We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights last week in June. What a fantastic little hotel this is. Don't expect a 5 star hotel, this is better. Yes there are a few little ruff edges. However the views from the rooms are stunning, food to die for and the hospitality of the owners is amazing. Great location between Amalfi & Ravello. Best part of the stay has to be the 3 Course Evening Meal. Traditional, home cooked Italian food, lovingly served with local wine. Better than any meal bought out. Highly Recommended Hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our second stay at Villa San Michele - and it was even better than we remembered.

We came back for two weeks this time to fully enjoy the area and this fantastic hotel.


Nicola, Rosa, Antonio and Ana (the lady who took care of our room) treat you like family. The set menu in the evening was even better than we remembered. We enjoyed every single dish!

The hotel location is simply stunning. The view from our balcony was absolutely breathtaking. Often there was no need to wander further afield - a lunch bought from the small shop at the tops of the steps with a bottle on wine and then *that view* is all one could ask for to thoroughly relax as the sea laps gently underneath you.

If you want to wander further afield Amalfi is a 1km walk away and the small town of Atrani is a few hundred metres - Le Arcate is a great place to eat (the pizzas are great value and delicious) & there are a couple of great, inexepsive places for an afternoon coffee.

From Amalfi it's easy to get a boat to Capri, Positano & Sorento.

Can't recomment Villa Sam Michele highly enough. Will come back every year!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jed_Murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The location is unbeatable, set into the cliffs of the Amalfi coast with terraced gardens which were beautifully looked after. The staff were welcoming and attentive. The food was exceptionally good using local, fresh ingredients typical of the area. Lots of lovely things to do and see within walking/boating distance if you can manage to leave the grounds of the hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Arrived late at night so waking up to the sea view in this hotel was a wonderful surprise. Location on the cliffs was very beautiful, 15 minute walk to Amalfi, need to have your wits about you to do it in the dark. Between the entrance, reception, dining room and bedroom there are various flights of steps so I would not recommend this for anyone with mobility issues.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelsguardian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I visited the Amalfi Coast and stayed here for one night (previous night was at the sister property). I don't have enough wonderful things to say about this place! The staff made us feel special from beginning to end (remembering our names is a huge plus!), the location was perfect, and the restaurant was amazing. We decided to take our car, and there is parking on-site and at another secure location 600m away.

Although there are plenty of restaurants in nearby Amalfi, we decided to eat dinner at the hotel restaurant; the menu is different every day according to what the chef decides to prepare and uses only fresh ingredients. They have land food and sea food options, which is a nice change from all sea food since my husband is allergic to shellfish. Breakfast is also at the hotel restaurant, and is much better than your average "continental" breakfast.

All of their rooms have a balcony facing the sea, and you don't hear ANY traffic noise. Just the sounds of the water. On the bottom of the "cliff" that the hotel practically hangs off of is a small sunbathing area with a ladder leading into the sea. We were told that if we wanted to, we could use the swimming pool at their sister property down the road. The rest of the property itself is very charming; it feels like you're in your own private garden, with the scent of lemons everywhere.

All of the rooms are spacious, so you won't have to shimmy your bags through the door. There are no elevators, so make sure you are okay with stairs. Lots and lots of stairs. The staff will gladly help you with your bags.

The towns of Minori, Atrani, and Amalfi are about a 20 minute walk away. Ravello is up the hill, and I would highly recommend getting a taxi. The staff can help you get one.

We wanted a relaxing weekend on the Amalfi Coast, and we definitely got it thanks to Villa San Michele. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stays for 4 days at this villa and its the hilight of our trip. Nicola was very friendly.. The dinner menu is amazing.. And the view.. Simply Breathtaking.. We definetely will be back again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AnalisAsih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is an AMAZING property! It feels like you are living in a private villa on the sea. Breakfast met our needs, the location was great...bus stop across the street, easy walk to Atrani and Amalfi. Definitely walk the Path of the Gods if in good shape (you will have to be in good shape to stay at the Villa San Michele anyway). Everyone was helpful with directions, reservations, information. We highly recommend this small family owned and run hotel.

Room Tip: Large balcony, corner room, second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwofortheRoad22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#1 of 21 in Ravello
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
1 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
4.8 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Address: Via Carusiello 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#2 Family Hotel in Ravello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £107 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Michele 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele on Amalfi Coast is the perfect spot to spend a relaxing holiday relishing the sea the sun and the views of the Amalfi Coast. A charming refuge from which the most attractive towns such as Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento can be easily reached. The hotel built upon the rocks is in perfect harmony with nature situated in beautiful garden from here to the sea takes only a moment following a private route. The air and the eyes are filled with the fragrances and colours of the lemons and bouganville creating the right atmosphere for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Ravello
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing