We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm and beauty”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm and beauty”
Reviewed 16 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Villa San Michele for three nights in late March. The weather was warm but not hot - just right for hiking and sightseeing without a lot of crowds but too cold to swim in the sea. We read about the VSM on Tripadvisor. Having stayed there, we can now concur with the high ratings. The VSM is in a beautiful and very covenient location. The bus for Ravello and the bus that runs along the coastal road both stop at the hotel. Ravello is a ten minute bus ride while Atrani and Amalfi are within walking distance. From the hotel one can walk from the coastal road for about 200 meters and then follow fascinating pedestrian only walkways to Atrani and Amalfi. Amalfi is by far the most interesting town on the coast with a very old and beautiful cathedral and lots of good restaurants. Atrani has the excellent sea food restaurant, A'Paranza.
If you are going to stay in one hotel for your entire stay on the Amalfi Coast, the VSM is most convenient. Anyone fit enough for travelling the Amalfi Coast will enjoy every bit of climbing the stairs and exploring the many levels of this hotel. The levels start with a small parking area on the coastal road and end with a sunbathing platform at sea level with a stairway for entering the sea. In between there are flowers galore, a lemon grove, lots of beautiful stone work, a restaurant and the hotel rooms. The three levels of the twelve hotel rooms are well below the road so that all you hear is the sound of birds and the waves hitting the cliff below. The rooms all have ceramic tile floors. Ours had a large terrace from which we watched the sunrise over the coast. Everything was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable and the bath was beautifully tiled. The tv had lots of channels including the BBC in English.
The best part of the VSM is the people who work there. This is a family run business and they really like and take pride in what they do. I am gluten intolorent and they accomodated my eating restrictions with special gluten free pastries and fruit. Breakfast capuchinos were expertly prepared. The whole family was there at breakfast to start the day and greet the guests. Nicola and Emiliano helped us with directions and dinner reservations.
The much higher rates at some of the luxury hotels on the Amalfi Coast will buy you a spa and a pool but not the beauty and relaxing atmosphere of the Hotel Villa San Michele. My wife and I are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTCTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    91
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
94
422
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Villa San Michele was the perfect place for us to stay in Amalfi. It gave us a central location which allowed us to do day trips to Positano, Capri, Ravello and Pompei. The staff couldnt have been more helpful and nice- they even made an amazing cheese platter for us one night when we wanted to stay in for dinner. The food at the hotel was very good - we ate there a few times. The views from the room off of our balcany were just beautiful! The hotel is literally built into the rock, overlooking the ocean. For the price we paid this hotel exceeded all of our expectations- I would go back in a heartbeat. I would reccomend it to anyone that is looking to visit Amalfi. While we were there we used the bus system and the water taxi's to travel around- I definitely preferred the water taxi's. The bus was very scary as it winded around the curvy roads that were very narrow- definitely not for people who are scared of heights!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aimes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

A beautiful setting, gardens, stunning views. All rooms have sea view which makes the holiday a perfect way to relax, enjoying the sound of crashing waves right outside the bedroom. The rooms are fitted out in a simple, no fuss way. But the other factors far out weigh this element. Family ownership. Great food, for fussy eaters expected a long menu, it isn't this kind of place. The lemons we won't forget. delicious cake. All round a very pleasant dining experience. Breakfast quite Italian (no museli or fresh fruit) but your standard croissants and toast and jam. Included of course fresh squeezed jucie.
We got engaged here, so it will always be a special place for us. 4 days was perfect but longer could be better. plenty to explore in the area, not forgetting a trip to nearby Capri.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomatosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Prospect, ILlinois, USA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

UNESCO lists the "Costiera Amalfitana" as a world heritage site and the "Villa San Michelle" is perfect example of why such places should be preserved. Clinging to a cliff face overlooking the Tyrrhenian Sea, this extravagant residence was converted to small family-run hotel years ago by the current owners. Like the Amalfi Coast itself, we couldn't get over how amazing the place was: the blooming flowers growing outside the dining room window, the view from our balcony, the swimming platform at the bottom of the cliff.

Nicolo and his wife are very friendly and excellent cooks. The two dinners at the hotel were as good any we had on our entire trip. When we arrived the desk clerk asked which of our suit cases was the heaviest so he could lug that one down the stairs.

Be warned, this place has a lot of stairs which is part of its charm, but if stairs are a problem you should stay somewhere else. If fact if stairs are a problem you might want to give the whole Amalfi Coast a pass.

The local bus stops right at the top of the stairs leading down to the hotel. The whole coast is an easy bus ride from here. The closest town, Atrani, is walking distance but sadly the small village suffered devastating floods this summer. We walked over for dinner and the place was practically deserted. After almost giving up and turning around we peaked in a side entry and found a waiter welcoming us to a freshly remodeled restaurant (they re-opened the day before). The food was excellent and waiter seemed genuinely happy to have customers again.

Ciao!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frizbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

After travelling for several weeks throughout Italy, this was to be my last week of relaxation....and relax I did! Upon arriving at the VSM and checking in, Nicola( the owner ), promptly whisked my bag down to my room. The room was bright, clean and the views to the sea were breathtaking! The daily housekeeping by Anna Maria was swift and timely.
My friends and I had chosen the breakfast/dinner arrangement. This turned out to be a great choice, the breakfast was a pleasant assortment of fresh rolls,danish, fruit, fresh sqeezed oranje juice and coffee latte. The dinners consisted of fresh homemade pastas,sauces and fresh seafood....delicious !!(all thanks to Pasquale the Chef), The views from the dining room are to die for and Nicola,Rosa and Leo make the experience so much fun.
The office manager Emiliano is a delight. He was very attentive and always ready to help and make your stay more enjoyable.
The hotel is situated a short bus ride to Amalfi, Maiori and other coastal towns and villages.
I would highly recommend the VSM for anyone visiting the wonderful Amalfi Coast. This charming hotel in it's enchanting setting will NOT dissapoint!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimBobToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Unforgettable holidays.
My husband and I have traveled all over the world, staying in lovely hotels but we have never experienced quite the level of comfort and style that the Villa San Michele provides.
I can`t to describe in few words what makes this hotel so special. Of course, the beautiful landscape, the magic house between sea and sky,the traditional Italian diners on the terrace, and of course, Nicola,Leo,Rosa,and Emilano, the family who run the hotel, made us feel at home and were caring, friendly and kind .
We will definitely want to go back, and we will recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svetlana31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2010

For visitors to the Amalfi Coast, the Villa San Michele is a must, superbly positioned just where the road to Ravello branches off the coast road and only 1 km from Amalfi itself. The situation is perfect, with the bedrooms enjoying a spectacular view across the Gulf of Salerno and round the coast to Maiore. Like many in the neighbourhood, the hotel is built down a steep hill, almost a cliff, in beautifully landscaped and colouful gardens. The service from Emiiano, Nicola and their family and colleagues is faultless and the food in the restaurant excellent - lots of lemon in the dishes, typical of the region!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RooCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
995 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Property: Villa San Michele
Address: Via Carusiello 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#2 Family Hotel in Ravello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Michele 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele on Amalfi Coast is the perfect spot to spend a relaxing holiday relishing the sea the sun and the views of the Amalfi Coast. A charming refuge from which the most attractive towns such as Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento can be easily reached. The hotel built upon the rocks is in perfect harmony with nature situated in beautiful garden from here to the sea takes only a moment following a private route. The air and the eyes are filled with the fragrances and colours of the lemons and bouganville creating the right atmosphere for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Ravello
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing