We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2009

The hotel is wonderfu! The concierge staff especially Francesco Battesimo, was so attentive and met each of our wishes.
Giovanni Frusciante was a wonderful help to us as well. The staff at breakfast were excellent especially Giovanni.
The room was a junior suite and it was very comfortable with a great view of Amalfi.
The pool is to die for!! The fitness center was very good, great views, good machines, no problem.Ravello is a charming town .
The air is permiated with the scent of gardenias. The church bells ringing is the town enhance the entire experience.
Mama Agata`s cooking classes were amazing. We would highly recommend the experience. The restaurant Torre Normanna ,in Maiori ,is i on the coast and it is wonderful!!! Try and go there. The prices are reasonable, the food is excellent! We toured the area by car and by boat. I t was a wonderful experience to see the coast in that way! AMAZING!!
This was a very positive experience and I would certaily return to Ravello and the Hotel Caruso.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonnfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Hotel Caruso
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the wonderfully restored Hotel Caruso, and we experienced the best service we have ever had from every single member of staff throughout our stay
We had a Deuxe room which was very spacious, with a great seaview, a balcony large enough to have breakfast on, and every amenity one could hope for.
The location is also fantastic, like being on the front of a great ocean liner. There is a terrific pool area which also has marvellous views both to the sea, and to the mountains.
The food in both the poolside and the main restaurant is excellent, and focused on delicious and ultra fresh local produce.
I think this is by far the best location on Ravello, and indeed on the whole Amalfi coast. It only took us 30 minutes to walk down to the sea, and 45mins to drive to Pompei!
A wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJWAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Wow. 5 stars across the board. Particularly the concierge staff who were helpful in every way imaginable. (I wish I could conjure up the name of one gentleman in particular) It was the ultimate honeymoon.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gfrase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

We spent 10 days at the Caruso over the summer and enjoyed it immensely as it has everything one could possibly want for a relaxing and luxurious holiday.

The prices, yes they are as steep as the drop from the pool to the sea below but it is the overall setting and generally excellent service that makes it worthwhile. However, as commented by one of your reviewers, housekeeping may or may not be a little light fingered which is entirely unacceptable in a property of this distinction. Small things went missing, nothing important or valuable but the children's sweets disappeared, my wife's ludicrously expensive face cream had clearly been used by less refined fingers and the loose change pile (which I counted every morning) would be a little less in the afternoon. As such, one felt that you couldn't leave anything out for a moment. Camora habits obviously die hard.

That said, staff were generally fantastic and very friendly. The concierge team are excellent, organising some very pleasant trips and boat hire. Indeed, the hotel organises an excellent daily trip along the coast allowing plenty of time for a swim in one of the bays.

Food, we thought was pretty good and the quality of ingredients outstanding. Not to be missed is the Neopolitan Evening at the poolside restaurant, which is just wonderful fun.

Oh and one more small complaint, at these prices, fresh fruit every day would be an easy touch rather than once at the beginning of the stay.

Time for management to instill some discipline in their staff or pay them more so they don't quite feel the need to help themselves.

And one fianl thing, the hotel boutique. Why? It should offer unique and attractive pieces of this fabulous region, not just clothing that can be bought in any high end outlet in Europe or the US.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nowvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Our daughter was married in Ravello last week (19thSept). We didn't actually stay at the hotel but after the marriage ceremony in the municipal we held the wedding reception at The Caruso ..... I can not praise the hotel and staff highly enough. It was absolutely superb from the moment we walked through the door. The food and service was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Everything was done in a very calm & professional manner. I would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone wanting the very special moments it gave to all of us at the wedding.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phoebe210454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

My friends got married in Ravello and were staying at the Hotel Caruso. I got dressed with the bride and left my belongings in her hotel suite whilst we attended the wedding.

When I got a taxi back to my accomdation, I discovered money had been removed from my wallet. The next day when I told my friends, they also discovered their money had also been taken from their wallet. Very dissappointing indeed, especially as our bags were stored in a concelled area of the wardrobes.

Lovely hotel in a stunnning setting but the incident tainted an otherwise lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Flamingo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Stayed for 25th wedding anniversary. Booked directly - was upgraded to a stunning , stunning junior suite - room101

Positives:
- superbly refurbished with state of the art services in a classic building
- wonderful gardens
- amazing pool setting - swim before breakfast when no-one is around - a quite magnificent experience; breathtaking views
- drink in the bar before dinner - the view and peach bellinis
- gym is good too
- easy to walk into ravello with its beautiful villas , gardens and square and atmosphere
- staff service and attitude. concierge very good - but ALL staff excellent
- outstanding breakfasts - food and setting

Not sures:
- lots of positive reviews on this site about the lunch and evening meals but we had a very average meal and so had others we spoke too around the pool. Very, very expensive for food and in my view poor value. Try the Cumpa Cosimo restaurant in Ravello for outstanding food and value
- value for money ? overall about 30%more expensive than the il san pietro in positano - this is very maginally better experience than the caruso and much better value

summary
- wonderful hotel and setting, but very, very expensive. Below par (for the cost) lunch and dinner

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LOUISCHESHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
1.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,007 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
6.8 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range: £615 - £1,923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing