We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Event at Hotel Caruso”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Event at Hotel Caruso”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have to say this is one of the most amazing hotel experiences of all times. Not only is the hotel amazing with all it's stunning settings from the garden to the pool area - the best part of this hotel is without any doubt the staff working there. What an amazing heartfelt welcome we got, they all felt like great friends after just a few days there.
The Event Manager Tiziana was simply amazing and making sure that every need we had were meet - she want out of her way to make things happen that seamed impossible to start with. We were so pleasantly surprised.
Besides that the breakfast is amazing and the rooms are beautiful - all details are just right! The place is elegant but not stuffy - a perfect place for a wedding or company event!

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, we will be back again soon!

From the Moda e Arte Workshop Team a big great thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraabergTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to write such a wonderful review.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and appreciated our hotel.

As far as the staff is concerned, I can certainly assert that I work with a wonderful and passionate team and it’s great to learn from our valued guests that we are able to make them feel at home.

I look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Belmond Hotel Caruso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    71
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
117
474
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina, USA
Level 6 Contributor
595 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel commands the highest point in Ravello and the views are absolutely breathtaking. The grounds are expansive with gardens throughout...you won't want to leave the property. We upgraded to a suite, which was almost more of a small villa with a large patio. The staff was very, very helpful with our every request, particularly the wait staff and sommelier. It was too cool for us to use the pool, but it looked lovely. All of our dining experiences were fantastic. Be sure to take their complementary boat ride. Plan to linger and relax on the property!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollyamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Madam,

I want to thank you for the time you took to write on TripAdvisor concerning your stay.

We are very happy and honored for your flattering words and we hope to welcome you soon here at the Belmond Hotel Caruso for a new memorable experience and to fully enjoy our infinity pool.

On behalf of the entire staff I would like to thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Overall one of the best hotels we have ever been (we have been travelling widely around the world staying at many 5 star L hotels such as Ritz Paris, Splendido in Portofino, Cap Juluca in Anguilla etc...), if not the best.

Building: like living in a XI century aristocratic palace on the top of a panoramic hill: on one side rock mountains changing colour with the lights of the day, on the other side the (unbelievably beautiful) coast. The hotel has huge gardens wonderfully maintained spreading on a number of terraces always with a sea view to die for.

Rooms: We have had a wonderful upgrade (even if was our first visit at the Caruso). Huge, wonderful sea view from any part of the room, beautiful terrace (probably on of the best view I have ever had). The luxury here lies in the fine details: fresh flowers, antique fornitures, Frette linen sheets, cleaning and setting of the room to almost royal standards, heated floor tiled with hand made italian ceramic, huge marble bathroom with tons of towels changed many times per dayand huge size amenities (Penhaligon's and Bulgari) , super stocked bar and wonderful video/audio devices.

Service: here we speak of royal standards comparable, according to my experience, only to those of the Ritz Paris and probably of Splendido in Portofino (though I would say Caruso is better). I mean you are pampered in any conceivable way, still idiscrete way. Like one night we hadn't had dinner at the restaurant and ordered room service (at 10.30 pm); they told us 20 min waiting time. After 19 minutes (I am not joking) they were ready in front of our room with the food, our table was prepared like in a five star restaurant with Christofle cutlery and elegant cloth. The food was superb: I mean (I am Italian) pasta was cooked perfectly and the tuna was delicious. You are pampered everywhere in the hotel and wherever you enter you find smiling faces welcoming you and offering their help. At the conierge they are always ready to help you in a super-professional, though warm, way assisting you with excursions (they are great in giving tips and suggestions), reservations etc...Again probably the best concierge service I have ever experienced. In addition the hotel offers a free excursion around the coast by Ercole boat.

Food: wonderful, Michelin rated quality at restaurants. Tables set up and service to the highest standards, again though with a typical mediterranean warm and friendly touch. Absolutely to try: Pool restaurant. I mean, the infinity pool is just amazing setlled among middle age ruins...having lunch there suspended between sea and sky is an experience. We had wonderful pizza and fish frying which were just delicious and beatifully presented and impeccably served. Again you had the feeling to be like in a private exclusive yacht club. Breakfast menu (which you can have elegantly served in your room or terrace) is just wonderful and you can choose a variety of freshly (really) prepared delicious plates presented
in an impeccable way.

Drinks: I mean if I had to choose this woull be my favourite thing about the hotel. The cocktail bar is elegant and with a sea view to die for with live music every evening. The barmen are the best (really) I have ever met, I mean they are just worth the visit at the hotel. The quality of the cocktails is DIVINE (comparable only to the Hemingway bar at Ritz Paris), but what really is unbelieavable is the way they are presented and served. The barmen are incredibly smart, nice, knowledgable and they always find the the best cocktail for you (after speaking with you for a couple of minutes)..please follow their suggestions! The cocktail list is just crazily rich and you have like two pages full of types of Vodka to choose for your cocktail.

I came back from Ravello two days ago and I am still planning my next visit to the Caruso. As I said this is a real (not like many american hotels I have been at!) five star luxury (six star they would say in the middle east) hotel with a personal though impeccable service: you have all the time the feeling of being in a private aristocratic residence, seuspended between sky and sea. This of course comes with a price; but I think that the price/quality ratio is good since the quality, for the reasons above, is exceptionally high. Something to try absolutely once in a lifetime (or more if you can afford it). Perfect for special events and to live unforgettable moments with your relevant one with always a perfect feeling of privacy (the hotel is so well structured that sometimes you wander where are other guest; keep in mind that the hotel is regularly visited by cinema stars like Brad and Angiolina and by multi billionaires like Abramovič)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diego S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
Your incredible words are a strong incentive to continue offering the highest level of quality to our valued guests and your recognition makes us so proud to be ambassadors of the excellence of the Belmond Hotels around the world.

Thank you again and I hope to see you soon the Belmond Hotel Caruso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenville, nc
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We visited this property the first week of October and still wish we had stayed longer.Upon entering we were greeted with the scent of fresh star gazer lilies, which happen to be our favorite. The staff from doorman to manager to room attendants were beyond excellent and ready to please at a moments notice. Now to the restaurant.....The manager Giovanni Frusciante, what an absolute gem, nothing was out of reach for him. his whole day revolved around pleasing guests. We were able to get him to join us after dinner and he returned the favor by singing a few songs for the guests in the piano room.. Please see the hotel advertisements on the web and you can get a glimpse of his personality.. The food was excellent and the staff was unforgettable. highly recommend this hotel as one of the best in Italy. John and Martha Moore

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seandsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at this beautiful amalfi coast hotel for 5 great nights in September.

We had a wonderful room with a roof terrace which was amazing. The weather was great in September. The swimming pool is an amazing infinity pool with an amazing view. The food from breakfast, lunch and dinner was always great. The service was always faultless and the staff always remembered what we liked so the personal touch was certainly evident.

The only shame for our trip was that due to the time of the year the wasps were around when anyone was eating and a few people myself included were a bit jumpy. The hotel staff did their best to limit the wasps which was good.

The surrounding area is beautiful and the village of Ravello is well worth exploring and some interesting authentic Italian restaurants to sample. The hotel also lays on a complementary boat trip along the Amalfi coast which must be tried.

If you are looking for a luxury hotel in this part f Italy this hotel and the village of Ravello can't be beaten.

Room Tip: Fantastic room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonpope2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have stayed in a number of Orient-Express Hotels around the world and we have now found the very best. We stayed for a week and were given what seemed to be a whole villa for our stay! It even had a second lounge/TV room/Office area overlooking the Bay of Salerno. The entire experience was luxurious - the bath even had a head rest and the perfumed Bulgari bath salts were an added touch! Breakfast overlooking the sea with the sun shining in was very special and dinner equally so. We danced in the piano bar to our favourite songs after dinner. Giovanni and the restaurant staff were outstanding. Their attention, knowledge and suggestions were unparalleled. Once again, service to each of the staff members in this hotel truly comes from the heart. Then .... there's the endless swimming pool, which is someting you usually only dream about. The view is extraordinary, it's heated and spotlessly clean. Have lunch at the pool-side restaurant and let Daniel treat you to the best pizzza you've ever tasted or a fantastic pasta. We want to be back there right now, but may have to wait until next year! The hotel offers free shuttles to Amalfi and Positano and also boat trips along the coast. Make sure you avail yourself of these, as its safer to have their driver negotiate the roads than to try and do it yourself. Take in a piano concert at the Villa Rufolo while you're in Ravello. While we were there, there was a wedding taking place almost every day, which just shows how romantic and special the hotel is. It may seem to be expensive, but it is well worth every Euro, Dollar, or Pound!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 52!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Houlihan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Had a 4 night stay, but with an early inbound and late outbound flight we got almost 5 full days. Superior double room very comfortable with terrace of almost same size overlooking valley. Breakfast on restaurant terrace overlooking coast, food and view brilliant. If you're on a budget don't eat at hotel, but as a 5 star L you have to expect prices to be on the steep side! Infinity pool with views down the coast was great. Very peaceful, main sound was a braying donkey every so often across the valley. Complimentary shuttle to Amalfi and Positano, plus complimentary 2 hour boat trip, which for us were good as the only people using them. Only minor niggle was not being picked up by one of the shuttles so waiting around for another hour. Slightly delayed apology, but a small token of say complimentary drink would have been nice.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoGirasoli, Direttore at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind feedback. We really appreciate
​the time ​you invested ​to put together such a detailed review and we will pass your comments to all our staff.

Regarding your concerns about the shuttle delay, we apologi​s​e for any inconvenience caused. Corrective actions have been taken to avoid any further possible recurrence and please consider this a one off experience as this doesn't reflect the usual high standards we maintain at Hotel Caruso​.

I am personally ​looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you
​back ​to ​restore your faith in the high service level
​we offer at our hotel.

​With my kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
728 reviews
1.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
6.8 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 39 in Positano
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Property: Belmond Hotel Caruso
Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing