We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to relax and explore the Amalfi coast”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
1 review
“Excellent place to relax and explore the Amalfi coast”
Reviewed 5 August 2007

We chose this place in 2003 because we liked the pictures displayed on internet. Since then, we have stayed several times in that marvelous place on the Amalfi Coast. Every time, we first and foremost enjoyed the excellent services provided by the host family and the hotel manager. All the rooms, which are clean and tidy, have private balconies with a breathtaking view on the sea and the coast. The food is very fresh and always excellent. I especially recommend the catch of the day and the seafood. However, the cook also took care splendidly of the dietary preferences of my wife, who is a vegetarian. The small hotel is located on the sea, it is fantastic for sun-bathing or swimming. It is very quiet and silent, actually the only sound is the rolling of the waves on the rocks. All the great sight-seeing places on the Amalfi coast like Ravello (home to several music festivals), Positano, Vietri (ceramics) etc. can be reached in a short ride by car, bus or taxi. We went to Pompei by bus since the bus-stop is very conveniently located directly behind the hotel. We enjoyed the short walks to Amalfi or Atrani, the village closest to the hotel, which we especially like because there are some small bars adjacent to the central square, where we used to drink our aperitif before dinner. The hotel owner, Nicola, and his family always treated us like old friends, and actually we are. We highly recommend this place. In fact, whenever we are sad, we just close our eyes and think of the wonderful time we had there, and we immediately feel great again.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the owner and his family
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Attila68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    91
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
93
420
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2007

This was the first stop of our honeymoon, and fully enjoyed every moment of it. We had read the reviews on this and many other sites about this hotel and had high hopes..... we were not dissapointed!! This hotel is lovely.... the location, the hotel, the food and the staff were fabulous. We really thought we may eat out on one of the seven nights that we stayed in this area but the food was so good that we really did not want to. We fully reccomend this hotel as it is simply a lovely place to stay.

  • Liked — Food and views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brayersontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

Small family hotel with gracious staff. The web site looked outstanding but the hotel is even better! Highly recommend half pension as the food was excellent and always choices. If you are arriving in Naples by train or plane let them arrange a car to the hotel--a real plus! Also consider renting a boat for the day--also easily arranged. This is a special place--almost hate to share this "secret". This is not a "luxury" hotel but small family hotel with beautiful flowers, views, sea patio and access, and A+ for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsxedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2007

and what a view! we spent ten days here and many hours of them just gazing out to sea and along the beautiful Amalfi coastline. Nicola, Emiliano and all the family made us very welcome. The room was lovely with a huge balcony ( unlike the shower which was a little on the small size. ) Dinner every day was something to look forward to: no dish was repeated during our stay. Everything was freshly cooked,including a lot of local fish and homemade pasta. There were 150+ steps from our room to the road so we were fitter when we left (what doesn't kill you makes you stronger) Would we return? Certainly.

  • Liked — the friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — the bathroom could have been better arranged
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ChichesterSilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2007

I stayed at the Villa San Michele for almost a week in June, and cannot say enough good things about this special place. I have been to Italy 19 times, and this is one of my top choices for several reasons. First, the owner, Nicola, and the manager, Emiliano, were friendly, helpful and made me feel very welcome. Second, the location is superb..right on the ocean, no traffic noise...only the sound of the sea. Also, the bus station is right across the street, and it is a short bus ride to the charming town of Ravello. I also did the 15 minute walk along the highway to Amalfi, but one can also take the bus. The dinners were really excellent, home-cooked authentic Italian, served with love by Leopoldo, Nicola, and his son Andrea. His wife is the cook. Emiliano arranged a 3 hour private boat excursion along the coast, which was really fun. There are lots of steps, but that's not unusual in many places in Italy, and I just look at it as a great way to keep in shape. Bathrooms are clean and updated. I would love to stay here again.

  • Liked — the views, the tranquility, the friendly owner and staff
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank celesteLosAngeles_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2007

With grateful thanks to Nicola & Co for such a pleasant stay. As with almost all the other reviewers we loved the views and the ever helpful staff led by Nicola.

The food was excellent, real home cooking with excellent local wine. The Amalfi coast is just breathtaking and Ravello itself a place of real beauty.

I must admit that aged 70 with a dodgy hip the stairs were rather daunting, but not being a gadabout managed them slowly. We didn't use the local transport but used the taxi service, provided by Claudio/Rosario all organised by Nicola who also arranged our boat trip to Capri. Many thanks to all concerned.

Laurence Bruckner

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — small shower
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larrybLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2007

My mother, companion and I recently stayed at Villa St Michele for 5 nights. It is conveniently situated in the middle of the Amalfi Coast, and provides a quiet setting with amazing vistas out to sea. The rooms are spacious, clean, and bright in white and blue with tile floors. The food was both plentiful and excellently prepared featuring local cuisine and local produce. We ate there every evening without repeat and enjoyed consulting about wine and the food preparation. It was a relief to know we could depend on great meals at the end of exploring every day. St. Michele is located directly across the street from the bus stop so it was easy getting up the hill to Ravello, going into Amalfi and ferry connections to Positano, or Vietre Sul Mare for ceramics. Of course, just relaxing on the terrace, in the beautiful garden filled with flowers or taking the stairway to swim in the sea was also a welcome option. Guests were friendlly often having returned regularly for several years and the staff a pleasure. They kindly arranged an excursion to Capri which was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Truely a treasure of peace and gustatory delight. I recommend Villa St. Michele for everyone except if they have trouble climbing stairs of which there are many. Barry New York City

  • Liked — clean, convenient, excellent food, wonderful staff
  • Disliked — by usa standards shower stall in our room was small
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrycraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.9 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
225 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
986 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#8 of 21 in Ravello
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Property: Villa San Michele
Address: Via Carusiello 2, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ravello
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Michele 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele on Amalfi Coast is the perfect spot to spend a relaxing holiday relishing the sea the sun and the views of the Amalfi Coast. A charming refuge from which the most attractive towns such as Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento can be easily reached. The hotel built upon the rocks is in perfect harmony with nature situated in beautiful garden from here to the sea takes only a moment following a private route. The air and the eyes are filled with the fragrances and colours of the lemons and bouganville creating the right atmosphere for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Ravello
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing