We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Cooking Class Vincenzino
Ranked #3 of 4 Food & Drink in Ravello
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spend a very personal day with Chef Vincenzino in Ravello. After many years as chef/owner of a restaurant, he decided to run a cooking school from his home, enjoying the people who love food, and "eat it with the heart and not just the mouth!" You will start with a visit to the little food shops located in the historic alley of Ravello, strolling through the pedestrian road that crosses the village. Along with Vincenzino, who speaks perfect English, you will meet with the owners of the small shops and be shown how the local people choose their fish, special homemade pasta, vegetables, and local and national wines. Together, you will decide what to buy and cook for your lesson. Then it is on to Vincenzino's home, gloriously situated on a clifftop 350 meters above sea level. You will proceed with the hands-on preparation of your lunch, from the starters to the dessert, wine, water and coffee included. Weather permitting, lunch will be served on the terrace to enjoy the spectacular view of the Mediterranean. The day begins between 9-10am and ends after your meal in the afternoon. US$210. per person, minimum two people
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Vincenzino's cooking class was one of the best, if not the best part of our trip. We had a class of 3 couples and everyone was able to participate. Vincenzo did a wonderful job of making everyone feel comfortable. We learned how to cook a mediterranean meal including sea bass, clams, shrimp, pasta, peppers, eggplant, and zuchini. Simplicity was stressed, but when the meal was complete, the taste was incredible. We were also treated to tiramisu prepared by vincenzo. I think I could recreate all the dishes without any notes and still have it turn out excellent. The organic garden where we picked our spices was very impressive. The whole atmosphere was wonderful and I am so glad we did this. To top it off, just before our class was over, it began to rain. Instead of sending us on our way, Vincenzo brought two more bottles of wine out and told us to stay until the rain quit. After these two bottles and ~4 more!, the rain stopped. It was a perfect afternoon in Ravello, consisting of eating great food, drinking great wine, and having great conversation with an excellent chef.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank matt a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    1
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a great day.”
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

We had such a great time. From choosing the fish, to creating a delisious healthy lunch and eating it on Vincenzo's stunning balcony, with a view to die for. Then an amazing walk down to Amalfi which was just fantastic. What a great day.

Helpful?
18 Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Cooking with Vincenzino was one of the best parts of our trip to Italy. He is such a nice person and a very passionate Chef (and Photographer). Such a great way to spend your afternoon!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
25 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bravo vincenzo”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Terrific experience. Takes you shopping, teaches cooking techniques, and feeds you.
Superb.

Helpful?
20 Thank joeriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We loved our cooking class with Vincenzino. The best parts were:
- Good value for a private class, just my husband and myself and Vincenzino.
- Hands on cooking instead of a demonstration
- Warm, charming host/teacher
- Ability to completely customize your meal
- Stunning balcony where we enjoyed our lunch

We started with a visit to the fish market where we picked up anchovies, squid, and mussels. We'd never cooked with any of these before (my husband was especially wary of the anchovies), but were excited to learn how. The organic tomatoes, peppers, and zucchini are from Vincinzeno's garden, and we bought parsley and basil. We went back to Vincenzino's apartment where we learned to clean the fish, squid, and mussels and prepared the veggies. The techniques he showed us were incredibly simple, a little olive oil, garlic, herbs and vegetable stock and we were pretty much done. It was remarkable how flavorful the food was given so few ingredients. The class was very hands-on. He showed us how to do everything then we did it ourselves. We really preferred this to a demonstration class as we felt much more confident that we could replicate the techniques at home. Squeamish people who don't like the idea of gutting raw fish may not like this as much, but we loved it.

After cooking, we were led to a balcony to enjoy our lunch. The views were absolutely stunning and we cannot imagine a better setting for a meal on the entire Amalfi coast. Vincenzino is quite charming and warm, and was a marvelous host and teacher. He has a very relaxed, patient style, and the entire class and meal took about 5 hours from beginning to end (with the meal lasting about 3 hours). It really flew, and we were shocked to see the time when we left.

We ended up preparing anchovies marinated in lemon juice and sea salt with parsley and olive oil, on a bed of thin sliced red onions and tomatoes. This dish was a revelation, incredibly fresh and tasting of the sea, and without a trace of the fishy taste we normally associate with canned or jarred anchovies. We just tasted marinated anchovies at a restaurant in Positano a couple days before, but these were much more delicate and fresh, without the overpowering vinegar marinade of the restaurant. We next had mussels, sauteed in a bit of garlic and olive oil. These were incredibly tender and delicious, with the broth coming entirely from the mussels without adding any water/white wine/lemon juice. They were the best mussels we'd ever had, and I am a mussel lover and can't resist ordering it at most restaurants. We also had a vegetable linguini with peppers, tomatoes, and basil, and a calamari and zucchini dish. Both were very simple but very good. Vincenzino provided a lovely white wine and we finished with cake and coffee.

All in all, this was a wonderful experience and we cannot recommend it highly enough!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
27 Thank js06830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cooking Class Vincenzino also viewed

 

Been to Cooking Class Vincenzino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing