We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
1 review
“What a place!”
Reviewed 21 May 2007

we loved every minute of our 6 day stay-the food was great, our room so comfortable and the view unbelievable-we enjoyed the 120 plus steps one had to climb everyday-good for the figure especially after all that delicious pasta-the hotel staff are very gracious and we hope to come back again-

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank omiandopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    91
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
91
418
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2007

Really lovely stay. All the staff were very helpful and cheery! Amazing views. Delicious food - warn them if you are vegetarian though.

Lots of steps, but all worth the climb.

Rooms very clean and airy. Great having a balcony.

  • Liked — Location, view, small no. of guests
  • Disliked — Best when the sun's out
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mac004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2007

We booked blind but used Alistair Sawday's web site so we knew it would be good, individual and good value. The result exceeded our expectations. A lot of steps but what a site on the water's edge, a short walk from Amalfi. (Keep to the sea side of the road as the locals do and the traffic will keep its distance.)
The hotel was attractive, the different floors reaching down the cliff to the sea. So we were woken by the sound of the Mediterranean waves and not to traffic. It is a family run hotel, and all the staff were warm, friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, a limited choice but all freshly cooked, local Italian dishes.
It was good value for money; half board in pleasant, comfortable rooms with all usual amenities AND a superb view. You could relax on the terrace or the sea edge or from the open doors of your room (some with their own balcony).
Parking was not a problem but could be if full, but a hotel dominated by a car park would have been a disappointment.
Definitely a place to stay and return to................!

  • Liked — situation. individual character. value for money.
  • Disliked — many steps but essential for the location
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank endisnigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2007

A friendly family run hotel set on the cliffs on the Amalfi coast.

This is not 5star and does not pretend to be but the owner and the staff were friendly and helpful - lugging our cases up and down all the steps. I am sixty and had no difficulty managing the steps. Might be very difficult for the unfit and certainly for the infirm.

Despite its proximity to the main coast road, the hotel is quiet - except for the sound of the sea splashing against the rocks. Wonderful views from the balcony in my room. Deck chairs provided but sadly no table on which to balance our drinks and olives purchased from across the road.

Good food thoughtfully prepared. Not a vast menu but certainly adequate. Breakfast was a llittle boring and could have been bolstered by some fresh fruit.

Bathrooms small and would have appreciated a bath rather than just a shower.

These are minor complaints. Well worth another visit.

  • Liked — its location
  • Disliked — nothing really!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjmdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2007

We are widely travelled and absolutely loved this hotel. We have every intention of returning next year.The views from the rooms are amongst the best we have ever experienced and the hotel offers comfort peace and good hospitality. We loved the evening meals in the restaurant,they are simple,well cooked and delicious.What more can you expect from a small family run hotel? You can easily venture out to the next village for dinner if you choose and the owner recommended a superb restaurant to us, which was moderately priced. A little fruit at breakfast and possibly a little more variety for those who wish to stay longer would have been the icing on the cake, but the breakfast was adequate the juice coffee and croissants etc delicious. As others have said this is not the ideal location for the infirm but there is no need to rush up the stairs as the views en route are spectacular! We walked to Ravello for a drink before dinner but you do need to be pretty fit for this but the ride back with the locals was an experince not to miss as it had the most spectacular views and we truly felt we were sampling Italian culture.You can always have a drink and delicious nibbles from the shop across the road in you own room.The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and seemed only too happy to help. We did experience a little difficulty parking one evening but the problem was very quickly sorted by on of the staff. If you expect 5* facilities then think carefully.

  • Liked — The spectacular views and sense of peace in a busy area.
  • Disliked — The parking and the lack of a bath
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2006

We had a wonderful stay at the Villa San Michele and were made to feel right at home immediately. As soon as we stepped out onto our balcony all the stresses and strains left us and we had the most relaxing week in exceptionally beautiful surroundings.

Amalfi is a comfortable walk away and if you can't face the walk back there are plenty of local buses that stop outside the hotel. You can also walk to Ravello if you are brave enough and fit enough to climb the 1000 steps but however you get there it has some of the most amazing views!

We are already planning our return trip next year.... but its was so restful you almost don't want to share the secret with anyon else!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Minnie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2006

Spent 4 nights at the Villa San Michele in early October. I had emailed Emiliano just two days before our planned arrival and asked if they could accomodate us a day earlier. He let us know that he could not give us the same room that we would have for our original 3 nights, but that was okay with us. After the somewhat nerve racking drive on the coast road, the Villa was a welcome sight. We were able to park our car in their private, gated car park right at the entrance to the Villa and left it there the entire time. The rooms and bathrooms are large enough, nothing fancy, but more than adequate. Ours was also immaculate. And what can you say about picture perfect views - intense blue sky meets crystal clear water! The sunrises were spectacular.

We found the Villa to be very well situated as the bus stops right in front. For 1 euro you can easily go to the town of Ravello (not to be missed) or to Minori and Amalfi. We loved walking along the coast road to Amalfi where we could catch the ferry to Positano and Capri.

We were on half board as that was the only option offered to us. I would have preferred breakfast only as we like to try different restaurants. On our last night we did eat at a lovely ristorante in Minori. The dinners at the Villa were not exceptional, but for the price, they were better than expected. I did feel that the breakfasts could have offered a little more variety. The staff was friendly and warm and service was excellent. We especially appreciated their carrying our very heavy luggage down and then up those many, many steps. Although it was challenging to tackle those steps several times a day (we are in our early 60's and in pretty good shape), they helped to justify all the bread, pasta, and gelato we consumed!

All in all, the Villa San Michele is a very good value within the moderate priced options.

  • Liked — VIews, location, staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Get in shape before you go and pack light!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ladyflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
1.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
970 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#8 of 21 in Ravello
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Property: Villa San Michele
Address: Via Carusiello 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ravello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Michele 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele on Amalfi Coast is the perfect spot to spend a relaxing holiday relishing the sea the sun and the views of the Amalfi Coast. A charming refuge from which the most attractive towns such as Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento can be easily reached. The hotel built upon the rocks is in perfect harmony with nature situated in beautiful garden from here to the sea takes only a moment following a private route. The air and the eyes are filled with the fragrances and colours of the lemons and bouganville creating the right atmosphere for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Ravello
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing