We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit - great as always.”
Review of Hotel Bonadies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bonadies
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Third visit - great as always.”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Another great time at the Bonadies. Excellent food in their restaurant - lovely mountain and sea views while you are eating. (cannot understand another reviewer saying the restaurant is downstairs and dark ) . Staff are very friendly and helpful. Would go back again any time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathynunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    87
    35
    27
    15
See reviews for
61
185
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and spent our entire time trying to find another hotel to move to as this was so bad! Throughout our stay the hotel was being used for 2 different weddings, the wedding parties completely took over and made the stay very relaxing.

We had room 16, I read a review on here saying it was the best, oh dear! The room was decorated in a nauseating clash of colours, we even had a woolly tiger blanket under our sheets - strange. The owners were abrupt and unfriendly, the food terrible. Breakfast was the worst I've had, very little choice, no staff to assist you and poor quality. We were meant to be on a half board basis but after one night we'd had enough. The menu was limited, our waiter overworked and unfriendly, the food very poor. The dining room was downstairs in a dark room with no windows, completely soulless. The toilets downstairs didn't have a lock on the door and the look seat was broken and on the floor...The saving grace of this hotel was the bathroom in the rooms which although poky was very nicely decorated, the toiletries however were bad quality, The balcony was tiny but the views incredible if you like heights! The pool was small but fine.

All in all it was very Fawlty Towers and if i'd just been on holiday it wouldn't have been so bad, but because this was part of our honeymoon it was quite upsetting. I know this is a family run hotel and for that reason I feel bad about writing such a negative review but it has to be said.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NatalieWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

What a truly perfect place to spend our honeymoon! The staff were so warm and friendly and couldn't do enough for us, but it was the extra special touches that made it absolutely wonderful. The food was of a very high standard. The view from our balcony was really spectacular and Ravello itself is such a very pretty and restful place. An experience that we'll never forget. Awesome!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I spent nights at Hotel Bonadies in mid-April, booking a terrace-view room after reading TripAdvisor reviews. Rosella working the front desk was incredibly helpful and friendly. It was an easy walk to downtown Ravello and the valet parking was free, and necessary in Ravello, even in April. The hotel restaurant is incredibly big space, I presume they hold wedding receptions there, and looked incredibly empty each night. The free wireless was spotty, tough to get a consistent connection. My biggest complaint was the pool, located immediately below our balcony. It doesn't say that the pool is "seasonal" on their site, but I knew it may not be heated or ready this time of year. To let it get to the disgusting-looking condition that it now was in though was pretty bad. We walked 30 minutes over to Scala for dinner one night. The road doesn't offer much of a shoulder, but traffic was attentive. Dining in Scala was a more-authentic experience compared to Ravello and I wished we've had instead stayed at one of the cheaper hotels in Scala.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miamiredhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We have now stayed at the Hotel Bonadies 3 times in 2 years. The Hotel is set within the mountain side giving fantastic views of the Amalfi Coast. Each room is different and very comfortable and clean. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Very good english. You are always made very welcomed. The hotel is situated in a great position for a very short walk into the main Ravello piazza. The bus stop for visits to towns along the coastline is 200 yards away. You can reach Amalfi, Positano, Salerno and Sorrento. We would recommend anyone to stay here. Each visit has been most lovely. We will be back!!! Cocco & Mortlock England

Room Tip: Every room we have been in has been lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoccoCocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Travelling to the Amalfi Coast in January means that it is lovely and quiet and also means you can get the best rooms in hotels. Bonadies was almost empty at this time of year so we got a beautiful room on their huge terrace with a view of the coast. The other side of the hotel faces onto a road and there is a petrol station right below it.

Their rooms are a good size, very clean and nicely air conditioned. The shower was also great (really good water pressure). We didn't try the hotel restaurant but they were happy to provide recommendations to other hotels in Ravello.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

At the end of September I took a group of twenty friends on a trip down the coast to Reggo Calabria and over to Sicily. We hired our own bus with driver. The Bonadies was our third hotel. I had been there on another occasion, several years previous, and the hotel did not disappoint. It had splendid views over the Bay and excellent food. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.2 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#9 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonadies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonadies

Property: Hotel Bonadies
Address: Piazza Fontana Moresca 5, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ravello
#8 Family Hotel in Ravello
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonadies 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1880 Hotel Bonadies has been providing wonderful hospitality in Ravello, one of the most panoramic spots of the Amalfi Coast. Enjoy comfortable rooms, a warm welcoming and good food. Hotel Bonadies offers an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi area, where you can enjoy the beautiful sea view. The establishment also offers Shiatsu and relaxing massages. All rooms are elegant and refined. Different types of rooms are available, and each with a different, yet amazing view of the sea or the mountains. The real treat while at Hotel Bonadies is the exquisite food. Many couples choose this hotel to get married in in style. All dishes are prepared only with the freshest ingredients and following traditional Mediterranean and regional recipes. Most ingredients and products come from the establishment's La Rotonda gardens, open for visits. During this visit you will be able to pick the precious Limoni Sfusati (a local variety of lemons) used in many of the hotel's menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bonadies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonadies Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing