We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream vacation for those with eye for beauty”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A dream vacation for those with eye for beauty”
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We saw the Amalfi coast during a land excursion on a previous Mediterranean cruise and we promised to come back to this area. We could have not chosen a better place to stay. The hotel grounds, accommodation, food and very friendly staff and owners were the best.

The place is located on a cliff overlooking the sea with gorgeous view of the surrounding mountains, water and beautiful sunrise. The path down to the rooms is adorned with beautiful and colorful flowers, lemons, pomegranate and herbs. It is lit at night and sweet aroma from flowering bushes makes it more magical. Our room has 3 balconies that were left open at all times to the ambient sound of the waves splashing against the rocks below. It was marvelous to listen to and as effective as any sleeping pill. Breakfasts can have more variety but we did not mind the hot croissants served every morning with good coffee. We love the surprised dinners where there is always a choice of first and second plates. During our stay, the owners and the staff almost became like family members, giving us recommendations of places not to be missed, arranging transportation for us and making sure that our needs were met. The only thing that we wish the rooms have would be an internet access without the need to come up to the main office to check on emails. Other than that, this is a perfect haven of beauty. We would highly recommend without any hesitation Villa San Michele to anyone considering a visit to Amalfi/Ravello area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katerryna6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    91
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
91
418
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Located on the side on the side of the famous rocky Amalfi Coast mountains, feet from the sea below, this hotel offers spectacular views combining the blue green waters of the sparkling gulf, the dark green of the surrounding mountains, and the azure of the sky above.
The garden area is well maintained with beautiful flowers and plants and small lemon and pomegranate trees throughout the different levels of the grounds.

The service is excellent with the staff ready and willing to look after your needs.

Overall a very enjoyable and unforgetable experience. My wife and I will definetely want to go back, and we will recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mendim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We visited Villa San Michele for the second week of a two week break to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. We had travelled from staying in Lake Maggiore and Venice. We received a lovely welcome from Nicola who made us feel relaxed straight away. The hotel was on a busy junction but because of the way it was built into the rock you couldn't hear any road noise or see the road once inside the hotel. Because of it's location it was very conveniently placed to catch a local bus to Amalfi, Ravello or Maiori where you could pick up other transport links including water buses to Capri and Positano.
We had booked room 122 on recommendation and were thrilled with the incredible view. The room decor was a little tired and dated but it was very clean and comfortable. The hotel had lovely gardens on different levels reaching down to the water's edge and there was a stunning view from the restaurant and a lovely sunbathing terrace. The hotel didn't have any facilities except for these but this didn't spoil our stay in any way.
The whole family who run the hotel made us feel part of the family and were friendly, kind and courteous. We stayed half board and never felt the need to eat anywhere else as the food was STUNNING...home cooked and the most delicious food we experienced in our whole trip!
We will return!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrislovesItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto,Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2010

My husband and I would highly recommend this charming little hotel for it's comfortable rooms, all with spectacular views to the sea, the wonderful family atmosphere and the great food. We loved sitting on our balcony watching the sunrise and sunset.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tristan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed at Villa San Michele as part of our honeymoon. Is a fantastic hotel in a beautiful location. We were made to feel very welcome, with champagne and flowers in our room on arrival to celebrate our honeymoon. Exceptionally friendly family hotel, set in beautiful surroundings. Good location to explore the Amalfi coast, close to Ravello and Amalfi.

We were half board, the food is cooked by the owner's wife and is fantastic. Breakfast is slightly disappointing as is the same bread basket every day and a little more variation would be great. However can't fault the food at all, everything we had at either lunch or dinner was gorgeous, very fresh and typical of the area.

The hotel has private access to the sea with a few different areas with sunlounging. Slightly disappointing that some guests see it fit to put their towels and books to reserve sunloungers and then head out for the day, but unfortunately guess that happens alot in Europe.

Would highly recommend this hotel, was a highiight of our honeymoon. Could have stayed on our balcony admiring the view forever!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mol77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2010

this is a lovely hotel in a perfect setting in lovely gardens right on the cliff edge of the beautiful amalfi coast below ravello.
the owner and all the staff are always available, very pleasant, and most helpful. excellent local dishes are served in a light and airy restaurant with gorgeous sea views.
all rooms have a sea view, all facilities, and are kept spotless.
there are plenty of private shaded and open areas from sea level through the gardens, for bathing and serious relaxation.
wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonylauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I simply loved everything about this hotel. I have been living in Italy for about three months and I had the best experience here. If you want a room with a spectacular view, exceptional food, private access to the beach and wonderful balcony to relax this is the hotel for you. Its perfect away from all the crowds but a short walk from amalfi center. Also if you need to take the bus back to the Salerno train station the bus stop is right in front of the hotel. Best experience! I will def be coming back really soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caviarforeveryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
1.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
968 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#9 of 21 in Ravello
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Property: Villa San Michele
Address: Via Carusiello 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ravello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Michele 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele on Amalfi Coast is the perfect spot to spend a relaxing holiday relishing the sea the sun and the views of the Amalfi Coast. A charming refuge from which the most attractive towns such as Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento can be easily reached. The hotel built upon the rocks is in perfect harmony with nature situated in beautiful garden from here to the sea takes only a moment following a private route. The air and the eyes are filled with the fragrances and colours of the lemons and bouganville creating the right atmosphere for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Ravello
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing