel Sasso is next door to the Caruso but I have to say does not look as appealing, yet I'm sure is a good Hotel too.

Our room overlooked the fabulous white rose trimmed gardens with an amazing view. Again our son was well catered for with a lovely single bed added in the room, children's slippers and dressing gown. The room was spacious and had all the amenities expected from a luxury Hotel, the bathroom toiletries were wonderful and never scrimped on!

We spent most days of our week break by the Hotel pool which was simply breath taking, we found that you could enjoy the sun in the morning, a fantastic lunch by the pool restaurant and then retire with a rossini and watch the birds dancing around the pool!

The food is without exception amazing, I think we tried most dishes but can highly recommend the tuna and any of the seafood pasta dishes we ate were amazing. The evening restaurant is set out on the terrace which again is beautiful, the second restaurant, I believe called the Belvedere Restaurant was not open during the time we stayed due to the weather being a little unpredictable at night but this did not effect our enjoyment in anyway.

The hotel has a free shutle bus to Amalfi and Positano, we visited Amalfi which we found very crowded and a little too touristy for us and soon escaped back to the calm of the Caruso. There is also a free boat trip from Amalfi to Positano and back which takes around two hours, we did this and found that we were the only three on the boat, the captain spoke perfect english and was very informative about all the sights along the coast; it was a great experience.

Finally, what make a good Hotel GREAT is the staff, I simply cannot praise each and every member of staff we encountered highly enough, from Marco and Yolanda at the pool to Tomasmo (a true gentleman and fantastic restaurant manager), Julia, Gabriella and more at the gorgeous pool restaurant, Giovanni the Restaurant Manager, Giovanni the restaurant waiter, the great lady sommelier, Nicola our breakfast man!, the housekeepers and of course not forgetting the exceptional Giovanni the Bar man who not only knows just what you want when you sit down but makes the BEST B52 cocktails in the world.......... thank you.

This is one Hotel that you have to visit in your life time, we are already planning our return!

Room Tip: Book a suite with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tippletree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

One of the reasons we chose Hotel Caruso for a short break was the many very good reviews on Trip Advisor, which we tend to use to make our final selection from a choice of hotels in any region.

In many respects these reviews were spot on, in that the Hotel is beautifully located, the rooms are exceptional and the staff all extremely friendly, efficient and helpful.

The transfer from the airport was a good way to start the break, through wonderful scenery and the driver pointed out a number of the sites.

Ravello was all we expected it to be, a charming small town with tiny winding roads and great views. The staff made us very welcome and the short guided tour around the hotel helped us to get our bearings immediately and also see the stupendous view from the pool area. The bottle of Prosecco and bowl of strawberries that we returned to find after lunch on our arrival day was also a very pleasant surprise.

The room, a deluxe junior suite, was outstanding, plenty of room and a view that must be one of the best that we have ever had from a hotel room. It was very comfortable and luxurious.

We ate at the poolside restaurant a couple of times, had a snack in the bar, room service and had dinner in the restaurant. The food was very good, although as a number of reviewers have mentioned, quite expensive, but we did feel it was worth it. Breakfast had plenty of choice.

We spent some time lazing in the pool area and enjoying the views from the warm pool. Iolanda is perhaps the happiest person we have ever met working at a hotel, always smiling and extremely helpful. I suppose working in such a beautiful environment helps.

Even though the Hotel is expensive, it was also a reasonably realxed environment unlike some hotels we have stayed at where you do not feel so comfortable.

There were a few small matters that made the stay less enjoyable than it might have been.

The first is that there was a stomach bug in the area, which unfortunately my wife suffered from for a day.

Secondly, the Hotel fire alarm went off at 3.00am on our last night. We were pleased that there was no fire, but would have preferred not to be woken.

Finally, the transfer back to the airport was not in the expected Mercedes car, but a larger Mercedes Viano, which although spacious, was not nearly as comfortable. The hotel did, when this was queried with them, quickly make arrangements to compensate us for this change of vehicle, and their gesture was appreciated by us.

Overall a very pleasant hotel, great staff and a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CharlieCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

First, the Caruso is one of the most expensive hotels on in the Amalfi coast. We were lucky enough to get a super saver rate and were upgraded to a suite. If you are deciding between the Palazo Sasso and the Caruso I would choose the Caruso hands down. They are right next to each other but the pool is where you will be spending your days. the heated infinity pool cannot be beat. Lunch outside by the pool is fantastic. The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to the city center. The rooms are very spacious. The bathrooms and balcony were huge. The food served at the hotel was top notch. I enjoyed the breakfasts. The hotel has US outlets and the wireless internet worked perfectly. My only gripe is there is no iron in the room and getting your clothes pressed can be expensive. All in all amazing trip. I would stay here again. We did not do the boat tour because it was too windy.

Room Tip: Book the super saver rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasonboo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Thank you Caruso for an unforgettable stay. Room, location, food, wine was amazing but best of all is the staff - amazing!!!! We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ollib02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

The hotel is situated in the hills of the Amalfi cost with great view of the coast and the sea. We had an amazing room with a big terasse. The hotel restaurant is very nice and Giovanni and his crew take great care of you. The nicest thing is the infinity pool though, which was slightly heated when we were there in April, so you didn't even feel cold when going for a swim.

Room Tip: Definitely get a deluxe sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelbeeZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Ravello is a wonderful mountain village with superb views. Hotel Caruso is the most amazing hotel we have stayed in. The staff are wonderful, friendly but not intrusive. The views from the room, pool and eating areas are spectacular. The rooms are large, very well stocked, great bathrooms, good beds and a pop up TV! The pool area and gardens are beautiful. The most relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gowithyodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
1.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,025 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
428 reviews
6.8 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range: £446 - £1,870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing