We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECTION! Best hotel & location in Italy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PERFECTION! Best hotel & location in Italy!”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Let me start by saying that I have stayed at this hotel 3 times and every time was perfecto! I have been to Italy no less than 10 times and lived there for a summer and have traveled all around and stayed MANY places. Ravello is by far my favorite town. The view is breathtaking, it is not very touristy and I hope it stays that way (probably because it is a little more remote to get to) and the highlight of the town for me is the Hotel Caruso.

Now I might be biased because I got married in Ravello in May and most of my wedding guests stayed at the Hotel Caruso with us, but even on my stays without the group the service and amenities were amazing. If by chance you are considering doing an event at the hotel, I recommend it 100%. I had my rehearsal dinner here and they made it feel like my wedding! I feel like Tiziana is family to me. She was in charge of making sure everything about the rehearsal dinner, brunch, lunches, etc. and care of our guests went off without a glitch. I can’t give enough praise to her and the staff of this hotel and how well they take care of each and every guest. Even during my stays when I wasn’t there with a group, they exceeded my expectations of what a 5 star hotel should be. The food they prepare is fabulous! All the restaurants are great. A really nice feature about the hotel is the 2nd floor bar. They have a room that most nights has someone playing the piano, often until well after midnight. All of the staff go majorly out of their way to make you happy. I don't know how they do it, they're up at the crack of dawn greeting you with a smile and many of the same people are still there well after midnight making sure everything you need is taken care of.

Something I think worth noting is that since the hotel isn’t too large (less than 50 rooms) you really feel like you have the run of the house. While it is a “Leading Hotel of the World”, it is not stuffy in anyway. It has a relaxed elegance about it.

ROOMS: Each room is different and beautiful in its own way, which adds to the charm. Since I had a large group there I saw at least half of the rooms and really, there isn’t a bad room in the house. Even the 5 rooms on the garden side that don’t face the water are beautiful and very big and have great outdoor terraces and huge bathrooms. I actually really liked them because they had their own private entrance so you felt a bit more special. The rooms are all decorated in soft colors, not gaudy at all. The 2 best features of the rooms (besides the views) were the bathrooms were HUGE (separate shower & tub, all beautiful marble) and they have an outlet in the wall by the desk that has an American plug where you can plug anything American directly into it without an adaptor or converter (hairdryer, flat iron, computer, the wattage/volts didn’t matter). I’ve also stayed at the Palazzo Sasso next door which is also very nice, but their rooms don’t compare to the Hotel Caruso. The Villa Fraulo and Palazzo Sasso are the 2 next best places to stay. Again, I checked out most of the hotels prior to my wedding. This hotel is the largest hotel in Ravello, as far as restaurants, pool, property grounds, meeting space, rooms, but it still feels very intimate. It is spread out in such a way that wherever you are, it feels very private.

Must Dos’s:
1) Eat lunch by the infinity pool at the Caruso, the view is extra breathtaking and the pizza is to die for.
2) Get in the pool, they don’t get much better than this, or at least take a picture in front of it.
3) Walk the gardens below the Hotel Caruso, wonderful sights and smells
4) The hotel has a free boat that will pick you up in Amalfi and cruise along the coast to see the pretty sights.
5) Visit the Villa Cimbrone, the walk is about 15 minutes and not that bad, you can stop along the way at a café or restaurant. The view is the best in Ravello and I think best on earth. Eat a meal there if you can, the food is incredible.
6) Take a cooking class at Mama Agata’s.
7) Eat at Palazzo Sasso hotel’s Michelin Star restaurant – treat yourself!
8) Have a drink in Ravello’s town square and just observe & relax!
9) Bring your walking shoes, the town is small and once you are there you don’t drive or take taxis.

I LOVE this hotel and plan on going back to stay in Ravello for many anniversary. It is a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle, eat great food and just sit back & relax and enjoy the breathtaking views. Feel free to contact me with any questions (especially if you want to know about local vendors), I could go on and on about this little piece of heaven on earth forever!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachyKeenGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    63
    26
    8
    9
See reviews for
110
444
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimbledon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We booked The Caruso back in March 2010 & it was perfect & we had a fabulous time & everything was perfect for our Honeymoon during September 2010.
If you want to impress someone then pick any hotel but if you really want to impress them than stay here.....it really is a simple as that & of course we'll be looking to return but just visit the website.
The Airport Transfer from Napoli was also one of the finest because once you've finished admiring Vesuvious then the through the mountains drive to Ravello is breathtaking.
All in all a fantastic, fabulous & unforgettable honeymoon. XXXXX

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WimbledonBrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

My new husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon. We were disappointed there were no vacancies in Positano so we decided on Ravello, and hotel Caruso. What a twist of good fortune. Ravello is the perfect honeymoon destination on the Amalfi Coast. Quiet, serene and gorgeous! The views form the world renowned infinity pool are incredible. And the stone poolside restaurant had the best pizza we had in all of Italy. The entire staff is so friendly, you feel like you're on another (much sweeter) planet than ours. We had a heavenly dinner on the terrace. Two singers played their guitars and serenaded throughout dinner, which really set the mood for a fun, perfect night in Italy. By dessert, most of the tables joined in for "O solo mio." The rooms are clean, and a bit Old Europe instead of some of the more modern places we stayed. I recommend splurging for a terrace overlooking the Amalfi coast, or a garden suite. The perfect place for breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

First the bad points, my laptop didn't seem to pick up the wi fi.

The plus points

The Staff
All were very efficient, friendly, attentive and spoke very good English.

The Pool
The infinity pool is dramatic and the temperature perfect. It also serves excellent lunches and is staffed by the same great staff I alluded to above. The young lady who runs the area is enthusiastic and most helpful.

The piano bar
Great views over the bay and great service. Serves perhaps the best gin and Tonic in the world
The boat trip
Free of charge to hotel guests and a must for anyone staying at the hotel. A luxury Mercedes bus takes you to Amalfi where you are greeted by a most helpful young lady who brings the coastline to life as you travel from Amalfi to Positano.

The rooms
Ours was spacious and clean with a wonderful view from the balking over the bay. The bathroom was impressively large and elegant. The staff who serviced the room were most helpful and charming and kept the room in great shape tidying up after
The gardens
A joy to behold full of wonderful flowers and tended by a caring gardener.

The restaurant
We eat outside overlooking the bay which was wonderfully romantic and atmospheric. As expected the food and service were excellent.

Overall outstanding!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Upon my arrival to the Hotel Caruso it instantly took my breathe away - the architecture, the views, the accommodations and the impeccable service were the most exquisite I had ever experienced!! In addition, the ammenities were incredible as well - not to mention the ellaborate gourmet breakfast buffet, the outside patio restaurant by the pool with its incredible brick oven pizzas and salad bar, plus the world class restaurant all made for the most amazing vacation anyone could ever have!! To top it off, the people working in this hotel were the most gracious, friendly and overextending human beings I have ever encountered! The facilities throughout the hotel especially the infinity pool has to be the best in the world - everything was top notch! Hotel Caruso is the world's best kept secret!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Our wedding reception was held at Hotel Caruso, Ravello in June 2010.

We initially planned to have the wedding dinner in Caruso's garden followed by dancing around the infinity pool but unfortunately due to bad weather we had to resort to staying in the Wagner Room all night.

The Wagner Room is nice but it's a standard reception room so I would recommend having dinner outside in the garden, followed by cutting of the cake and dancing by the infinity pool (there's an extra cost to hire the pool area) as the views and atmosphere are fantastic and it would be a unique experience your guests will never forget.

The food at Hotel Caruso was excellent and all our guests commented on the excellent quality and presentation - the lamb was superb! Some guests even said it was the best food they've ever had at a wedding.

Tiziana, our event manager, was extremely accommodating with all our requests for the wedding evening and did whatever she could to make our wedding perfect, which was greatly appreciated.

I would definitely recommend Hotel Caruso as a wedding venue. Although it is extremely expensive, you won't be disappointed.

The only negative we experienced was that the table service was a bit slow during the wedding dinner. For a 5 star hotel I would expect 4 or 5 waiters coming out and serving a whole table at once rather than only serving 2 guests at a time and then another 2 guests a few mins later. It was frustrating to see that one table had finished their meal whilst other tables were still waiting to be served as it delayed the time we had left for dancing. We only had 7 tables so it shouldn't have taken that long to serve everyone. We did have a couple of guests comment on the slow service, but this was only a minor thing and I'm sure Hotel Caruso will have changed their service methods.

Despite the above negative re slow service, I would still definitely recommend Hotel Caruso as a wedding venue. It truly is a stunning venue with excellent food, and if you can afford to hire the swimming pool area then I would recommend that option as it is unique, romantic and breathtaking - definitely a wedding your guests will always remember.

Regarding the other wedding services we used:

Wedding Planner: Anna Sorrentino - she was absolutely fantastic and I would highly recommend her services! She promptly answers your queries and gives very helpful advice. She is also very patient and knows how to calm a very stressed bride! ;)


Photographer: Massimo Amendola from Ae5 in Amalfi (www.Ae5.it). The package we chose was a CD only, which Massimo gave to us within 2 days. We were happy with his services but I did have to touch up some of his photos (mainly cropping) which I wouldn't expect to need to do for a professional photographer. I would still recommend Massimo though. He is a lovely guy who speaks English very well.


Florist: Francesca from Fiori d'Arancio. She doesn't have a website nor speak English (I used "google translate" to communicate with her). I would definitely recommend Francesca. She is MUCH cheaper than La Violetta in Amalfi and Armando from Malafronte in Ravello and we were very happy with the flowers she provided. She has a tiny shop in Ravello just past the church called Santa Maria di Gradillo. We had not heard of her and happened to stumble upon her shop when walking past.


Hairdresser: Gerardo Serretiello from totalhairdesign.com. I would recommend his services. In my opinion, he is a bit too expensive but he is apparently the best in Ravello and the only hairdresser I came across. I was very happy with the way he did my hair.


Makeup: Giselle (referred to me by Gerardo). Giselle was lovely and did my makeup exactly as I wanted. I would recommend her.


Music: Booked through Marco Cantarella - (http://www.weddingmusic.it/about_us.html). I would recommend Marco's services.

We booked a harp & violin for the church service (excellent and very romantic), followed by a Neopolitan Duo with guitar and mandolin to walk/dance around the streets of Ravello (lots of fun but perhaps more due to my Italian background). For dinner, we played our i-pod to save on costs and because we weren't sure what type of music an Italian DJ would choose to play. Our guests said the i-pod was a great idea as we played the songs we and our guests liked.


Car Transfers for our guests - booked with Giovanni Fortunato of Ravello Taxi Service - (http://www.ravellotaxiservice.it/vehicles.aspx). Giovanni was fantastic and such a lovely and friendly man. All our guests loved him. He speaks English very well. His prices were the most reasonable of all the taxi services I enquired with.

I'm happy to be contacted to answer any queries from potential brides considering having their wedding in Ravello as I know what it felt like when I was trying to organise our wedding and how difficult it was trying to find advice from people who had actually gotten married in Ravello.

I wish all you brides the best of luck!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank ConfusedBride0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

The views of the coastline from this hotel can only be described as stunning. We upgraded to a junior suite and the view from our room was equally wonderful. GOOD POINTS: - superb breakfast on the balcony included in room rate; infinity pool with great service from Yolanda (beds, towels, drinks etc.), lovely pool side restaurant open til 4pm for late lunches (we had lunch here every day). Shuttle to Amalfi is very convenient, Complimentary boat trip was fun (don't forget to bring your swimming costume because they don't tell you there's an opportunity to swim to shore if you want to) NOTSO GOOD POINTS: - extremely expensive but what do you expect? We were disappointed with our meals at the Belvedere restaurant and thought the lunches were better. OVERALL - a great place for a special holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
694 reviews
1.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
921 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW PREMIER Collection
6.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
760 reviews
6.8 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Property: Belmond Hotel Caruso
Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Hotel Caruso is located in a former 11th century palace in charming Ravello, perched on a clifftop overlooking the spectacular Amalfi Coast. It boasts 50 splendidly restored rooms, of which 27 suites and 23 double rooms. Each room has its unique style and most boast a stunning sea view and private garden or terrace. Dining facilities include the Belvedere Restaurant with an elegant indoor dining room, an outdoor terrace adorned with ancient columns and an alfresco area close to the pool. It offers a superb selection of delicious Mediterranean food. The Pool Restaurant serves informal luncheons and drinks, as well as a salad buffet and original Neapolitan Pizza cooked in front of guests. Pizza-making lessons are also available. The Cocktail and Piano Bar is located on the first floor of the main building, decorated with original 18th century frescoes. Guests can swim in the incredible infinity swimming pool, seemingly suspended between sea and sky, join the Head Gardner for a special tour of the terraced gardens, relax with a signature treatment at the wellness centre or work out at the gym with a view of the coast. A complimentary shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano and a daily complimentary boat excursion along the coast during summer months are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Destinology, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing