We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2013

stayed at giordano recently with my fiance. rooms are very clean and location is good. the rooms were fine and had a nice touch where you could walk out the balcony doors onto a large terrace which connected many rooms together. the pool was lovely. the only downside was the kitchen had "broken" on the days we stayed and were unable to get cooked breakfast although buffet was fine

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aweegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel in a beautiful location. Accommodation are very rustic but very charming. The rooms are on the tiny side but the terrace is huge. The staff is absolutely charming and friendly.
The pool is awesome. The breakfast buffet is very good.
For dinner, go to the Ristorante Vittoria just down the street of the hotel, great food and awesome service!
With this hotel, you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeromeferrere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Giordano as we were getting married in Ravello at one of their sister properties.

Upon arrival we were checked in quickly and shown to our room, the room was very small and had a tiny bathroom. I was a little disappointed as the hotel knew we were getting married and I would be using the room to get ready in with other members of my bridal party.

My parents were also staying at the hotel and were also staying in a standard room, when they were checked in their room was larger and much nicer than ours. I spoke with the receptionist about this and my disappointment about our room, she offered to show me a superior room on the top floor. This was hugely different and we were offered this room at no extra cost.

The superior room was bright and clean and had a large bathroom. The room had a pool view and a small balcony.

The breakfast was lovely, plenty of options with an additional menu to order fresh omelettes and poached eggs.

The hotels grounds and pool area were very clean and the staff very attentive.

All together this is a nice hotel and the location is perfect for exploring Ravello. It is a very old hotel and the rooms vary in size because of this. It is worth paying the extra for a superior room if space is important to you, if it is a short visit to Ravello a standard room would be adequate.

Room Tip: Book a superior room if you want space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank McBrown85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights from 9th-14th June and really enjoyed our stay. Firstly, on arrival in ravello, the hotel is about 3min walk from the main square and no steps to get to the hotel (just a gradual incline). The hotel porter would collect if required but we just walked up, about 70m total distance.

As we checked in the room they initially gave us was quite small (we booked standard double) but it would have been sufficient. We asked if they had any other rooms and they were very good in showing us the other available rooms. We moved to a room with a view of the pool and of the main square.The room was really nice, quirky and typical italian design. Bathroom also decent size but the shower door is quite narrow but still good. The air con in the room was a bit hit and miss but overall ok.

Staff were really friendly which make the hotel very personable and boutiquey, with not that many rooms. Breakfast was very good with big buffet selection and hot food on request, such as bacon eggs omelettes etc.

Pool was not heated but in the heat was ok. Temperate during our stay outside was mid 20s with the intial couple of days intermittant clouds but no rain. Rest of the trip was hot sun.

We would recommened ravello as a destination highly

Room Tip: Ask to view other rooms if you arent happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Booked for 3 nights and arrived to be shown what they called the best room they had. Small and did not even have a proper shower just one of those shower heads in the bath not fixed to wall. One sink and tiny
Shown 2 other rooms but were no better but did have a shower of sorts. This is at best a 2 star bed and breakfast. Not recommended.well well past it's sell by date

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DEPHUNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villamariaravello, Proprietario at Giordano Hotel Ravello, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

I am the owner of the Hotels Giordano & Villa Maria, both badly reviewed by the kind guest.
Herewith, I would like to give some explanations since, in my opinion, my hotels have been unfairly sentenced.
In the original clients’ booking request, the clients said they were David Rocco’s friends, who personally recommended our hotels.
I phoned D. Rocco and he said he never met these clients before, also because, if it had happened, D. would’ve directly phoned me to make the reservation, but it never happened!
Needless to say that all clients are, regardless of whether we have friends in common, very important to us and we would take care of them all in the same way!

When the clients made the reservation request, they were offered the options for my two hotels and they chose the Htl Giordano, since it is cheaper than the other.

Being the hotel from a historic building, it consists of rooms and bathrooms of different sizes and the peculiarities of the hotel is in the originality of ceramic tiles, all different in shapes and colors, and the “strength” of the hotel is the nice swimming pool and proximity to the square.
The hotel was completely renovated a few years ago and all clients make their congratulations for the warm hospitality and the beauty of the places.
Since the hotel has no sea view, it has lower prices than villa maria and the client we are talking about, in addition, had also an agreement to have a lower price than our official prices.
The first room we offered him was a superior room (larger than the Standard), and the bathroom had the option of jacuzzi+ shower. Since he did not like it, we changed to another Superior room, larger than the previous one with a terrace. He did not like it either!
We still offered them a further option at the Villa Maria, a Superior room without any extra charge although it is larger than the Standard category, with hydro massage shower.
He liked it, he spent there one night but he decided to leave the day after!
As this was not enough, he has also badly reviewed the restaurant. I personally talked to our maitre and he firmly told me that the client had never complained about anything. If he did, the maitre would have doubtless found a solution!
It is defamatory to mention the restaurant that way.
We have always received positive reviews about our cuisine, which is why it was awarded by the Gambero Rosso and BBC filmed our chefs at work!
After everything, the customer then stayed in a 5 star luxury hotel, whose price varies from 800 € to 3000 €.
He could not claim an imperial suite from a 4 star hotel and at such low cost.
If he clearly highlighted his needs from the beginning, we could have offered our junior suite, which is very spacious, with a large terrace, sea views and hydro massage bath.
The only truth found, was a little hole in the curtain – which we got it mended and the only reason that drove the client to write that bad review was maybe the fact that he had to move from an hotel to the other, the tiredness of the journey and the heat.
We would’ve really appreciated (instead) if the client noticed our great effort into satisfying all his requests – We have been only rewarded by him as “a joke” – that’s the real shame!
In summery, there are so many people who do not say that are David Rocco’s common friends that ask to meet me, after having watched me onto D. ROCCO’s TV Shows….
I am still wondering why a supposed friend of david rocco (that is my close friend) came into my hotels and did not even asked to meet me… Try to draw the conclusions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

The wife and I stayed for 4 nights in this hotel. The rooms and hotel and very clean. The service from everyone in the hotel is very good, from the guy who parks your car to the ladies who serve breakfast.

The breakfast is very good with a large selection. Some bacon and eggs and omelettes made to order.

My only problem is the room was very small. If you are on the more portly side shaw we say, you may want to make sure you can get in and out of the shower as there isn't a big gap.

Ravello is a nice little place and quiet.

One other big bonus is the hotel car park as there is very little parking in Ravello, and as the streets are so narrow. Once you get to the square, call the hotel and they will send someone down to pick up your car and bring you to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDSWORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed here as part of a walking trip, and were very happy with it. Our room was downstairs so we had a ground floor patio area with two sun beds and outside access if you wanted it. The room was reasonable size which was great for us as we could spread out our walking gear (to dry - we hit a couple of rainy days).

The hotel is at the top end of the town, which as we enjoy walking we were very happy with. It is a 5-10 minute walk down to the main square. Ravello is largely car free, so I doubt if any of the hotels have a problem with traffic noise.

The hotel is only 2-3 minutes walk away from Villa Cimbrone - don't miss this, it's a wonderful park with sculptures scattered around it and a cafe at the far end overlooking the coast where it is very relaxing to sit and enjoy the scenery.

Breakfast was quite a good spread, plenty of choice. We didn't eat at the hotel but at Cumpa Cosimo, below the town square. This is a quirky little restaurant - not at all fancy, but a fun experience. The lady owner comes around all the time to chat and check that all is ok. I had the Gnocchi Sorrentina and it was so good that I had it somewhere else later on the trip - but it was nothing like as good as here. The portions aren't large but the price isn't too bad either. This is a place to go for good Italian cooking, but it isn't the place to sit and have a romantic evening - they are too busy for this and keep everything moving.

Room Tip: If you enjoy laying in the sun, ask for one of the rooms with the outdoor ground floor patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jayellbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#10 of 21 in Ravello
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#14 of 21 in Ravello
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giordano Hotel Ravello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giordano Hotel Ravello

Address: Trinita, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ravello
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £124 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Giordano Hotel Ravello 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Giordano Hotel Ravello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravello Giordano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing