We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Boston121
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2009

My husband and I just returned from Italy and loved staying at Villa San Michelle! This hotel is ideally situated on the bus line for traveling to Almafi or Ravello and has a wonderful diving platform. Everyone who works there and all the guests were extremely friendly and we felt it was our home away from home. The rooms are small but we had one that had a wonderful balcony. We chose the half board which came with a light breakfast (bread, juice and tea) and lunch or dinner. We had dinner there every night and loved it. We also rented a boat which picked us up from the diving platform and allowed us to explore the coast for the day which I would highly recommend. If you are looking for a good value, quiet hotel away from the crowds this is a great choice!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boston121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    91
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
93
420
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2009

My wife and I found the VSM an oasis of calm away from the rat race. It is ideally situated above the sea with wonderful views. This small hotel is family owned and run and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The owner, Nicola, will arrange trips to Vesuvius, Pompeii or other places of interest.
The meals are excellent and varied. We ate all put in front of us - put on some weight but the stairs helped us to shed a few pounds. We can't wait to go back for another stay. Many of the guests are repeat clients which speaks volumes about the VSM and staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck_toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Having seen about enough of the made-for-tourists parts of Italy, Villa San
Michele was a very pleasant getaway from the business of the more
commonly visited parts. My wife and I visited the hotel for two
nights on our honeymoon in June. We had just stayed two nights in Positano at the luxurious Buca Di Bacco. Where the Buca was elegant and upscale,
San Michele was quaint and private, yet no less pristine and
beautiful.

The service was the friendliest we saw in all of Italy. We were
family. You are treated to a breakfast every morning, plus a lunch
in the early afternoon if your reservation includes it. There are not
many restaurants in walking distance, and they all require walking
along the famous Amalfi drive (quite perilous for pedestrians!), but
that is actually not a problem! The hotel's restaurant is more than
decent, and features hand-made pasta made from scratch daily by the
proprietor's wife as well as fresh fish caught right there in Ravello
every morning. The table wine is very reasonably priced and quite
delicious. Careful ordering the cappuccino in the morning, they will
serve you quite plentiful amounts!

The room itself was neither large nor replete with many of the
"extras" you find in fancier hotels, and the television offers only
one English channel, BBC World, which gets old fast. It will catch
you up on the latest news around the world, but what are you doing in
Ravello watching TV? There are too many beautiful villages and
beaches to explore!

If you want a modestly priced, relaxing, "at home" feel, this hotel is
it. We do not normally write reviews, but we had to make an exception
for this one. It definitely felt like the staff at Villa San Michelle was
going the extra mile for us :)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeasideReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2009

we have just had 5 nights and could have stayed longer a perfect place for a quiet time relaxing in the sun ,swimming in warm ,clear water and enjoying the natural beauty of the Amalfi coast but closer enough to visi Atrani for a drink ,t Ravello for lunch, Amalfi for lunch catch the ferry to Positano and Capri .you can then escape the crowds to this haven.
the staff are wonderful and nothing was too much trouble .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Forget any bad reviews(if any) that you might have read. Some people are NEVER happy no matter what! We had a four-night stay at Villa San Michele and it was the absolute highlight of our Italin tour. It's a little Gem in the most spectacular spot you could imagine. Nicola and Adrienne(?) were warm and friendly and the food was as good as any place we ate on our three week trip. I wish we'd been there in the summer to take advantage of the beautiful water. Next time! If you are very, very lucky you'll have the opportunity to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hankmail505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Very beautiful villa on the Coast, with magnificent views of the sea wich is only a few steps away; it's quiet and comfortable and very relaxing- very very nice for two; excellent cuisine and the nicest people we have ever met in a vacation. You do a great job here, Nicola & the rest!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIRELACRISTIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Arriving very late after a long flight and drive from Naples we were greeted amiably and shown to our room down 150 steps! A ,lovely light dinner was provided. The room was very simple but the view was extraordinary! I cannot fault the service which was always friendly and helpful. Breakfast was average - a couple of rolls and fresh juice...it would not be difficult to provide a larger choice and all the walking involved in the day ahead requires fuel in the morning! Dinner was included in the very reasonable price charged...one night was terrible and the other was acceptable. It is in a great position - walking distance to Amalfi and a 10min drive to Ravello.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilshandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0.8 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
222 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Property: Villa San Michele
Address: Via Carusiello 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ravello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Michele 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele on Amalfi Coast is the perfect spot to spend a relaxing holiday relishing the sea the sun and the views of the Amalfi Coast. A charming refuge from which the most attractive towns such as Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento can be easily reached. The hotel built upon the rocks is in perfect harmony with nature situated in beautiful garden from here to the sea takes only a moment following a private route. The air and the eyes are filled with the fragrances and colours of the lemons and bouganville creating the right atmosphere for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Ravello
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing