We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced hotel, but very bare bones, more like a backpackers Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Garden
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We made our reservations 9 months in advanced and asked for the best room. Received the worse room ,. The management was unresponsive. Would rate this as a 2 star if that is a rating. Our . balcony overlooked a roof, under the very noisy restaurant above. Accommodations were very hard , uncomfortable beds ( double only) we had better accommodations at the a backpacker inn in Lucerne ( would recommend that for the money) . Concierge is non existent . The wine list is bad and over expensive for the quality. Did have a couple of nice dinners at the restaurant. Overall would not recommend. Better to pay a little more for comfort and good management.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JBuffingtonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We visit every year and each year is better than the next. The view for lunch is breathtaking
and the food is outstanding.
The hotel rooms are comfortable and quiet for sleeping and to awake to see the view...
we enjoyed the new pool and the view...
Thank you to the hotel management and the staff... Very professional and accommodating..
See you in 2014

Room Tip: all rooms have the beautiful view and there is an elevator to help you with the luggage..also the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for the days prior to our wedding celebration and were delighted with the whole place. The recepcion is warm and cozy with an amazing view of the sea and the hills. Everything is immaculately clean and even the floors look like mirrors.
Our room was number 10: a double with a big bed and the same spectacular view you could enjoy from the reception and terrace. It had sufficient storage space for clothes and a HUGE bathroom provided with toiletries and really soft towels.
The staff was polite and attentive and took care of everything, including delivering my husband iron pressed suit and shirt for the very same day of the wedding.
Due to all the wedding preparations we did not get to enjoy the newly inaugurated swimming pool but I must say it looked beautiful.
The only thing I would like to see improved upon future visits is breakfast. It had lots of sweets and abundant coffee/tea but it would be nice to see some more fruit and chees and ham.

Room Tip: I read people complain about noises from the restaurante but I can say that our room was completely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mechka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Even more tghan the room and the view, we really appreciated the excellent service we received here. Anna was amazing. I had asked about transport from Naples airport, and despite problems with my internet which made it difficult for her to contact me, a charmimg taxi driver, Stefano, was waiting patiently for us when we landed.
Anna was kind enough to help us with arranging a trip to Pompeii too. She just made everything happen easily.
We had booked a room with a partial sea view, but when we arrived we found we had been allocated a room with a full sea view, which was amazing. The room was clean, comfortable and convenient. We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night, and it was delightful. The breakfasts were relaxed and offered a wide variety of options. We wished we had packed our swimming togs to enjoy the lovely pool.
This was our first visit to the Amalfi Coast, and while many may say Ravello is quiet, we found it a wonderful base, as the bus connection to Amalfi and Positano is easy and affordable. It was great to be able to access the bustle of the larger towns, but have the opportunity to have quiet time to appreciate the views away from the tourist frenzy. What I liked particularly was how friendly the local people were. I visited the town square very early in the morning, while the shopkeepers were still opening up, and they were friendly and welcoming. The evenings in the square had a lovely atmosphere too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

What can I say? This place was recommended by the locals, it was spot on with everything, even a complimentary bottle of local wine upon departure, a special thanks to Pascal who told us about it. We will definately be returning to Ravello thanks to the great customer service and the best octopus salad!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyeloveitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

If you have trouble with steps do not book at this hotel. Their website lists a lift/elevator but the lift does not begin until after a long flight of steps. Having said that the staff was very helpful in assisting us with the steps, getting our luggage to the room and parking the car. We do not expect soft beds in Italy but these were very uncomfortable and narrow. On the plus side we had a balcony with a spectacular view of the distance sea and coastline. If you are going to be on the Amalfi Coast only once Ravello is probably not the best place to stay. This was our second trip to the Amalfi Coast and we had specific reasons for wanting to stay in Ravello.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent 7 nights at the Hotel Ristorante Garden in Ravello. First, Ravello is a perfect village from which to explore the Amalfi coast. Easy access to buses in to Amalfi and ferries to Positano and Capri. Transit is simple and cheap.People exceptional. Take the transfer from Naples (airport/train) - avoid regional transportation to get to this area - busy and milk run. Local buses, however to Amalfi very easy to access and good - fun too.
The hotel itself is perfectly located right below the bus stop and entry to Ravello. But, the view (captured from our balcony and not really representative of how special it is) from your room is staggeringly great. You are perched on the side of the mountain with the Mediterranean approximately 2800 feet below! Room was small but adequate for our long stay. Staff very accommodating and friendly. English not a problem, if you're worried.
Food at restaurant was excellent - I had a plate of scampi and shrimp that should have read small lobsters and scampi or something that better represented how large these seafood guys were - huge and flavourful in mint sauce.
Suggestions - do eat at the restaurant, walk to Amalfi but certainly not back, try and catch a concert at Villa Rufolo.
Only thing that was inconsistent with the overall time there was check out. Somewhat haphazard as it was left to the young man who was serving our breakfast (which is good by the way). Not a criticism of him at all. I just think it would have been better if one of the very nice women who helped us throughout were there, is all. Small point.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuffsWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#14 of 21 in Ravello
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Moresca
Hotel La Moresca
#9 of 21 in Ravello
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#10 of 21 in Ravello
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Garden

Address: Via Boccaccio, 4 | 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ravello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £96 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Garden Hotel
Ristorante Garden Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing