We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most exciting location”
Review of Hotel Rufolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rufolo
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Most exciting location”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The hotel has certainly one of the most beautiful locations of whole Italy - with a marvellous view over the Amalfitan coast. I was there in march, the only guest, the hotel was not heated, it was chilly at breakfast,whch was minimalistic even by Italian standards. I had a strange one-bed room, 7 meters long, 2 meters large, but... with a terrace at least 25 m2 large overlooking the bay of Ravello....all in all avery good stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfgang s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    71
    24
    12
    4
See reviews for
36
125
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

this is a hotel worth visiting at least once in your life. The location is unique. the staff (Salvatore in reception) was very helpful. The views are a dream. The restaurant is a 5 star restaurant with extreme attention.

Room Tip: Select rooms with view of the Amalfi coast. worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabe01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Just had 5 nights here and it was a perfect base to tour the Amalfi coast from. A group of 6 of us stayed and found it ideal with a clean pool and very good food.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Room 217 is like a dungeon. Breakfast is very minimal and all that for 390 euro (60 for staying with two kids). This is rent seeking.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_pcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Just spent 10 days there. A quiet family run hotel with peaceful rooms and unobtrusive staff. Meals, rooms and service all excellent

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxesforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Lincs UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We literally dropped in on this hotel after a long drive through Italy. We were able to park the in the hotel car park for free. We had an ordianary standard room, 150 euros with breakfast. Room as clean and satisfactory, the hotel is right in the centre of Ravello but on the hillside so it has stunning views down to the coast, and over the village which is pretty. Didn't eat at the hotel, but we were shown round by a very nice lady. It is a lovely hotel, with a swimming pool and terraces, I would stay there again. The view from our room wasn't anything much, onto the carpark really but that didn't matter we were only there for the night. One downside note, it was early May and quite cold as Ravello is in the mountains, but there was no heating on. When we asked we were told that there is no heating on at that time of year, but that was the only negative

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJANorthEastLincsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed here from three nights immediately following a stay at the San Pietro in Positano so perhaps our impression of this hotel many be colored by the comparison. Having said that, our rates were within Euro 50 and both hotels are both 4 star so I feel they should be comparable but in fact there is no real comparison the, Rufolo falls well short. On the positive side, it is good to be in the center of Ravello so it is easy to get out and about; the view was just magnificent both from our room, and the restaurant – just stunning! The restaurant, which I had been to before and the reason we chose the Rufolo, is very good and the service, friendly, professional and attentive. The seafood salad was possibly the best I have ever eaten.
The hotels itself appears tired and in my view poorly furnished (subjective). The king bed was two singles pushed together with very hard mattresses. The recently renovated bathroom had a four piece hinged shower guard which is cumbersome. Although we had a large room it was dull and uninteresting with small monochrome artwork on large walls which didn’t appeal to me at least. One could overlook much of the above if the hotel staff themselves had made a difference. I think the fact that the hotel tries to charge but when pressed issues Internet access vouchers in 30 minute increments is a good reflection on where the hotel’s mindset is with respect to meeting guest needs. No Internet of any kind in rooms just a in the immediate area of the bar!
It was end of season, perhaps they were just worn out.

Room Tip: Don't even think about a room without a view. Why else would you be there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickdodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
1.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rufolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rufolo

Property: Hotel Rufolo
Address: Via San Francesco 1, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ravello
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rufolo 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated with a commanding view of the sea the Hotel Rufolo, surrounded by the green of pine trees of the near Villa Rufolo and several towers and belfries, is just in the historic centre of Ravello, a charming ,quiet and unspoiled town, perched high above the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rufolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufolo Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing