We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for a day trip but 300 euro if you want to stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rufolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rufolo
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice for a day trip but 300 euro if you want to stay.”
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Spent two nights at the hotel rufolo to attend
A wedding. The town is well worth visiting if
on the Amalfi coast. The hotel itself was
average and one of the more reasonable for
Ravello. At 300 euro a night it was overpriced
but I guess that is the price you pay for
being in a location such as Ravello.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    62
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
31
114
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Hi, I was in the Hotel Rufolo for six day with my girlfriend and was fantastic time, very nice and friendly people, good restaurant with fantastic and romantic wiev of the Amalfi Coast. The Hotel is in the perfect position in the center of Ravello. We hope to back again in the Hotel Rufolo and for sure we tell about the Hotel to all of our friends.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaetanogarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Don't waste your money here!! We stayed in a junior suite rm. 112, paid $560 USD. This hotel was very, very outdated. The wall behind the bed had a deep crack in it, The bathroom, while large-had a PLASTIC PIPE for a showerhead and there was crud on the ceiling!! The bed was very hard (good if you like that-we didn't). The balcony was only wide enough for one chair-SIDEWAYS!!!! So if you're looking for some sort of luxury, look elsewhere. The only redeeming aspect was the very friendly and helpful staff. The only redeeming aspect. Oh, and they don't overcharge for phonecalls! You can get the same gorgeous views from the bus stop which is about 50 ft. away. For the kind of money they charge, I would recommend to stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vermillion66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viterbo, Italy
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

My husband and I spent the Ferragosto week at the Hotel Rufolo.
The location is great: the hotel lies in front of the superb Villa Rufolo literally just a few steps from Ravello´s main square and has got a stunning view.
There is a free parking, which is quite exceptional in the Costiera Amalfitana, so we did not need to bother with finding a garage or paying an extra-fee for it.
Check-in went smooth and we were showed our room that was nice, large enough, with a comfy bed, and with a nice little terrace that unfortunately we could not use as it was too hot outside.
We liked our room (all the interiors are decorated with colorful local majolica, which adds a special feeling to the place), maybe just the A/C was a bit too loud for our taste. And so were the housemaids a couple of early mornings, vacuum-cleaning along the corridor.
The bathroom was tiny but had linen towels from Frette instead of the usual hotel towels.
The breakfast was served on a terrace overlooking Villa Rufolo and the sea, and conveniently shaded by a wine pergola. The staff were very attentive and the second day already remembered our preferences about tea and coffee. The only incident worth to report was the battle with the bees for the jam, since also they showed to like it and surrounded the covered platter waiting for someone to lift the bell-glass. Not a major issue for us, as this is nature.
We spent most of the days at a beach not too far from Amalfi using the convenient public transportation, and only a couple of times by the hotel pool, which feels never packed even though we were in the peak season. The pool is not too large but sufficient to cool down. Instead of lying on the deck around the pool, we preferred a spot in the little hanging garden bordered by the local giant lemon trees with the Mediterranean sea before our eyes.
We dined only once at the hotel restaurant and were very satisfied about food, wine and service.
An aura of peace, freshness and elegance encompasses the Rufolo and the entire Ravello, which is a truly jewel in the hectic Italian summer and everything is within reach and you can forget about your car, on the other hand mandatory to get effortlessly to Ravello.

We had a pleasant stay at Rufolo and would recommend it to friends, as for us for our next visit to Ravello we would like to try out the world famous Caruso, Villa Cimbrone or Palazzo Sasso, we had the chance to walk in during our lazy afternoons.

TIP: if you plan to visit this special town and experience an extra-ordinary atmosphere, make sure that your trip coincide with the Ravello Festival. We had the pleasure to attend two concerts and were overwhelmed by the magic of the music played in such suggestive locations.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maociu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Stayed here with a wedding party and was very pleased with our overall stay. The views over the Amalfi Coast are stunning and matched some of the nicest postcard photos in the nearby square.
The room was clean and the large bed very comfortable. The bathroom had one minor let down in the form of the shower head not being able to be placed in its bracket on the wall or it would flood the bathroom - but the other guests in our party did not report the same problem so likely room-specific (421). It wasn't a major issue however and with a bit of tinkering I was able to sort it myself.
Breakfast was nice with fresh coffee made each morning to go along with a typically continental breakfast outside on the terrace overlooking the coast.
The newly renovated pool area needs some finishing touches (probably completed by now) but the pool itself is large, clean and has plenty of space around it including a secluded garden filled with shady trees overlooking the coast.
The staff were very friendly, from the reception to the restaurant to the room cleaning staff. Our room was serviced promptly each day - sometimes within a few minutes of having left the room (forgot my wallet one day and when I got back 20 minutes later the room had been serviced!).
Overall I would recommend Hotel Rufolo - It feels secluded despite only being about 80m from Ravello's main square and the views alone are worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

good place, good location, rubbish breakfast - esp the coffee!
Top tip - at breakfast time, make sure you get proper coffee, rather than the instant coffee that they try to serve by default to the non-Italians!

Helpful?
2 Thank jainswor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We stopped here by chance for lunch on a day trip in June 2007. We were so impressed that we returned a year later for a week as part of our Honeymoon! The location of the hotel just off the main square in beautiful Ravello is central whilst being tranquil and hidden from the throngs of day trippers. The views from the outdoor terrace and especially the higher-positioned restaurant are superb. The pool is small but adequate for a quick dip, and as this is not the sort of hotel you see many children, it was always quiet; indeed we were often the only ones using it. There are plenty of sunbathing areas to choose from with chairs and loungers always available. We booked a junior suite to ensure a sea-view. It was a good size with a jacuzzi bath but the balcony was disappointing as it was tiny and only just large enough for 2 small chairs. We tended to use the Hotel Terrace instead as that had a better view, so unless you need the space of a suite, I would think twice about paying the upgrade for such a small balcony. Reception staff are very polite and helpful, and the table service in the restaurant highly professional. One tip- if you want an outdoor front-line restaurant table with views over the Villa Rufolo Gardens and the coastline beyond, you must request one the night before. Only critisism of the waiter service is they don't allow enough time between courses. That said, this was typical wherever we ate on the Amalfi Coast! The quality of food in the Restaurant was second to none, with a choice of three main courses (usually one meat or poultry /onefish /one vegetarian). I am a fussy eater but rarely was there nothing I liked and on the odd occassion I didn't like anything, they prepared something else for me. A big bonus if you are half board is they allow you to swap dinner for lunch, as long as you tell them the night before. Breakfast is served on the delightful, shady outdoor terrace, and comprises cold meats, cheeses, cereals, yoghurts, pastries and bread. It was always very fresh and plentiful. There are numerous walks to surrounding villages, Minori, Maouri, Amalfi, most of them arduous down hundreds of steep steps through narrow alleys! Our favourite was to Atrani, a lovely little fishing village where we found some delightful, family-run restaurants used by the locals. Catch the bus back if you can't face the steps! Take a plastic bottle with you as there are plenty of water fountains along the walks, as you will need the refreshment! There is a gentler walk to Scala, about 20 mins away and avoiding any steps. There's also the Villa Cimbrone, a 15 min walk uphill but with spectacular views from inside the Villa Gardens across the coastline. All in all, we had a superb honeymoon and will definitiely return.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VOB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW PREMIER Collection
0.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#14 of 21 in Ravello
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#7 of 21 in Ravello
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rufolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rufolo

Property: Hotel Rufolo
Address: Via San Francesco 1, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ravello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rufolo 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated with a commanding view of the sea the Hotel Rufolo, surrounded by the green of pine trees of the near Villa Rufolo and several towers and belfries, is just in the historic centre of Ravello, a charming ,quiet and unspoiled town, perched high above the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rufolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufolo Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing