We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, beautiful room but some let downs”
Review of Hotel Rufolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rufolo
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
united kingdon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely location, beautiful room but some let downs”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We arrived at hotel Rufolo and were delighted with our room. Very clean and we'll appointed, take your own hair dryer though as one provided cut out every 30 seconds. We paid extra for one of the refurbished rooms overlooking the Villa Rufolo on the first floor. Very large room, light and airy with large bathroom with separate shower cubical, balcony is small but will accommodate 2 chairs and a small fixed table, sun in the morning. Breakfast was buffet style, inside or on the terrace, mainly continental with boiled eggs and a small quantity of scrambled egg. Breakfast suited us but if you fancy a knife and fork breakfast you will not get it a Hotel Rufolo. Staff were very friendly and efficient but only knowing us by out room number not name. Management were polite and always said good morning/good night but never made conversation or enquired if we were having a good holiday or happy with our stay. Restaurant was a beautiful room with terrace for warmer evenings, we dined once there. Our table was booked for 8.30, arriving 15 minutes early we thought we would have a drink before dinner. We were immediately escorted to our table and given menu's, within one hour we had eaten our starter and main course, main course being tuna which was cooked through and not pink so was dry. The pool is in a perfect spot, sun all day although no umbrellas for shade if you should require, sunbeds are good and towels are provided, drinks can be ordered and brought to you. We used the pool and were very disappointed when every day it appeared that the majority of people using it were not guests of the hotel. It must have been school holiday time in Ravello as children would arrive mid morning and play. We have no problem with children but when you pay over £320 per night for a hotel with a private pool you expect a private pool for guests.
Pros: wonderful location, beautiful room, nice breakfast especially on the terrace, very clean, lovely lounge/bar for morning coffee or afternoon tea if weather not warm enough to sit outside.
Cons: no personal touch especially by management, pool used by others apart from guests in school holidays, restaurant lacks atmosphere and personal touch.

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe room overlooking Villa Rufolo on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fairview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    71
    24
    12
    4
See reviews for
36
125
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel after staying at Relais Blu in Massa Lubrense (excellent). The location is good, just off the main square of Ravello and very near to shops and restaurants as well as Villa Rufolo. Unfortunately the attitude of the staff and the outdatedness of the hotel let it down badly.
We paid extra for a larger room, and it was a good size and very clean. The bathroom was extremely dated, no light inside the shower cubicle and a tiny window made it extremely dark even when the sun was shining. The hairdryer was one of those fixed to the wall (like you used to get at the swimming baths!) but got so hot on the handle, I kept having to leave it to cool every few minutes. Our adaptor only fitted in one of the sockets in the bedroom and the electrics seemed to be generally old.
Breakfast was average, fruit (some tinned), yoghurt, croissants and jams, cheese, meat and hard boiled eggs, together with a selection of cakes - all buffet style which you could have outside on the terrace or inside. We ate outside whenever possible as the views are fabulous, but they are almost everywhere in Ravello. There is a swimming pool just across and down some steps from the hotel with about a dozen or so beds and a lower terraced area with chairs. The pool is unfortunately not heated and is absolutely freezing. It was very quiet whilst we were there, but on Friday it appeared to be open season for locals and children to use the pool.
We had a couple of problems during our stay - the bath seemed to have a leak and although I mopped it up as much as possible, we had to report it as we were paddling in the bathroom! They did send someone up whilst we were out and it was sorted on our return, but we didn't use the bath again. On the second night the air conditioning didn't work during the night. We reported it the next morning and it was fixed, but we didn't receive any sort of apology and staff, especially one receptionist, were quite brusque.
Ravello and the Amalfi Coast is expensive, but I think a better deal would probably be available in Ravello than the £350 per night we paid.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Family-M33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I organized at Hotel Rufolo our wedding banquet at Hotel Rufolo. I guess we could hardly look for a better location in Ravello. Ravello is all wonderful and the landscape is fantastic from any restaurant and hotel, but Hotel Rufolo enjoyes quite a peculiar location, as it is right above Villa Rufolo, which is famous for the flowerbed, the concerts, etc. Moreover, the hotel was quite close to the Church where we celebrated our wedding (''Chiesa di Santa Maria Assunta''). The restaurant hall has a big window, from which it is possible to enjoy a wonderful view of part of Amalfi Coast, till Salerno, and beyond. The menu was simple, but deliciously tasty. The chef was about an artist in realizing all the items in the menu: they were tasty and delicate at the same time. The fish was day fresh and the dessert was like a symphony. The maitre was perfect with timing and all the waiters were excellent in serving our guests. The managers of the hotel were extremely available and kind to us. The wine was excellent. The price of everything was absolutely fair, compared to Amalfi Coast standards.
Finally, we enjoyed waking up, the day after our wedding, in a wonderful suite, with a great view over Villa Rufolo.
We will definitely go back to Hotel Rufolo any time we will miss Ravello (quite often, likely). We strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy a piece of Heaven on Earth such as Amalfi Coast.

Room Tip: Renting a room with sea view is a bit more expensive, but it is worth to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Domenico G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel was located right in the center,had a wonderful staff, we were there at the end of the season . I think we were the only clients in the hotel at that time but they put on a beautiful breakfast as if the the hotel was full! We had a car so we needed a hotel with parking and they fit the bill. The room was spacious and the view from our room was incredible! We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch with the best view in Ravello. The food was good and not very expensive. Friendly staff and good service. We had a starter and a pudding. A free taster starter and bread with water, beer and coffee. All came to just under 40 euros. Value for money

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was the second time we stayed at Hotel Rufolo & I highly recommend it. The location is superb, the service friendly & efficient. Very clean rooms. The restaurant & food was excellent. We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roses00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Our suite was lovely with an amazing view. We were thrilled to be able to hear some of the concerts from the Music Festival from our balcony. Glorious! We had good service during our visit. We spent our last evening at the hotel restaurant which was good, and we were the only ones there. Finding the hotel from a GPS was a bit tricky. Thank goodness for friendly people who guided us to where we needed to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KACYTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
1.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rufolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rufolo

Property: Hotel Rufolo
Address: Via San Francesco 1, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ravello
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rufolo 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated with a commanding view of the sea the Hotel Rufolo, surrounded by the green of pine trees of the near Villa Rufolo and several towers and belfries, is just in the historic centre of Ravello, a charming ,quiet and unspoiled town, perched high above the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rufolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufolo Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing