We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather sleep on the street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Graal Hotel Ravello
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Wow, what a terrible hotel with even worse unfriendly staff. I was so disappointed after spending 260 Euros that I needed to warn others to save their cash and go elsewhere.

To start, we were late to arrive but had fully paid for our room to arrive and find that the hotel gave our room away to someone else. We were "fortunate" enough for them to give us a room in the old part of the hotel.

I have a 9 month old, which they knew about and we specifically asked for a non-smoking room that is child friendly. The new room they gave us stank of old stale cigarettes. Wires everywhere, open holes to more wires. Shower didn't have a shower curtain so water on the floor everywhere. Extremely child unsafe. The hotel felt no remose stealing our money and giving us a substandard service.

Went to their pool, which was dirty. I've swam in swamps that are cleaner. I was glad to leave this hotel behind and will never ever return. I have never commented on a hotel before but think others should stay well clear of this dirty, unfriendly hotel.

Stay well clear.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank AngryDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2010

This hotel was fine. It was clean, very good breakfast, very good location. I found it expensive for a hotel that is not particularly charming or special. We were able to park in the street nearby. The breakfast was plentiful and varied.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaritab710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Hotel Graal is like a thousand other italian hotels-basic facilities, some of the decor a little old fashioned, but spotless and with great service.
The views from the pool, room and restaurant are just amazing. What made us feel very smug was looking upwards from the pool you can see the five star Hotel Palazzo Sasso. Obviously the facilities are very different, but the view is the same as Graal! We found out that the rates for a room with a view and balcony as Sasso are E1200 plus tax! It made us feel like we had a bit of a bargain!
The rooms are a fairly good size, with fairly good bathroom (although no shower curtain). The air con was noisy so we had to turn it off at night and got quite hot! Linen is changed frequently and is spotless.
Breakfast was good. The usual fruit, bread, hams and cheese, cereals etc. The bread was delicious as were the homemade jams. There was also a good selection of hot food made to order-the scrambled eggs were great, as were the omelettes. The breakfast was overall great.
We didn't eat at the retaurant in the evening, but we had a few paninis by the pool and these were great-amazing ingredients.

The pool was very nice (if a little cold!) with lots of loungers available. The view is, as always, incredible!

One of the best things about this hotel is the location-you are virtually 5 mins very lazy stroll from the main square and everything in Ravello is walkable as it's so small. This was fantastic.

One downside was the E11 charge for parking for every day. I understand that parking is at a premium in most resorts on the Amalfi coast, but this did seem a lot over a week. Parking is generally something you need to budget for in this part of Italy!

Overall this is a great, clean hotel with a lovely pool and good breakfast. the location cannot be beaten-I would definately return!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monster_munch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Going to the Amalfi Coast and then fine-tuning it to Ravello was a last minute change in our itinerary. We decided to go for relaxation rather than busy at the outset of our extended stay in Italy.

After reading some of the reviews in TripAdvisor, we ultimately decided to stay at Hotel Graal.... and we didn't regret our choice for one second!

Some of the criticism I have read here indicate a need to "update" the decor. Our opinion is strictly "whatever". In all seriousness, who really cares? And also, I can honestly stay I have NEVER stayed in a hotel that was so meticulously kept clean! Seriously, you could have eaten off the floors in the hallway of our floor.

The pool was perfect for cooling off and the breakfasts were perfect with wondrous views from both the breakfast room as well as every guest room (from what we could determine).

The location is QUIET (which is exactly what we needed) and we loved every second we stayed at the hotel.

Perfect start to what was a perfect vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langley_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

A very good hotel for the price. Ravello is a pricey place for hotels, so the Graal is a find. A little worn around the edges but the view is the same from your terrace as the most expensive hotel in town. They have parking for 11 Euros a day in their own garage, an excellent restaurant, a nice pool, and is a very close walk to the center of town. Would return here. The town is a jewel.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank vanam1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We stayed here for two nights and had a very nice relaxing time. The staff are very laid back and extremely helpful, even the resident golden labrador is chilled!

The rooms are very '70's and the whole place could really do with a refurb both inside and out. We also experienced some early morning work that woke us earlier than we would have liked one morning.

Otherwise, no complaints. I would also recommend turning up and getting a quote as much cheaper particularly out of season. We paid 120 euro b+b by bartering at the door.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueant8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We put our wedding guests into the Hotel Graal and everyone without exception loved it. We had gone over 6 months previous to sus out hotels for our guests and the Graal offered the best in value with outstanding views. After viewing the rooms, we requested the newer part of the hotel as it was more modern and the rooms were better then the older part and at no extra cost. Every room had a little balcony or terrace with the views of the coast. Mena was behind reception and organised all the transfers from the airport direct to the hotel and was amazing and friendly and everyone loved her. All the staff were on hand to help and very friendly to all the guests even though our wedding was in a rival hotel. The pool had spectacular views of the coast and even though the road above looked down on you, no-one took any notice. Everyone loved the breakfast and said they would return. It might lack the luxury of other hotels in Ravello, but for the same view, it lacks the expensive price tag too.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hera08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.3 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#10 of 21 in Ravello
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Romana Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graal Hotel Ravello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graal Hotel Ravello

Address: Via della Repubblica 8, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ravello
#7 Family Hotel in Ravello
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £95 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Graal Hotel Ravello 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Graal Hotel Ravello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravello Graal Hotel
Hotel Graal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing