We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place - Perfect Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Place - Perfect Honeymoon”
Reviewed 20 August 2009

This hotel is situated at the top of the mountain, about a 15 minute drive from Amalfi. I went with my wife and stayed here for our honeymoon. They upgraded us for free to the room at the highest point of the hotel with our own roof terrace. The staff were extremely polite and were some of the nicest people we encountered on our trip. The pool is amazing and pictures we have taken are as if they are out of a magazine. The views from the hotel are outstanding.

They also offered free shuttle buses to Amalfi and Positano and back which was very good, as parking otherwise there is difficult. Also they offer a free boat trip along the coast which we stopped off for some swimming in the sea and free beer on the boat. You cna pay extra for your own boat trips to Capri and other places.

The food is over priced but its handy as you dont have to go far and can have it next to the pool.

The walk to the square is good and there are restaurants and bars there and is a short walk.

Amazing hotel in an amazing place. Would highly recommend if affordability is not an issue.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay35h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    69
    26
    8
    9
See reviews for
116
466
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Everyone should experience this amazing place and stay at least once in this superb hotel. Impeccable in every single way. Elegant and gracious. The gardens, especially the roses, were beautiful. The service, the rooms, the restaurant, the infinity edge pool, - all delightful; the views - breathtaking. Fellow guests - well mannered, well-dressed & respectful of your privacy . I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

What a difference staff attitudes makes. About half of the staff we encountered were warm and friendly—the others completely indifferent, even rude. So on the pro side: the gardens are really beautiful, particularly along the walkway leading to the spectacular pool area. Note that the pool area only has about 8 chairs on the pool deck itself, but then dozens of chairs on grassed terraces separate from the pool area. So if you want to sit looking out across the pool, you need to arrive at or near the pool’s opening time in the morning. And that pool, with it’s views down to the ocean and up to mountain peaks and terraced villages, is simply tremendous. Unlike other luxury pool experiences, there’s no complimentary pool service (no water, snacks, etc.), but the pool staff were nonetheless solicitous and very professional when serving from the menu. But other than the pool, I had mixed feelings about the overall experience. The rooms were very nice and clean and luxurious, but in a sort of grandmotherly way, with floral bedspreads and upholstery, colorful tile floors, and wicker furniture. Excellent bathroom with a basket full of a diversity of high-end toiletries, quite a sampler of Bulgari, Penhaligon, and Molton Brown. We had a dinner reservation for the first night, but had to wait an hour to be seated, and were treated very, very rudely by the head waiter, who made no apology, was very condescending, and almost threw the menus down onto the table—completely unacceptable. The “spa” is in a separate small building that can only be reached through the gardens, up and down several staircases, and is unimpressive—mediocre treatments in uninspired facilities—basically just two rooms for treatment, an ok fitness center, and no real changing facilities—I changed in the treatment room. The breakfast is among the best I’ve ever had at a hotel, a terrific spread and a la carte menu options, of course, as well. The rest of the food was good, but not great. So altogether, I’m glad I stayed so that I could enjoy that pool, but I probably wouldn’t return, and just don’t enjoy the look and feel of the interior design, which struck me as boring and uninspired and matronly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

It is so difficult to put into words how magnificent Hotel Caruso is. We had our wedding reception for 35 guests in the Wagner Room. Firstly, the staff are exemplary - lots of other hotels could see how it should be done. They could not do enough for us in the prepartions or on our wedding day. Everything was absolutely perfect. Upon arrival the gardens were arranged for our aperitifs and canapes - all every elegant. There was music in the background and waiters topped up glasses/food without fuss. Guests are still telling us how amazing, delicious and scrumptious the food was. All perfectly cooked, expertly presented and served. The walk as the evening descended to the fabulous Infinity Pool,decorated with candles, where we took photos overlooking the picturesque Amalfi Coast. The Democratic Cake (wedding cake) was superb and cut in the garden at 10pm just before the fireworks , wowing everybody even the bride and groom! The rooms were wonderfully decorated, luxuriously lavish with all accoutrements. Especially, we would like to thank Massimo (Food & Beverage Manager) for his expert advice and looking after us amazingly well. This is without doubt a 5 star hotel. You will not be disappointed - luxury in anybody's language with outstanding views of the Amalfi Coast. We hope to return one day to relive our amazing Hotel Caruso experience.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinseltoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

An excellent hotel. The views from the pool are amazing, and being able to walk into the square after the day crowds have gone is special. Restaurant was very nice and worth trying.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravellingNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchung, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

The hotel is wonderfu! The concierge staff especially Francesco Battesimo, was so attentive and met each of our wishes.
Giovanni Frusciante was a wonderful help to us as well. The staff at breakfast were excellent especially Giovanni.
The room was a junior suite and it was very comfortable with a great view of Amalfi.
The pool is to die for!! The fitness center was very good, great views, good machines, no problem.Ravello is a charming town .
The air is permiated with the scent of gardenias. The church bells ringing is the town enhance the entire experience.
Mama Agata`s cooking classes were amazing. We would highly recommend the experience. The restaurant Torre Normanna ,in Maiori ,is i on the coast and it is wonderful!!! Try and go there. The prices are reasonable, the food is excellent! We toured the area by car and by boat. I t was a wonderful experience to see the coast in that way! AMAZING!!
This was a very positive experience and I would certaily return to Ravello and the Hotel Caruso.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the wonderfully restored Hotel Caruso, and we experienced the best service we have ever had from every single member of staff throughout our stay
We had a Deuxe room which was very spacious, with a great seaview, a balcony large enough to have breakfast on, and every amenity one could hope for.
The location is also fantastic, like being on the front of a great ocean liner. There is a terrific pool area which also has marvellous views both to the sea, and to the mountains.
The food in both the poolside and the main restaurant is excellent, and focused on delicious and ultra fresh local produce.
I think this is by far the best location on Ravello, and indeed on the whole Amalfi coast. It only took us 30 minutes to walk down to the sea, and 45mins to drive to Pompei!
A wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJWAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
720 reviews
1.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
967 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
6.8 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Property: Belmond Hotel Caruso
Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Prestigia, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing