We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than the reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ristorante Garden
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
159 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Better than the reviews!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Sensational location and views. Under Anna's management the place is immaculate. The restaurant is a bit run of the mill but adequate. In Ravello this hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    67
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
47
139
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

The hotel is in a great location It's a mum/pop motel in my opinion. All the rooms are the same - no upgrades available. The staff was ok and nice. However, I did not enjoy sharing my room with little bugs and ants. I can accept the fact the tv has no english channels, less than desirable ac unit and a unclean balcony. But, a CLEAN room with no bugs is a must for me.

I did dine at the restaurant for dinner and thought it was very good.

I checked out the next day and moved down to Hotel Graal the next day in a superior room - awesome but it did cost more :) I will thank the staff for letting me get out of the reservation.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

The hotel has about 10 rooms and these rooms are directly under the restaurant. The floor of restaurant is tile. When someone moves their chair, it makes the squiky noise and you can hear it in your room. I believe you can hear the noises from rooms #1 to 7 during breakfast, lunch and dinner.

We also had trouble with the safety box. We couldnt figure out how to use it by using the pin number so we had to ask her for the key which she was ok with it.

The AC system has no remote. It will only blow in the default direction. You cant rotate it.

One more thing the TV is about 13 inches with no english channel.

The location of the hotel was great. We took the bus from amalfi and it stops infront of the hotel (right before the tunnel). The bus ride was $2euro per person and takes about 30mins.

Dinner was good. The potatoes (kinda like seasoned potatoe wedges) was a side that came with my dishes. There wasnt much selection for breakfast. And the service for breakfast was horrible. The guy didnt even come to ask if we wanted coffee.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahfun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york state
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

The first thing that delighted us was that the bus to Ravello stops right at the entrance to the hotel. Really nice when you have bags and are tired. You walk down some steps by the restaurant that has rooms inside and out overlooking the wonderful Amalfi coast.
I think they have about 10 rooms, all with spectacular views of the coast. the rooms are very clean and comfortable. And reasonable considering each room has its own balcony that you can sit down at with a small table. The first morning we woke up to sun shining on our bed and a view of the coast right from the bed.
We have no idea of what some other people saw that made them think their room wasn't all that great. We had a choice of rooms and all were very nice. The bathroom had a great shower- you don't always get this in Italy- and robes and big, nice towels.
The people runnning the family hotel are very nice and helpful. They prepare items for breakfast that are very good. It is not an American breakfast- we don't look for that in Italy- but the breads and croissants are excellent. They will make toast with the bread you choose and they make excellent cappuccino or American coffee.
The staff, day or night, really care about your comfort. We needed something one night and the person on duty was at our door in minutes. And Anna was the perfect person to run a hotel. She is warm, smart and very helpful.
This hotel has everything going for it as far as we can see. We look forward to staying there again in the summer.
Ravello is small. So it is a nice short walk to get to the main part of the town. We stayed at this hotel for five days so we were really hoping it would be good. It surpassed all our expectations. We had had some concerns due to some reveiws. But we saw not the slightest evidence of whatever a few others saw.
One other thing- it rained at times and it didn't bother us at all because we simply got some fine food and wine and were very happy to sit on our balcony viewing the beautiful coast.
Highly recommeded from our experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

I have never before written a review on-line but I was so appalled at how my family and I were treated by the staff of the Garden hotel restaurant that I felt compelled to write this. I can forgive the numerous mistakes such as forgetting the wine, getting the starter wrong, serving my sister a cooked, but cold steak (twice, again after she had asked for it to be hot!) but to see the waiter storm off and in complete view usher expletives about us to his fellow staff members was shocking and very uncomfortable. He did not once attend to our table again that evening which was fine considering we did not have much of an apetite for desert after that. However, we very surprised to see a 15% service charge on the bill at the end of the night. When my sister approached the Manager to query the validity of this charge she was told in quite a nasty tone that she has too many problems and was making mistakes with her courses all night!!. How my sister could choose to get the wrong starter she asked for and sit patiently as we devoured our main courses while she waited (twice) for her cold steak to arrive, is beyond me. After paying the bill (including the service charge) we felt not only taken for granted but humiliated. The waiter cheerily grinned at us and the Manager then walked off in mid-conversation. People make mistakes, and they can correct them and that's perfectly fine, but as paying customers trying to enjoy the last evening of our holiday together, it is completely unprofessional to be treated in such a rude and disrespectful manner.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank Monica1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

We held our wedding reception at the Hotel Garden on 27th September 08, organised by Alessandra from the Book of Dreams.

We cannot say enough good things about the Hotel Garden. The staff were so friendly and professional and put us at ease the minute we met them.

The views from the Hotel are spectacular and provided a lovely back drop for some of our photos.

We had a small number at our wedding reception and the staff at the Hotel ensured that it was private and intimate. I had brought my own candles and jewels etc for the table, and i was really pleased at how nice it had been decorated and how beautiful the fresh flowers on table were, (these were provided at no extra cost).

We started out with canapes which were beautiful followed by a five course meal, and the food was outstanding. The wedding cake provided by the hotel was also to die for.

I would highly recommend the Hotel Garden in a heart beat and hope to return next year for some beautiful food and wine, for our wedding anniversary.

  • Liked — The food and the views
  • Disliked — I did not dislike anything
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dreamer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

Very pleasant and helpful staff. Cozy, clean room, with fantastic view. Room is a bit small but large glass doors out to balcony gives impression of space. Some noise from dining area overhead, but not late. The only sound you might hear in the night is the bell from a small chapel down the hill ! Nice breakfast (fruits, homemade cakes, great coffee) with a smile and breathtaking views out to the sea and the coast. Very easy access - this is a plus in Ravello. Convenient bus to Amalfi (we hate buses but this was perfect). Take a boat from Amalfi port to secluded beach for lunch - look for small sign along port with phone number. We also enjoyed the hike down the steps and alleys to the beach of Minori - need to be fit.

The ristorante at the Garden is absolutely fantastic - make sure you reserve.

Given choice of hotels in this area, this is a great value - we have spent four weeks in the region in the last four years so we've had our mix of experiences.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotravellerParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#7 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#5 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Garden

Property: Hotel Ristorante Garden
Address: Via Boccaccio, 4 | 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ravello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#12 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Garden Hotel
Ristorante Garden Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing