We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid hotel in spectacular surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Graal Hotel Ravello
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
London
1 review
“A splendid hotel in spectacular surroundings”
Reviewed 10 June 2009

The Hotel Graal provided us with a wonderful stay in the spectacular village of Ravello. The food was locally based and delicious. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room was modern, clean and comfortable. All this plus the incomperable view of the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    181
    59
    29
    27
See reviews for
62
261
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

I am quite surprised at the high number of positive reviews for this hotel. I was attracted to the Hotel Graal because of its location to the town center of Ravello and the price. The hotel advertises itself as a 4-star property. It certainly is not. 2 1/2 to 3 stars is more accurate.

The view of the Amalfi coast from our room was spectacular and was the highlight of the room. Otherwise the room was clean, but very basic - including a bathtub that made taking a shower uncomfortable since the center of the tub sloped downwards. The room furnishings were basic, with wear and tear and positiviely no style.

On the positive side the included breakfast was quite generous and included an assortment of pastries, rolls, as well as some fruit. The hotel is located a short 3 - 5 minute walk from the center of town without climbing and near the main bus stop, so travel to other towns is very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago_ILBalletfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

The hotel is rather tired, and in need of repainting on the outside. The breakfast was poor with "eggs extra cost" plus they ran out of rolls by 9am one day.
We chose the Graal because of its location near the centre of Ravello, so we would have a level walk into the town square for a family wedding, and the fact that it had what appeared online to be e decent pool. Unfortunately, there is a huge music auditorium being built just 50 metres from the hotel, and it is on the same level as the poolside loungers. The workers start at 7.15am and work until 5.30pm with a break between 10 and 12. The main tools they use are hammers on metal bars and angle grinders.
When we complained that we hadn't been warned about the possibility of noise spoiling our stay, we were told that no-one else had complained, which we found unbelievable.
By way of compensation we were given a 'free' lunch, but we would advise anyone going there this summer to think again, until the building has been finished.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henley-dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucyrus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

This hotel has a great location (close to town) and the view from our private wisteria draped balcony was amazing. I also got the best shower of my life here--no kidding--tremendous water pressure. Hotel is clean, rooms are nice sized, staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast was amongst the best we had in Italy. I would definately stay here again and recommend this hotel to my friends. The only thing I would say is that it was pricey, but most decent hotels on the Amalfi coast are, and you know that going into it...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We visited for 3 nights at the end of April - the place( the hotel and the town) was almost empty - that suited us fine. In the evenings most of the restaurants had very few customers. Weather was great for sight seeing cool with some sunshine . We had a fantastic room - looked newly refurbished - and the balcony was huge ( we booked a superior room ) overlooking the coast. The place was very clean and the staff polite and friendly. It was a relaxing place to stay and really central - having looked at the outside of the more expensive hotels in Ravello I'm glad we stayed at Graal. The breakfasts were a bit basic - OK but nothing special.
Visit Pompeii, Herculaneum and Opplontis - about a 50minute drive - close to Naples. Don't drive the coastal route but go over the hill - the road is better than the main Road on the coast and much quieter. Also try a visit to Positano - the road was very busy even in April so it must be awful in full tourist season. The Pool was being reconditioned but it was too cool to swim anyhow.
We would certainly return to the Graal if we go again

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson Heights, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

In a very pricey area, finding something that is affordable AND nice may be a stretch. Hotel Graal was a modern, clean hotel with a very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel may not have had the history and luxuries of some other nearby hotels, but the view from our balcony was just as stunning as anywhere else. Centrally located with a generous breakfast buffet.

Think of this: the view from the cheapest OR the most expensive hotel in Ravello is going to be magnificent. Save your money by staying in a moderately-priced hotel like Hotel Graal and then have dinner at the fancier places if you like.

  • Liked — Our balcony!
  • Disliked — The tiled floors. (Got a litttle chilly at night and in the early morning!)
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rosefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2008

We stayed in Hotel Graal in 2000 and loved it so when we came back to the Amalfi Coast we went straight to Ravello. Like the previous time, we simply turned up at 8pm and were lucky to have the choice of a few rooms. The hotel had been extended since 2000 but the place did not fail to please...the staff were exceptional - incredibly helpful, patient and pleasant.

The views from the rooms are magnificant and you realise why this place is so special. We drank a bottle of beautiful Amalfi wine with some local produce on our balcony and this is our best memory. The daily restaurant menu is fresh and varied. The location is great (being very close to the bus stop that takes you to Amalfi) and the trip to Ravello will make you feel as though you are being taken to a special retreat high in the mountains with the coast at your feet!

  • Liked — its staff and views of the amalfi coast
  • Disliked — the construction taking place next door but this was not too disturbing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Koala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
734 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#16 of 21 in Ravello
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graal Hotel Ravello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graal Hotel Ravello

Property: Graal Hotel Ravello
Address: Via della Repubblica 8, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#11 Family Hotel in Ravello
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Graal Hotel Ravello 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Graal Hotel Ravello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravello Graal Hotel
Hotel Graal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing