We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth.”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
AllsmilesCSR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth.”
Reviewed 30 November 2007

My husband and I married in Amalfi at the Hotel Luna Convento, which was lovely, but chose to stay a bit outside of town at Hotel Villa San Michele. Fantastic decision!!! It’s the perfect romantic getaway. The room was simple, clean and bright. The view from the room and balcony was nothing short of spectacular.

Nicola, Emiliano and their family could not do enough for us. They are the most welcoming and gracious hosts. The food and wine at the Hotel Villa San Michele is out of this world… some of the best we had in Amalfi and it was included in our rate! Words simply cannot explain how beautiful is paradise is to visit so we have included some photos.

Two items of note: There are many, many stairs to get to and from the suites. Also, the hotel is about six-tenths of a mile outside of town. We LOVED the exercise and the walk into town, but those who are more sedentary or have health concerns may have difficultly staying in this particular paradise. In addition, the shower in our room’s bathroom was quite small. Again, this is not something that bothered my husband or I one bit, but larger individuals or those who have difficulty with small spaces might want to inquire about the size of the showers in the room they are considering staying.

In summary, this is one of the most beautiful hideaways in the world. We hope to return to beautiful Amalfi and the Hotel Villa San Michele is the ONLY place we could consider staying! Thank you Nicola, Emiliano and Family!!!

Sincerely, Peter and Carly Jepson

  • Liked — The view and the staff.
  • Disliked — The shower.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AllsmilesCSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    91
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
93
420
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2007

The Amalfi Coast is one of those scarce old-fashioned European destinations that have not been ruined by the disastrous developments of the tourist industry. And Hotel Villa San Michele is a place with a great price/quality relationship.The guests as well as the smart and friendly owners and their staff know very well what it is all about (you came and will leave as a tourist) but a rare thing these days, they succeed in making you forget it - offering you a real escapist vacation. The rooms have the necessary comfort, but above all one of the greatest coastal views in the world. Any time of the day, you can walk down the many stairs, from one terrace to another (there's a sunbathing terrace with some shade too for those who still read books), to sealevel where you go down a ladder into the so-calm sea, by then believing this is the nicest and largest swimming pool you've ever seen. Some sailing or motor boat floats by a hundred meters away, while you go for your fifth swim that day. At noon, you go for some light lunch or more to the hotel's restaurant, always the unbeatable view, where in the evening you'll enjoy the menu with Italian food that Elizabeth David certainly would have loved for its simple, no fancy, fresh product directed (oh the fish!) honesty. Regional wines, and don't forget the limoncello. Transport can be a problem during the high season. You will want to go to Pompei or Paestum, and it will take you some time over the narrow winding coastal roads before reaching the autostradale. Don't rent a big car, it's a real handicap. And probably best way to go to Capri or Positano is by boat from Amalfi. You will get the best icecream of Amalfi at the gelateria on the corner of the seaside road and the street that goes to the main square. It is owned by the wife of Villa San Michele's restaurant's waiter.

  • Liked — location, food, staff, seabathing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Valras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2007

This was the third time we had stayed at Villa San Michele, and we enjoy it more every time we go there. We love the food, in particular the fish and the pasta sauces, and the charming way in which Nicola recites the menu each night - in Italian, or French, or English. The service we get from the staff is friendly, efficient and helpful - grazie Nicola, Rosa, Leo, Emiliano, Andrea and the other charming people whose names we don't know. The climb to the road from the bedrooms is quite a steep one, but after a couple of days we are acclimatized and were able to manage it without a problem. The view across the Bay of Salerno from the bedroom windows is simply spectacular, and the firework display on the evening of 15 August - Ferragosto - is amazing. It's lovely to be able to stroll in the evening along the coast road to Atrani for coffee or icecream, or to drive up into the mountains above Amalfi and visit Ravello, Scala, Pontone and the other ancient towns and villages away from the coast.

Thank you again Nicola and Leo for the lovely and completely unexpected presents you gave us on our last morning - we did enjoy them. I hope we will be seeing you again soon, and I hope that all will be well with Nicola the next time we see him.

Tina and Tom Maxwell
Wimbledon, London

  • Liked — Cool bedroom and lovely food
  • Disliked — Nothing that I can think of
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank maxhandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2007

Firstly a warning! This place is absolutely addictive.
Unique must be the best way to describe Villa San Michele and that goes for location, hotel surroundings, staff and food. Once you arrive you never want to leave. Often when staying at a traditional hotel you are quite aware that you are just visiting. Not at Villa San Michele. You feel welcome and at home the minute you check-in. With only 12 rooms you become part of a small group that have one secret in common – you have found the most precious and cosy hotel on the Amalfi coast.
The hotel hanging on the Amalfi coast cliffs leaves room for nothing but stressless relaxation. Enjoy the view of the ocean from your beautiful room, when having breakfast in the restaurant or when sitting under the lemon trees drinking coffee after dinner. Our warmest recommendations. And yes – July 2008 we will be visiting again. Our fourth, but no last, visit to Villa San Michele.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Totte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster England
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2007

My mum and dad had previously stayed at Villa San Michele and reccomended we stay for our Honeymoon. Has soon has we arrived it was everything and more, the weather was very good and the food excellent. We had such a wonderful time we are hoping to spend our first anniversary at Villa San Michele.
Everyone at Villa San Michele made our time at Amalfi a beautiful memory to always treasure

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

It would be unfair to ignore the positives: the seaside location is magnificent, the staff are friendly and the evening meals are first rate. The hotel, however, lets itself down on the details that make a difference: room furnishings are old and tired, bathrooms small and accumulating mildew, toiletries are cheaper than in the average Torquay B&B, breakfast is a plain bread roll and a croissant (fruit is available on request), red wine is supplied in the mini-bar but not white (!), and price lists aren't available for the mini-bar or dinner drinks, so the final bill (although reasonable enough) is a guessing game. We'd recommend it wholeheartedly, but anybody expecting luxury will be disappointed.

One further tip: if you're hiring a car, make it small and automatic and you'll have some chance of surviving the coast road. The trip over the mountains down to Ravello is probably the safest route in.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GMFEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2007

We spent our honeymoon at the Villa San Michele and it is a place we shall never forget.
It is a beautiful building with an incredible setting. The owners and staff are really friendly and helpful, arranging taxis, trips, etc for us.
Our room was delightful, a huge private balcony with steps leading down to the sea. The room was clean and well air conditioned. While other reviews have mentioned the small bathrooms, we were very pleased with the size and it was no problem.
The food at the hotel was incredible - all freshly made and a different choice every night. We ate there every day. The breakfast, too, was delicious.
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for a friendly, relaxing stay with all the facilities you need. It is in a super position with Amalfi just a short walk away and good public transport. We hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0.8 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
224 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Property: Villa San Michele
Address: Via Carusiello 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ravello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Michele 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele on Amalfi Coast is the perfect spot to spend a relaxing holiday relishing the sea the sun and the views of the Amalfi Coast. A charming refuge from which the most attractive towns such as Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento can be easily reached. The hotel built upon the rocks is in perfect harmony with nature situated in beautiful garden from here to the sea takes only a moment following a private route. The air and the eyes are filled with the fragrances and colours of the lemons and bouganville creating the right atmosphere for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Ravello
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing