We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location relaxing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Graal Hotel Ravello
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We visited for 3 nights at the end of April - the place( the hotel and the town) was almost empty - that suited us fine. In the evenings most of the restaurants had very few customers. Weather was great for sight seeing cool with some sunshine . We had a fantastic room - looked newly refurbished - and the balcony was huge ( we booked a superior room ) overlooking the coast. The place was very clean and the staff polite and friendly. It was a relaxing place to stay and really central - having looked at the outside of the more expensive hotels in Ravello I'm glad we stayed at Graal. The breakfasts were a bit basic - OK but nothing special.
Visit Pompeii, Herculaneum and Opplontis - about a 50minute drive - close to Naples. Don't drive the coastal route but go over the hill - the road is better than the main Road on the coast and much quieter. Also try a visit to Positano - the road was very busy even in April so it must be awful in full tourist season. The Pool was being reconditioned but it was too cool to swim anyhow.
We would certainly return to the Graal if we go again

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2008

In a very pricey area, finding something that is affordable AND nice may be a stretch. Hotel Graal was a modern, clean hotel with a very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel may not have had the history and luxuries of some other nearby hotels, but the view from our balcony was just as stunning as anywhere else. Centrally located with a generous breakfast buffet.

Think of this: the view from the cheapest OR the most expensive hotel in Ravello is going to be magnificent. Save your money by staying in a moderately-priced hotel like Hotel Graal and then have dinner at the fancier places if you like.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rosefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

We stayed in Hotel Graal in 2000 and loved it so when we came back to the Amalfi Coast we went straight to Ravello. Like the previous time, we simply turned up at 8pm and were lucky to have the choice of a few rooms. The hotel had been extended since 2000 but the place did not fail to please...the staff were exceptional - incredibly helpful, patient and pleasant.

The views from the rooms are magnificant and you realise why this place is so special. We drank a bottle of beautiful Amalfi wine with some local produce on our balcony and this is our best memory. The daily restaurant menu is fresh and varied. The location is great (being very close to the bus stop that takes you to Amalfi) and the trip to Ravello will make you feel as though you are being taken to a special retreat high in the mountains with the coast at your feet!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Miss_Koala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We stayed at the Graal for a week and were very impressed by the hotel, its staff and facilities – especially for the price.

Ravello is the jewel of the Amalfi Coast and as a result many of the hotels there are now extremely expensive – the most expensive now wants £750 per night for a room with a sea view. The rates at the Graal are refreshingly cheap.

The Graal is just off the main road into town and has superb uninterrupted views over the Amalfi coast. You can drive right up to the front door of the Graal which is a rarity in Ravello because you need a good set of knees to reach some of the hotels, walking up narrow lanes with hundreds of steps. The Graal is just two minutes walk (no steps) from the town square.

The hotel is not a very attractive building from the outside but inside it is clean and mostly well maintained. A couple of the communal areas could have used a coat of paint and, like just about everywhere in Italy, there were a few things left unfinished; a broken light here, a missing ceiling tile there. That said, much of the hotel has clearly been recently refurbished and is modern and well decorated.

We paid for a superior double room which was very spacious and had a balcony with a great view. The bathroom was slightly small but more than acceptable and it had a combination shower and whirlpool bath which worked very well, everything was very clean.

The staff will park your car in the Graal car park for €10 per day (not sure where the car park is but our car was always delivered to us within minutes of a request and was always cool so cars must be parked indoors).

The swimming pool was clean and well maintained but they do insist you wear a cap (which they supply). The hotel does not allow towels from bedrooms at the poolside but are happy to supply beach towels. The pool is overlooked by the road but the road is not busy and noise is not intrusive.

Breakfast was good but we did not eat in the restaurant despite its spectacular views (only because of excellent restaurants in Ravello)

No wireless Internet access but there are two web-enabled computers which can be used at a very small charge.

Best of all, the staff at the Graal were wonderful, extremely helpful and friendly, and made our stay there a pleasure. We would certainly be happy to return to the Graal.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Likeahurricane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

We (a Dutch couple) stayed in Hotel Graal for three nights and were immediately taken by the hospitality of its friendly staff. The very helpful receptionist Mena did her utmost best to make our stay very enjoyable.The quiet rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast, especially for italian comprehension, is good. Nice restaurant overlooking the beautiful coast. Our rental car was immediately being fetched (hotel has its own garage) when being asked for.
Its only a short walk to the heart of idyllic Ravello.
Hotel Graal is undergoing some "upgrading" and for that it can only get better.
We really enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hotelravello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

I would highly recommend this hotel.I visited there in April before the real tourist season had begun and the staff could not have been friendlier.Nothing was too much trouble and the rooms-while not luxurious-are clean and spacious and the views are amazing!One of the benefits of this place is that there are not really that many steps getting to or from it-which is a benefit in a place as rocky as Ravello.Also it's a very,very short walk into the centre of the town so you have restaurants and bars very nearby.The only note of caution-if you are travelling from Naples airport directly to Ravello you might be advised to use the transfer service which the hotel offers.I thought 100 euros seemed expensive -it isn't!!Taxis all along the Amalfi coast cost a fortune and in fact the transfer would have been good value and saved hours in travelling!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

We have just returned from a 15 night stay at Hotel Graal, which couldn't have been better. The hotel is in an ideal situation overlooking the Amalfi coast, can be accessed by car but only a few minutes walk from the town square. We stayed in a superior room which was very comfortable, with balcony and superb sea view. We took half board which proved to be excellent value for money as all meals were excellent, providing a good choice of well cooked, beautifully presented food served on the terrace overlooking the coast most nights. All staff and the family (owners) were extremely friendly and helpful. The service throughout our stay could not have been better. If we return to Ravello we will certainly return to Hotel Graal and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#14 of 21 in Ravello
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#10 of 21 in Ravello
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graal Hotel Ravello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graal Hotel Ravello

Address: Via della Repubblica 8, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#11 Family Hotel in Ravello
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £93 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Graal Hotel Ravello 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Graal Hotel Ravello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravello Graal Hotel
Hotel Graal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing