We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Class is Worth It’s Weight In Gold

This was by far the best cooking class we have taken our entire lives. Truely highlights local... read more

Reviewed 10 February 2019
LindsayE884
,
Chicago, Illinois
via mobile
Incredible!

We were in Sorento with friends. They told us not to make plans for the next day. Into a van we... read more

Reviewed 5 February 2019
Caveman36
,
Windsor, California
via mobile
Read all 436 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ravello
from US$43.89
More Info
from US$86.62
More Info
from US$13.28
More Info
from US$51.97
More Info
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
426
5
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
5
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lemon cake cooking school her daughter the kitchen hidden treasure homemade wine at home eggplant parmigiana highlight of our trip other guests amalfi coast italian food red wine wonderful food moment you arrive tips and tricks learned how
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Me and my wife spent a wonderful day with Mamma Agata and Chiara. Of course one should not expect too much of the cooking class which lasts only a few hours. Most of the tips are well known to anyone who takes cooking seriously. So it is more an experience and fun and as such worthwhile. Wether is is worth 200 euros is for everyone to judge. We felt it was. And beside Mamma Agata that is even more thanks to her wonderful daughter Chiara who is just an amazing person, who immediately makes you feel you have been good friends for ever.

Date of experience: October 2011
4  Thank Foodlover83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This review is severely delayed (Sept 2010 was our trip), but I hope that it can still do justice to Mamma Agata and provide good info to travellers!

1) Class: Mamma Agata and her wonderful daughter Chiara are what really makes this class shine. They are a great team. Mamma Agata cooks and speaks in Italian; Chiara translates and answers questions. It's seamless. There were approximately 12 people in our class, a comfortable number so you always feel included, but don't have to be very social if you are the quieter type. Please understand that there are NO individual cooking stations - everyone can help prepare the food and taste the ingredients, but the main cooking is done by Mamma Agata herself.

2) Food: Oh where to begin. It starts with the delicious lemoncake and a cappucino, and then explodes into 7 (maybe 8?) courses of food, topped off with 2 types of limoncello. That was the only meal we needed to eat that day. Please don't eat breakfast (since you'll get the lemoncake anyway).

3) Location: Mamma Agata's is located high up in Ravello. It is STUNNING. Both the kitchen and the dining table peer over the massive family garden (which you are free to explore) and onto the Amalfi Coast. This being said, the journey there is not easy. Our bus trip started at 630am: Nocelle --> Positano --> Amalfi --> Ravello. We arrived in Ravello at 10am and walked 15 minutes to Mamma Agata's from the main terminal. The trip back was even more painful (because of the bus schedules), but completely worth it.

*** If I had a do-over, I would have stayed one night in Ravello, just to spare one of the trip. However, if you are committed to just a daytrip, the 10:30am-3:30pm class still leaves enough time to see Villa Cimbrone and the main squares. The other option is a private driver, but that can be very costly.

Thank you Mamma Agata - we still use your recipes and have your aprons in our kitchen! You were the highlight of our trip!

Date of experience: September 2011
5  Thank hykwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The day my husband and I spent at The Hidden Treasure with Mamma Agata and her daughter, Chiara, is wonderfully seared into our memories forever. This is truly a unique experience for anyone who appreciates good food and good wine, all the while being surrounded by Italy's natural beauty. Chiara warmly greeted us and welcomed us to the family’s 250-year-old home that overlooks the sea. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home and part of this warm and loving family.

Your day begins on the family's terrace that commands one of the most expansive and beautiful views of the Amalfi Coast – with coffee and Mamma’s famous, delicious, lemon cake. The next few hours are spent in Mamma’s kitchen where Mamma & Chiara cook many different dishes to perfection. We watched, chopped, learned and tasted everything and had lots of laughs in between. Mamma’s recipes are traditional, using only the freshest ingredients and produce grown in the family’s very own garden, which translates into the best and most delicious food we have ever eaten. Let me not forget to mention that wine flows freely all day long and is made by Gennaro, a professional sommelier and Chiara’s husband. Sitting on the terrace, looking at the stunning Amalfi Coast, we feasted on the scrumptious food prepared throughout the day and drank fine wine as we listened to Chiara’s stories about Mamma Agata. The day ended as it began, eating Mamma’s delectable lemon cake.

A truly amazing and unforgettable day - the highlight of our trip!

Thank you, Mamma Agata & Chiara for an experience we will never forget. Your passion for family and cooking with love is always very evident. And thanks for the family goody bag!!

Date of experience: September 2011
6  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My wife and I spent a week on the Amalfi Coast and a week in Sicily. The Highlight of our trip was the day we spent with Mama Agata and her Family. Daughter Chiara is the Hostess, translator and made us feel so welcome to their home. We were joined by about 10 other people and Mama shared many of her favorite recipes and tips on how to prepare them.
After the classes we all sat down on the terrace to enjoy not only the great food and Gennero's (Chiara's husband) wine but the most magnificent view of the Amalfi Coast.
Don't eat a big breakfast so you can appreciate the feast!
Mama Agata's Cooking and Wine School is truly "A hidden treasure" You can enjoy her recipes through Mama's award winning cook book which we purchased on line.

My wife has successfully employed the tips and recipes and I am enjoying the results!

Date of experience: October 2011
2  Thank Jimbof5800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The class was informative and so much fun!! It was such a pleasure to actually be invited into Mamma Agata's home, meet her family, enjoy the beautiful setting and huddle around her while she cooks in her charming kitchen.

We also enjoyed meeting new people in our class who love good food and wine! It was definitely a highlight of our trip!!

Date of experience: October 2011
1  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews