We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly family run hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Graal Hotel Ravello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Graal Hotel Ravello
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very friendly family run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2007

We stayed three nights at the Graal having found Ravello by complete accident. One of our party was VERY ill with pneumonia and I cannott say enough about the concern and helpfullness demonstrated by the staff and owners.
We had three rooms which varied a bit. Two were completely redone with all new bathrooms including jet tubs and marble. Those rooms had gorgeous handpainted tile floors and small balconies with the spectacular Ravello view. The third room was near the pool, a little bigger with new bath but more bland ceramic flooring. The other rooms are worth asking for.
We ate in the restaurant three nights and the waiters are worth the price of admission. One is the regular and an excellent comedian. His substitute on his day off is older and went to college in Britian. He speaks like Benny Hill with an Italian accent and is very charming. The owner is always present and the service is superb. The food is excellent and very reasonably priced for the Amalfi coast. The local house wine is a tasty bargain. Very genourous and reasonably priced after dinner drinks are poured in the large lounge.
The breakfast room is large and beautifully done in tile and wood with that great view. It is a very complete breakfast, comparable to other Italian hotels.
We very much enjoyed our stay and the kindness shown by the entire staff was a highlight of our trip to Italy

  • Liked — Beautiful floors, warm staff, best views anywhere
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Klondikemike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    167
    53
    25
    23
See reviews for
57
241
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2007

This hotel is in a great location, close to the main square where you can sit and have a coffee etc and watch the large number of Weddings that take place here, due to the lovely setting.

On arrival they were quite friendly, explained that they would take our car away and park it in their private parking - somewhere!

We had booked a junior suite and had great expectations even though we knew it was only a 3 star (expensive).

The view from the room was lovely as long as you did not look to the left where a building site was located.

This hotel in its day (1970) would have been quite nice, but now just had a depressing concrete feel which I personally felt very overwhelming.

The pool was quite dirty, the rules for pool use (hats, showers etc) was quite long, but we did not use it so others may disagree.

We had evening meal included and the food was nice, but the restrauant lacked any character, static, and rushed.

After 3 days I was very happy to move on to our next destination and will not return.

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZippyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2007

My wife and I spent a wonderful two days at the Graal during the week immediately prior to Easter. The hotel was just opening for the season and so only 10 of the ~40 rooms were booked. Their restaurant opened for dinner a couple of days after we left. Our room was simple, very clean throughout, and featured that jaw-dropping view that Ravello is renowned for. The breakfast buffets were excellent and included fresh pastries, proscuitto, fresh mozzarella, fresh fruit, along with the usual cereals, etc. The staff could not have been more accomodating or helpful. They arranged reasonably priced car services to area attractions (don't miss Paestum) and helped us get to Sorrento when bus service was suspended due to a landslide on the highway following a night of torrential rain (the only rain we saw during our week on the Amalfi coast.) Of note, they highly recommended the Vittoria restaurant for dinner that proved to have the best fresh home-made pasta by far of the four restaurants we ate at in Ravello. The Graal is 3 star so don't expect deluxe, but it is a very pleasant hotel, run by very nice people, at a very reasonable price (for Ravello). Yes, we would be very happy to return there.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Green_is_my_valley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2006

We were booked into Graal for 2 nights but only stayed 1. The beds and pillows were so uncomfortable and lumpy, both my husband and I had sore necks and backs the next morning. The room overall was small and dirty, cracked and broken tiles on the floor. The bathroom was dirty, we wore our thongs in the shower and I'm glad we did as the plug hole must have been blocked and you ended up standing in 2 inches of water. Our daughter was with us, we rang 3 times for an extra towel but it never turned up. Also, as the floors are all tiled, you can hear people walking down the hallways and in the other rooms. We had a look at the pool which appeared to have black mould growing in it and the concrete was coming off the sides of it. When I rang reception the following morning to advise them we were checking out early, the woman was quite irate and was going to charge us a so called 'penalty' which was another night's rate. I was quick to point out the problems with the room to which she backed down and did not charge us any penalty. The only good things I can say about this Hotel is the view and the restaurant food was reasonable. My advice, don't stay there, look for something better, this Hotel is in need of a big renovation.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — The room, beds and bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay there!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Listentometraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2006

My husband and I really liked The Graal. We were originally put in the newly remodeled section and the room was great but it was a smoking room. The staff moved us the next day at our request. The view of the Amalfi Coast from our balcony was incredible, especially for the fireworks display of the Ravello Festival. The restaurant at the hotel was very, very good and we ate there twice. The breakfasts were also good. There are many restaurants near-by which were also excellent, and the main square is a short walk from the hotel. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the front desk service was excellent. There is also internet available for a small fee. We will definitely reommend the Graal to our friends.

  • Liked — The location and view
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mazanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is straight out of the 70s. Literally, the furniture in the bar area is 30 years old and very ugly. The room was ugly too and very dark. We stayed in room 515, I believe.

There are no windows in the rooms, just very narrow doors/window that lead to the terrace. Our terrace view was obstructed by the trees growing in front, as all seemed to be on the fifth floor. You need to be higher. Also, what another reviewer said about hearing the dining room chairs move above you for breakfast if you stay on floor 5 is true. The terraces are right next to one another so don't expect privacy. The pool is somewhat old and not very nice or quiet being it is right under the main street, but when you see how small Ravello is (it is literally one square with maybe 3 blocks of other stores), you will see that you don't have many choices if you want a pool (it DOES get hot during the day). The bathroom was immaculate and huge, only neither the bathroom drain nor the sink drain worked properly - a big pet peeve of mine. We ended up just removing all of the drains every day.

Overall, I thought this hotel was not worth the money for approx $250 Euro a night. You have a room that essentially gets no natural light and if you are sitting at the table on your terrace and there are trees obstructing the view, what is the point? But Ravello is a tourist trap and everyplace is just as expensive if not more. I would suggest staying in Minori (the town below) which is cheaper and right on the beach (we did the walk up and down from Ravello, which is not for the faint of heart - about an hour straight of steps). You can literally take a 10Euro cab to Ravello, eat dinner there and walk around the square for an hour, and be done with it. That's all that's there.

On the plus side, we ate at the restaurant at Graal twice, it was very good. I would suggest going for drinks two restuarants away from hotel Graal (towards town). You will see a huge terrace with a beautiful view from the sidewalk. It is the cheapest place in Ravello for a drink - $20E for a bottle of Persecco and one of the nicest views around.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The room
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat here and stay in Minori
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aos200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2006

My husband and I booked into the Graal for a friend's wedding in Ravello. I had read some poor reviews of the hotel, mainly regarding cleanliness, but booked in as the rest of the wedding group was staying there.

I'm glad we gave it a chance! The rooms all have an incredible view, regardless of the room level / price you choose, and even the base level rooms, which have not been renovated as recently, are in excellent condition with comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and simple but stylish furniture (given there were a number of us staying there, we had a chance to compare pretty much all levels of room and they were all good).

The service was polite and helpful, and the food in the restaurant was superb (ask for the Gnocchi!). The pool was old but in good shape - they do however, insist that guests wear bathing caps in the pool to help keep it clean - a bit of a laugh, but go along with it!

And the view cannot be described - it was incredible - from every room, the pool and the restaurant - it takes this hotel from being standard to being worth the price!

I would recommend the hotel to anyone, given it is close to the main piazza of Ravello and the centre of town, as well as the bus stop and taxi ranks. And I would recommend Ravello over Amalfi or Positano - with it's views, lovely gardens, exquisite food, and quieter location, it is worth staying in!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel_&_Lach's_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW PREMIER Collection
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.0 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#5 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graal Hotel Ravello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graal Hotel Ravello

Property: Graal Hotel Ravello
Address: Via della Repubblica 8, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#4 Business Hotel in Ravello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#11 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Graal Hotel Ravello 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Graal Hotel Ravello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravello Graal Hotel
Hotel Graal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing