We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch hotel - 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top notch hotel - 5 stars”
Reviewed 4 July 2010

This hotel is wonderful all around. From the location and the public space to the rooms, everything was top notch. Our room was a beautiful, spacious one bedroom suite with a terrace overlooking a breathtaking view. The service was extremely helpful and professional. We had the opposite experience with restaurants to one of the reviews below -- we felt the food and service at the hotel restaurant were great, and were disappointed at Rossellini's. The hotel dining room was extremely accommodating, professional, and what a terrace!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodie0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    69
    26
    8
    9
See reviews for
116
466
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I have just come back from a 7 night stay at the Caruso Hotel. It is the most I have ever spent on a hotel and I thought it was worth every penny. The staff were so lovely. Really friendly and helpful and not at all pretentious. It is the most beautiful hotel I have ever been in the the world and most people just walk around with this weird grin on their faces. The views are so wonderful and the food and drink were perfect. The staff were so attentive I was not allowed to do anything for my self (which is a bit tough now I am home!). One morning room service forgot my grapefruit. When I rang to enquire, they immediately sent 3 up! My only small problem was with mobile phones, which the staff didn't stop people using. I had to ask an American chap to stop after making 5 calls in 10 mins at lunch and I got a rather aggressive response where I was called "typical English! I suggest you just ask the staff to stop anyone who is annoying you with a mobile. I would thoroughly recommend this place and I am now saving to go back. I loved it so much. I would recommend the hotel improves its IT a little as no-one uses CDs any more! It didn't bother me, but my husband was a little put out!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharryLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I was just married about two weeks ago at Hotel Caruso. I must say that I was skeptical at first because of some previous reviews, but this hotel does NOT disappoint. From the lovely Tiziana who helped coordinate our wedding to the lovely General Manager, to the incredible lady who served us our garden side meal for our beautiful intimate wedding....every detail was tended to. The staff anticipates your every move and its quite fantastic. I've only experienced service like this at the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok. The General Manager graciously upgraded my wife and I to a beautiful suite for our beautiful day and it was incredible.

The spa is out of this world and the pool has a view that is priceless. My ONLY negative comment would be the pricing of food/drinks at this hotel. But, noone forced my arm to stay there and I would gladly do it all over again for the amazing experience they provided.

Do NOT miss out on Ravello. It is a very special place.

Thanks Caruso!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pposte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and absolutely loved it. We have done a lot of travelling to nice hotels and this was definitely one of the best we have ever stayed in. The hotel was delightful - absolutely charming and the grounds were breathtaking. The room was excellent, very comfortable beds, big bathtubs, Bulgari toiletries, wireless internet and one of the few hotels in Italy where we had tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The gardens around the hotel were stunning and the whole setting of the hotel was breathtaking. Would definitely recommend lunch by the pool and dinner in the hotel restaurant - definitely our best meal in Italy. The gym was also fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozgirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Stayed here for a special birthday celebration.The hotel was amazing,the location perfect with breath taking views.The staff couldn't help you enough,the breakfast and service you couldn't fault.The infinity pool was 28 degrees and the views from it are stunning.The hotel and staff made our trip one we will never forget.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeds29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We didn't actually stay at the hotel, but had a meal in their restaurant. Having stayed at other Small Leading Hotels/Orient Express hotels, we assumed this would be of a similar standard. It isn't. We also went to the bar before our meal. The staff are arrogant and not particularly helpful. The service is very slow and the food is nothing special. We paid around £250 for a meal for 2. They even add a "cover charge" of EUR6 per head to the bill, which I find astonishing given the price of the meals to start with. We also ate at Rossellinis next door on another evening. For roughly the same price (possibly slightly less), that restaurant has 2 Michelin stars, the food is of much higher quality and the staff are brilliant. The staff at Caruso kept telling us how wonderful their swimming pool was - this may well be true (we didn't see it) but I expect a lot more from a hotel than just a good swimming pool. We stayed at the Palazzo Sasso next door, and I'm glad we did - much friendlier and less stuffy, but still a 5 star luxury hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VickyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orient-Express_Italy, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Caruso, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
Dear Sir/Madame,

Let me introduce myself; my name is Franco Girasoli and I am currently
the General Manager of the Hotel Caruso

As you have reported to, I am very sorry to learn that your experience
at our "Caruso" Restaurant did not completely meet your expectations.

I carefully read your comments about the staff, the service and the
food and I thank you very much for having shared your impressions
with us, as either positive or negative they are, the guests' feedback
are a constant spur to improve our service.

As a matter of fact, we aim at spoiling our guests with an incredible
360° view over the sea , the warm and elegant atmosphere , the
friendly and professional service combined with our tasty,
traditional cuisine, for which we receive very positive feedbacks;
therefore I am really surprised and extremely sorry if we did not
meet what your expectations were.

If you would be so kind to send me a copy of your bill to my e-mail
address, I would be glad to personally investigate on the matter and
get then back to you.

Please accept once again my sincere apologies and I really hope to
welcome you again , as my personal guest , to let you experience a
faultless visit.

--
Franco Girasoli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2010

We spent two nights at this jewel of hotel from the Orient Express chain. A beautifully appointed room with a balcony and a luxurious walk in wardrobe with bathroom in flawless marble. The attention to detail is so visible, for instance, toiletries from Penhaligon's, the best breakfast possibly in the world if you consider location and buffet with superb service. We enjoyed listening to Mimo on the the piano at the piano bar every evening followed by very delicious dinners served up by restaurant manager Giovanni and his team that included Danilo & Tomasso besides others. Their poolside pizzeria is so charming, baking fresh pizzas in a brick oven overlooking the spectacular belvedere pool, in my opinion the best you will ever swim in! The hotel has been painstakingly done up and looked after and is a stone's throw from the town center. Go to the Caruso for an experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seahawk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
720 reviews
1.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
967 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
6.8 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Property: Belmond Hotel Caruso
Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing