We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total Disappointment - Just faded grandeur”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bonadies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bonadies
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
southport
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Total Disappointment - Just faded grandeur”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Having visited Ravello on 2 occasions in 1998/99 we had always planned to return and our aim was to stay at the Bonadies. I can only assume that once allocated 4 star status, they just let standards plummet. The rooms are so basic, the public areas are dirty and there seems to be no care or attention paid to any of the problems that are so evident to guests. The hotel owners obviously rely on long term returning Italian guests who seem quite satisfied with the low standards. The only saving grace for this hotel is the team of staff on Reception, housekeeping and the wonderful dining room staff who make guests feel so welcome. Marcelo the maitre di runs an excellent dining room team and is wasted in such a shoddy establishment. The food service is excellent but the food is poor.

if you don't mind tatty chairs in the dining room, dirty cloths on the tables at breakfast time, and overloaded ashtrays on the tables at the front of the hotel, again with grubby tablecloths, then this is the place for you.

They don't deserve 4 star status and need to seriously consider refurbishment in many parts of the hotel. It may well have been a place of grandeur some 50 years ago but alas no longer, and nobody seems to care.

We paid extra for a room with front sea view and it was so basic, bordering on primitive. We didn't expect such low standards in a hotel with such a good reputation. The room was situated just 10 foot or so above the main road and the traffic noise made sleep impossible.

All in all, Ravello itself has certainly lost its allure and, considering visitors have to pay a local tax per night per star of the hotel, perhaps the community should think more about cleaning up the streets. Even in the bars in the Piazza Duomo it was impossible to find a table with a clean tablecloth. The bar owners must assume that visitors have no expectations of good standards. We have in the past recommended Ravello to many people but will not be doing so in future.

Room Tip: Give it a miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cleonile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    87
    35
    27
    15
See reviews for
60
185
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Bonadies for four nights in August. The staff were helpful and friendly, on reception and in the restaurant. The meals were good, not amazing but good. You do have to get to breakfast early to ensure you have the widest choice. Our room was air conditioned and comfortable but the most special thing about this hotel was the amazing view from our balcony. It was breathtaking. If you book this hotel, be sure to request a mountain and sea view. The hotel is well located for the market square, just a few minutes walk away. Here there are a number of cafes which serve lovely food and drink and it is a beautiful setting to relax and watch the world go by. Or you can stroll around the small shops to find your mementos to take home. The hotel is a great base to stay and you will enjoy a relaxed break in a beautiful part of Italy.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Bonardies. We found the accomodation good, clean and well appointed. Our bathroom had a jacuzzi shower, our room a small private terrace leading onto a larger one with a whirlpool, and the views were breathtaking. Housekeeping was excellent and totally unobtrusive.The food was extremely good - our thanks to Gerardo the chef, and the service extremely friendly and efficient due to the charming Marcello (Head Waiter) and his lovely team. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was also good, served by a lovely lady whose name I omitted enquire, but with whom my husband was totally smitten! It was a good continental breakfast, with fresh fruit, pastries, cheese and ham. served in a lovely sunny area of the dining room which overlooks the sea. All in all the holiday was lovely - a fantastic location, far enough away from the centre of town to be quiet and private, but within five minutes walk of the Duomo, central piazza and the Gardens of Ravello. In my mind a hotel achieves four stars by providing good quality accomodation, food and service, and having the additional facilities required to provide that little extra luxury, which distinguishes it from a three star establishment. The Bonardies fits the description PLUS the added bonus of having the owner around to keep a tight grip on the helm, which you most certainly don't get in many other four star, or even five star hotels. The level of friendliness (the staff put up with my awful attempts to speak a little italian) and the fact that there is always someone around to provide information or assistance is something that is missing in many other four and five star hotels. Give it a go! It's a really old building, which stretches back to the 1200s and if you take the opportunity to explore it, it holds some hidden gems.

Room Tip: You really have to ask for a coastal view - it's amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staffordshire-lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I and two other couples booked the Bonadies through Citalia and stayed there in May 2012. We knew Ravello, and indeed the Amalfi coast, from previous visits and were not disappointed. This is a wonderful, if expensive, part of Italy.

The Hotel Bonadies is situated wonderfully at the top of Ravello with magnificent, breathtaking views over the Amalfi coast, 600 feet below, out to Salerno and the southern Mediterranean.

The staff were charming and friendly. We had to pay a recently-imposed tourist tax which was annoying but not the hotel's fault - Italy is broke so, like Greece, it is getting other people to give it money.

The hotel is definitely not a four-star hotel. You expect a certain standard when you book four-star and this is not it. The situation, overlooking the Med., is five-star but the rooms are 3 star at best and the food hovers between 2 and 3 depending on which night you eat at the hotel.

The problem that the Bonadies has is that it is difficult to attract diners in the evening because there is the fantastic Cumpo Cosimo, run by Mama Nette and her family just down the street, the high-class Villa Maria which does wonderful lunches and dinners about a 10-minute walk away and a host of excellent restaurants and hotels just a short distance away.

Although we had paid for an evening meal we only ate there twice because the standard is just not up to scratch. Breakfast was a hit-and-miss affair with sometimes no bowls or spoons available although our waitress, Cinzia, was delightful. We also changed rooms as our bathroom shower was old and rusty - in fact, the whole hotel looks a bit tired.

The owners are probably caught between having to invest a lot of money in order to compete and balancing the books every season.

There are elements of the hotel which are charming and the staff did their best to make our stay there relaxed and enjoyable. They need to be supported with some solid investment. So you may well enjoy your stay at the Bonadies but don't expect 4-star accommodation or food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Med - all have small balconies and the views are extraordinary. But c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We found this hotel utterly charming. Our stay for two weeks in April was memorable with excellent service. We found the food to be good to excellent and had dinner there every night. We have stayed in many hotels around this area and when we return, our first choice will be Bonadies.

Room Tip: Panoramic view from the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We went on our honeymoon in Ravello and stayed the first night in the old, over-priced 5 star hotel. We discovered Bonadies the next morning and fell in love with this place on the spot. We were greeted by the owner who runs this family-owned hotel following his father's and grandfather's steps. After a private tour to the beautiful restaurant with a terrace, all the 3 terraces (one of which offers a 360-degree view of the sea, Ravello and Scala- the city on the opposite side), we were invited to see a Junior suite. Recently renovated (the hotel looks like brand new even though it is over 100 years old), the room had air conditioner (the other place didn't!), balcony overlooking breathtaking views of the coast the town of Minera, beautifully arranged furniture and brand new appliences in the bathroom. The hotel also had a large outdoor pool.

What was really amazing is the rate was twice less as the other place. We moved to Bonadies immediately. The lever personal attention we received (home-made marmelade from the owner delivered to us for breakfast to enjoy it with freshly baked croisants), amazing food we had for dinner in Bonadies' restaurant (you have to try their home made pasta - out of this world!) and the convenience as we walked from our hotel to every place we wanted in Ravello made it the place to come back when we have children.

Bonadies should be rated 5 stars as it delivers the service and quality of that level.

Lastly, I was amazed that the owner organizes special trips for low-income families from Brooklyn to stay in Bonadies and enjoy the beauty of Ravello with tours, dinners and more.

Truly a wonderful experience and I highly recommend it for both couples who want to have a romantic get away and families that want great experience at great price.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the very right so that you have your own balcony and can see the view without getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Went for a set lunch with an organised trip (13 euros) The starter was a tiny and rather old looking salad. I then had fish, which was very nice, but a very small helping with about six chips. My husband chose the cheese pan-cake, which he said was tasty but so small, it was hardly worth getting the plate dirty. The pancake came with nothing at all. The pudding was a greasy mound of artificial cream with pieces of cake, which we did not eat. Oh yes, a glass of wine was thrown in (almost literally, as the service was surly) Very disappointing !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.2 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#14 of 21 in Ravello
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW PREMIER Collection
0.0 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#7 of 21 in Ravello
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonadies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonadies

Property: Hotel Bonadies
Address: Piazza Fontana Moresca 5, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ravello
#8 Family Hotel in Ravello
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonadies 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1880 Hotel Bonadies has been providing wonderful hospitality in Ravello, one of the most panoramic spots of the Amalfi Coast. Enjoy comfortable rooms, a warm welcoming and good food. Hotel Bonadies offers an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi area, where you can enjoy the beautiful sea view. The establishment also offers Shiatsu and relaxing massages. All rooms are elegant and refined. Different types of rooms are available, and each with a different, yet amazing view of the sea or the mountains. The real treat while at Hotel Bonadies is the exquisite food. Many couples choose this hotel to get married in in style. All dishes are prepared only with the freshest ingredients and following traditional Mediterranean and regional recipes. Most ingredients and products come from the establishment's La Rotonda gardens, open for visits. During this visit you will be able to pick the precious Limoni Sfusati (a local variety of lemons) used in many of the hotel's menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bonadies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonadies Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing