We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem in Ravello”
Review of Toro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Toro Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Little Gem in Ravello”
Reviewed 10 May 2008

Hotel Toro is a lovely quaint italian hotel that is about a dozen steps from the main piazza in ravello. The rooms are lovely, clean and spacious, all seem to have beautiful views, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. They have a lovely courtyard and garden which guests can enjoy - it's very italian and just gorgeous.

Breakfast was good, and hotel toro also arranged my transfer from ravello back to naples airport - which went smoothly and without a hitch, with the driver meeting me at my hotel at the staff's request so that I wouldn't have to carry my luggage to the meeting point (ravello main centre is closed off to traffic).

Recommend a fantastic little panini-coffee-wine bar right beside the church in the main piazza - you'll see straight away that the locals all support and frequent this tiny bar - and for good reason. Fantastic food, good value for money and the staff are a lot of fun and enjoy banter.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvyrlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    21
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
8
30
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2007

We had a bad experience with this hotel regarding a transfer they setup for us. To make a long story short, they made us pay for a taxi ride twice. I told them I would not pay for the redundant ride, and they threatened to call the police. So, being in a foreign land, I decided it would be best to pay for the redundant ride, and avoid an Italian prison. If this had not happened to us, this hotel would have been great. It is in a great location, and the town is beautiful. Unless you are cool with small towns, and not doing much during the day, I would recommend a short stay in Ravello, and a longer stay in Amalfi. The only advice I can give, is to not book transfer through this hotel. There are plenty of cab drivers in Naples or other train stations that know how to get you to Ravello. They will have set rates to get you to Ravello. If they try to shoot you a crazy price, ask to see the price sheet.

  • Liked — The Location is Great
  • Disliked — The Staff
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelmelton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2007

A quaint retreat a few steps from the main square, Hotel Toro was a relative bargain for our family of three at 110 euros. (Given the terrible exchange rate for US dollars, nothing is really a bargain anymore!) We were given a separate apartment down a few stairs from the main floor with windows overlooking the narrow street below. All was very clean and tasteful. The room was quite large by Italian standards. Breakfast was served indoors when we were there in late October, but there is an attractive courtyard and garden. Hotel staff were courteous.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Montanatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2007

Maggie from New Jersey
The Hotel Toro was a wonderful place to stay in Ravello! Most of the hotels are quite expensive here but The Toro was modestly priced, well run, clean and nicely situated near the piazza. I strongly recommend the hotel to anyone who would like to enjoy this beautiful town without spending a great deal! The breakfast was delicious - wonderful prosciutto, brioches and coffee!!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank carobbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2007

We arrived on a terribly wet evening in Ravello. Sheets of rain lashed the square and we arrived at the Toro. Its up a narrow street off the square, up a flight of steps. We were welcomed and found our room. It was a real old style place, real Italian and not a chain style hotel that could have been anywhere. The doors, windows, everything made you instantly feel you were in Italy. The room was very comfortable and well equiped as was the bathroom though the shower was a bit narrow but worked very well. Everything was clean and well tended. Breakfast was again lovely - nice fresh rolls, ham, cheese, yoghurt and served very politely and efficiently. Reception was helpful and friendly and overall, we could not fault this lovely hotel which blends in so beautifully with the lovely little town of Ravello. We ate at several really good restaurants - one opposite the little church of St. Maria to the right as you exit Toro, a little down the narrow street and another down the other road, parallel to the Toro street, again off the square on the same side. Food was generous, excellent quality and very well priced especially considering this town is small.

The view out the window of our room was spectacular. It was magic each morning (once the rain cleared) to open the window and look over the hills, with the bells of the cathedral ringing out. I highly recommend the Toro if you want a small, friendly genuine Italian experience in Ravello.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank limericklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Norfolk England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2007

Jane and I stayed at the Toro and remember this as one of our most memorable and enjoyable Hoildays. Outdoor concerts, walking the lovely crazy pavements of Ravello. The shp making and selling lemon products was delightful. The local people are friendly and in tune with their wonderful surroundings, We enjoyed fireworks and community processions from the cathedral. Coffee in the square is enjoyable and relaxing.

The Hotel is quaint and staffed by the most friendly people. The food was lovely and are we glad that we turned down a long stay at the expensive Saso and elected for a longer stay at the Toro.
It might not have a pool, but then they are mostly too cold anyway, but it has views accross to La Scala.

We walked and travaled further afield by the little Cita busses down to malfi and ventured further afeild by the bigger buses.
You will be amazed at how far and how cheaply you can travel. We found a lovely little papermaker in an old fashioned works hop in the top part of Amalfi when we walked down one day.
The old gentleman was so kind he offered jane some of his snack lunch and we bought some lovely handmade paper from him. Excursions from the balcony by coach can be booked and we enjoyed everyone!

Thank you Toro hotel and the lovely family who run it.

Jane and Mark Harriman

  • Liked — Wonderful family welcome and location
  • Disliked — We had to come home
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Norfolkdumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2006

This is the second time that we have stopped at the Toro and it's the most wondeful place to stay - the staff couldn't be more welcoming and friendly and helpful and it's a pleasure to be there. The rooms are lovely and big with plenty of room and it's right in the centre of Ravello - a minutes walk from the Duomo.
There's a garden that you can sit in and have a drink from the Hotel bar and look over at the neighbouring town of Scala. The continental breakfast is served in a well-lit reception room.
The hotel can arrange a pick up from Naples airport which is 110 euros but well worth it - you will be in Ravello about an hour after landing. I'm sure the Palazzo Sasso and Caruso are very nice but this hotel is a home from home and if you want a relaxing stay in Ravello the Toro is the place to go for a very good price!!

  • Liked — The clean well lit rooms, the wonderful friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go straight to the Campo Cosmi for food which American trip advisors seem to love!! - when it gets busy the service isn't as good and you feel rushed - go the the Vittoria Pizzaria on the other side of the square (to the right of the Villa Rufolo) which sells all kinds of wonderful italian food at good prices, our favourite restaurant in Ravello! Also head for the Villa Cimbrone first rather than the Villa Rufolo!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RichieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Moresca
Hotel La Moresca
#10 of 21 in Ravello
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#16 of 21 in Ravello
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bonadies
Hotel Bonadies
#14 of 21 in Ravello
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toro Hotel

Property: Toro Hotel
Address: Via Roma 16, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Toro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Toro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toro Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing