We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in a upgraded room - avoid standard room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Graal Hotel Ravello
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Reviewed 10 September 2009

I personally looked at two rooms (standard vs upgraded). Trust me, the upgraded room is worth it. It's 10x better. The standard room is more like a old fashioned motel.

The location, upgraded room, pool and overall experience without breaking the bank was my objective - objective met!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Graal Hotel Ravello
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2009

Stayed two nights in early June with wife and adult daughter in a junior suite - large room with a comfortable queen bed and a twin day bed thing that was comfortable for sitting and my daughter said was excellent for sleeping. I would describe ithe hotel as "funky" rather than "tired." The photo from our 3 week italian trip that draws the most comments is one taken looking down the Grall's sinterior piral staircase - quite beautiful, intriguing design. Our daughter took a dozen photos of the chair in out room (I wouldn't have but she's an art history major). The shower had a waterfall feature that I loved and a multi-facet jet spray feature that none of us liked at all - both optional. The breakfast was excellent with a large choice of various meats, breads, cereals, yogurt, pastries etc with good service.
It was chilly with some rain and, perhaps because of that, the pool wasn't opened. The noise from the nearby construction was bothersome - noticed it when I dropped by for ten minutes one afternoon to grab my rain coat. One would not be able to take an afternoon nap in your room without earplugs. We wandered Ravello from before the construction started util after it ended when we were there and weren't bothered by it.
I thought the E351 per night with parking was a bit steep and I only booked it because Ravello was a last minute addition to itinerary. However, the view from the room's balcony was worth the price.
As noted in earlier reviews, driving on the coast or on the peninsula is insane and driving to Ravello over the mountains rather than up or (worse yet) down the coast is the way to go. Also, get the extra insurance coverage on your car rental as the liklihood of crunching a fender is high, I did ($50 extra saved $650 in damage repair.)
Don't miss the almost thousand-year-old mosaic of Johah and the whale on the pulpit in the church on the square. Weddings and honeymoons seem to be the backbone of Ravello's economy.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OregonPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

My husband and I just got back from 2 weeks in Italy. The first week we spent at the Graal Hotel in Ravello. The view from our private balcony was breathtaking. The pool also overlooked the bay. We decided to have dinner there and we were treated like royalty with extraordinary food, wine, table decor and service. We also had a chance to go to 2 concerts at the Ravello Festival. I will never never forget this place. I am alrfeady trying to figure out when we can return. Bella!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floridagirl010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

I was in Ravello for a wedding in August of 2008. I reserved a room at the Graal on Jan 15, 2008 for Aug 7-10 because the main hotel for the wedding was full. Luckily Ravello is a small town and all the hotels are within a very short walk to the town square. On May 5, 2008 a room opened up at the Giordano (where the rest of the wedding was staying) so I rsvp'd that room and contacted the Graal to cancel my rsvp. They canceled it but charged me 30% of the total which was 270 Euros! I found this to be shameful as my cancellation was over 3 months notice!!! They claimed they would refund the 30% if they re-sold the room but to no surprise they claimed it was not re-sold when I stopped by when I was in Ravello. Strangely, my co-worker did the exact same thing as I did but for some reason they let him cancel with no charge but refused to refund me even after months of contention. Also, I found that other hotels in Ravello had very liberal cancellation policies (like most USA hotels). So overall, while the Graal had a spectacular view, I would not rsvp there unless you are 100% sure you will not make any changes to your itinerary.

It turns out their policy is as follows so you can see for yourself if it is reasonable.

- Up to march 31st or more cancellation notice- no charge

- April 01st –90 days cancellation notice – 30% charge

- 89 -30 days cancellation notice – 60% charge

- Under 30 nights cancellation notice – For any shortening in length of stay (late arrival and early departure) and no no-show will be required payment of total number of nights reserved..

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank eddiesNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I visited the Hotel Graal in Ravello for a wedding I was attending in May this year.

I can only say that the whole experience from start to finish was magical! There were a group of us staying at the Graal for the wedding and I know their thoughts and experiences were exactly the same as mine.

The views from the rooms were absolutely breathtaking, the staff were wonderful; warm, friendly, helpful and could not do enough for you.

Breakfast, which was included in the price, was excellent. The restaurant too was extrememly good with desserts to die for!

Ravello is an amazingly wonderful place, the Square is beautiful, relaxing, full of colour and just so lovely to sit with a glass of wine and watch the world go by.

I was surprised to read there had been complaints regarding the construction work nearby. This in no way whatsoever had any effect on my stay at all!

I and some of my friends are returning next May and if possible this September too.

My only regret is that i didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessicaredaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

The Hotel Graal provided us and our wedding guests a truly wonderful stay.

The Hotel Graal turned our wedding day into our dream wedding. The planning of our wedding reception was simple and completely stress free. I cannot thank all the staff at the hotel enough. Ravello is truly the most beautiful place in the world, and The Graal hotel is the most gorgeous hotel with amazing views- the perfect hotel to have your wedding reception in.

We had our wedding toast at the hotel pool, it included the most delicious canapes and champagne coctails. We then had our reception at the hotels resturant 'Al Ristoro del Moro'. The cuisine was truly stunning and the service throughout our eight day stay was excellent.

The icing on the cake, was our wedding cake! Which was made in the hotel kitchen, it was truly a master piece, the most beautiful cake that I and my guests have ever seen. (Many of my guests are still talking about it!)

The front desk staff were superb. Every time we walked through the lobby we were greeted by name. They were always offering all my guests assistance in anything.

Our room was excellent in size, clean and fresh decor. All my guests had the most amazing views from their balconys.

We were totally overwhelmed by the beauty of our wedding and reception in Ravello and The Graal Hotel. We have many treasured memories and the most beautiful photos.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzpetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

A superb hotel which offers so much to you fora delightful stay.


We visited the Hotel Graal in the beautiful village of Ravello back in May 2009 and experienced the best service we have ever had from every single member of staff throughout our stay. We have been very surprised to read a review of the Graal which complained about the construction of the nearby Oscar Niemeyer Auditorium, As the review took place at the same time as our stay. The building work is nearing completion and we were not disturbed by any of the works and there was no visual impact from the works


We feel that it would be a shame if anyone considering staying at the Graal is deterred from visiting as a result of an innacurate review.


The entire experience of our holiday was fantastic from the moment we arrived with a very warm welcome from the management team. The Service was relaxed and unintrusive. The staff seemed genuinely caring, friendly and attentive. They couldn't do enough for us! The Rooms are kept impeccably clean at all times and ours had a superb view - I think all the rooms had the stunning view!

Any requests we had were attended to immediately and the Service at the pool area was first class. Not only that we could relax undisturbed by the stunning views over Torrello and Minori.

We tried the Hotel's Restaurant 'Al Ristoro del Moro' - I know that they can sometimes be overlooked and were delightfully surprised by the quality of food we experienced. We tried a number of restaurants in the village and we would also recommend trying Cumpo Cosimo. However I would say that we enjoyed the Ristoro del Moro the most with it's selection of high quality local and regional cuisine served by friendly staff on a terrace with the fresh stunning views over the bay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller1Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#16 of 21 in Ravello
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graal Hotel Ravello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graal Hotel Ravello

Address: Via della Repubblica 8, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#4 Business Hotel in Ravello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#11 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £94 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Graal Hotel Ravello 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Graal Hotel Ravello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravello Graal Hotel
Hotel Graal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing