We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant with a few rooms for rent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Garden
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Albergo Ristorante Garden for three nights in July. Ana was fantastic. The view from our balcony was simply breathtaking. Also, the location of this "hotel," if you are visiting Ravello, cannot be beat. It is steps away from the heart of this delightful and indescribably charming village, including Cumpa Cosimo restaurant, which canNOT be missed if visiting the area. So that was spectacular. The staff is friendly (when they are around): we even sat and watched one of the final matches of the soccer world cup with them, and the restaurant serves delicious food. The ravioli in lemon sauce, spectacular, as was a filet of beef with arugula dish.

Now, this is a restaurant that happens to rent out a few rooms during the summer months. It is really, absolutely, not a hotel in any true sense, and potential guests should know this. The towels are just slightly larger cloth dish towels, which I had not seen in Europe in years. The room and bathroom were definitely on the musty side. Breakfast was the smallest we saw in all of the five medium-priced hotels we stayed in in Italy on this particular trip. And as a fellow reviewer said, the coffee was very sad, and it was the only poor-tasting coffee I had in all of Italy. Also, the staff is very rarely present/available for guest needs. They really are running a restaurant in the evenings, period, and tend to forget that there is a "hotel" component to their business. So that was disappointing.

Ravello is a breathtaking town, and the location of this "hotel," again, would be very difficult to beat. So for the money, it was alright and we didn't have many bones to pick during our actual stay. However, we were certainly not impressed either. They mean well, but are just not actively invested in making this a worthwhile hotel.

Also, please do not rely on the Sita bus system for moving around the Amalfi coast (Amalfi, Sorrento, etc.); it was totally unreliable and a significant problem when planning day trips from Ravello. Perhaps day trips from Ravello was a mistake in our planning ... only go to Ravello if you intend to spend your time there, THERE, and it is certainly worth it! :) Just a warning re: Sita buses. Happy travels ... !

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SandraFalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Garden at the end of June this year and thought it was great. The location is just moments away from the centre of town and with the most FANTASTIC views! The staff were very friendly especially Anna who replied to our emails. We specifically asked for a good room when we wrote to the hotel making our reservation and requested a balcony so we were not disappointed. The little balcony had a table and 2 chairs and the most breathtaking view - worth 5*! The room itself had air con (essential as it was very hot and humid), a separate hallway and spacious bathroom.

My only comment was that the furniture in the bedroom was fairly basic and tired looking but not an issue given the excellent value for money and the bed was very comfortable. Also the buffet breakfast was fairly basic but sufficient - not the sumptuous affair you get in some hotels. It was more than we got with some other hotels on the Amalfi so maybe its just typical of the area.

The highlight of the hotel was the restaurant where we had the most fantastic lunch. The quality and presentation of the food was memorable with dishes such as ravioli filled with prawns in a rich lemon sauce - delicious! We would definitely stay there again if we were to return to Ravello and would recommend it for friends and family if they are looking for simple but quality accomodation in the heart of Ravello.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Missy_Izzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2006

We held our Wedding Reception at The Hotel Ristorante Garden at the begining of September and we couldn't have picked a better venue. Right from the start they were helpful and friendly and did exactly what we requested. The food at the reception was some of the best food we have ever had and the service was fantastic. They made our Wedding Reception so special and I would recommend anyone to stay here or hold their reception here or even just have a meal here!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
3  Thank weddingamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Paris
16
Reviewed 18 July 2006

Beware : this is not a place for people who expect perfect romantic experience. (which is what Ravello is for, right?) It is an ok but expensive place for backpackers who are tired of sleeping in a tent, and who don't care if the hotel is actually dirtier than their own tent, as long as the view from the patio is fantastic, as is from the room (though it seems it ain't always the case, according to another review. Plus, the view is the same from the road...)

If you don't care for dirty carpets who have never seen a vacuum cleaner, for floors that show hairy traces of former people in the room, for dead leaves covering the patio all day long, for smelly and abandoned bushes from your personal balcony, then go ahead!
The hotel taker is friendly, but just does not share the cleanliness criteria that regular tourists have when they pay 110 EUR a night. Even after asking to reclean the room when entering it, years-old dust kept lying under the bed. (Jackie-O's, maybe?)

The breakfast "croissants" or "cornettos" are to be avoided, (not fresh is way too polite) as is the coffee, which is unbelievable in Italy. For that price, and without a pool, it is really not the best value around.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2006

I was very pleased to find such a simple and wonderfull hotel at the same time. Walk out of the hotel for ice cream at the piazza with the merry go round and the church was beautifull. The staff very friendly ( thank you cristina), the restaurant with great food and wine ( thank for the wine list! ) It seems like a entire family is working there. You can see the stage for the Ravelo Festival from the terrace and it is so near that in 3 minutes you are sitting to listen to great music.

Stayed: June 2006
4  Thank Vicky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
217
Reviewed 23 June 2006

This hotel promises much - it is situated within yards of the town square, with a simply stunning view over to the hills and the sea. Had we been given a minimally acceptable room, the place would have garnered its 4 stars easily.

But the room we were given was at the end of a long corridor. It had the following defects :-

1) The interior (especially the bathroom) smelt very strongly of mould.
2) The balcony smelt of urine.
3) There were various places in the room where damp had caused the plaser to blister and discolour.
4) The towels were paper thin.
5) The promised view was 80% blocked by what looked like a small concrete bunker (with rusty wire strands poking out the top).
6) The place was not very clean generally. There was a dirty table and an ashtray full of cigarette butts on the balcony.

Everyone was very friendly and helpful, but the basic standard of the accommodation simply wasn't good. The place needs a bit of a revamp - I can only assume the Jackie Kennedy stayed in the suite!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Mount Juliet, TN
19
Reviewed 26 October 2005

One of the best stays of our 10 destination tour - we drove 2700 miles. The Hotel Ristorante Garden has a great view, walking distance to centro and village shops. Anna was a great help with suggestions and parking issues, her english is excellant. Our room was very comfy, food was excellant - everything was just great. We would recommend this lovely place to all - for the value, also, for the service, atmosphere and location. The Ristorante Garden was a recommendation to us - and we just loved it.
There was one problem and that was no heat. I don't know exactly why but we were told that somehow the heat was controlled by someone and we should have heat the next night but we never did have any heat. i had an extra blanket but I felt that heat should have been available. We found this to be the case at two other places that we stayed at. We stayed in Italy the end of Sept. to Oct. 19. It may be that it was unusually cold and that heat is not usually necessary in Oct., I don't know. Also I found that the bathroom was kind-of-tacky, mold and tiles not finished off. The view as to die for, the town was lovely, Anna was great so probably for the price it was a good selection.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#3 of 21 in Ravello
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Garden

Address: Via Boccaccio, 4 | 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ravello
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#12 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £104 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Garden Hotel
Ristorante Garden Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing