We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here At Last”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Here At Last”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We arrived in Ravello after driving eight hours from Cinque Terra, tired and a little queasy from the twists and turns along the Amalfi Coast. We couldn't imagine having to navigate the roads each time we wanted to venture out of the town and were wary upon entering the hotel. But the stunning view of the Mediterranean and the beauty of the flowers and fountain in the couryard, combined with the welcoming attitude of the staff, took hold. Antonio , the manager, quickly assured us that we could park the car for the rest of our stay and use buses and boats to get to all of our planned destinations. Over a wonderful glass of local wine, he plotted our itinerary and then proceeded to make all of the arrangements for the most wonderful five day stay in this quaint but sophisticated gem of a village one thousand feet high above the town of Amalfi.
Antonio checked with us daily and instructed us on every minute detail of travel. He made suggestions for hikes, restaurants, performances, and sites to see..all of them excellent. Our "room with a view" (E.M. Forrester frequented Ravello) was comfortable and well appointed. The restaurant served delicious dinners and the included breakfast of pastries, cheeses, yogurt, fruits and marmalades (check out the lemon) started the day on the right foot. We look forward to visiting again. Mille Grazie!

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockvilledocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    119
    27
    2
    4
See reviews for
100
372
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Just spent 8 nights at the Parsifal. It was my second stay after a year-and-a-half away and I'm happy
to say that things just keep getting better and better. It's more than the 5-star location with its stunning
view and the exceptional service offered by Antonio and his family. It's the simple aura of this hotel
that embraces you. The Parsifal has HEART. Lots of it. There's something unique to be found here that
few other hotels can begin to generate. Part of it is the fact that you're in a real 1288 A.D. convent, and even
though it continues to be upgraded, nothing feels manufactured. Its atmosphere is charming and it's staffed by sincerely people who care immensely about how you feel about your stay. It's more than good service, it's as if you're a visitor in their home. All of this combines for a peaceful synergy that touches every guest. You'll probably share this hotel with a more friendly group of fellow travelers than you're likely to find in any other hotel on the Amalfi Coast, maybe all of Italy. The Parsifal brightens spirits with its special magic in a way that posh hotels (charging 4 or 5 times as much) can never hope to do. In fact, it's the only hotel in Ravello that doesn't close down for the winter because there's less money to be made. They have regular guests who want to visit them all year round, so Antonio and his brothers wouldn't think of closing their doors. I do suggest you book early in the high season because the secret is out and the number of repeat guests keeps growing. The world now knows that The Parsifal is simply the best hotel deal in Ravello -- great location,
great staff, great food, great prices, and the biggest heart in town. Ciao, bella!

Room Tip: Room 29 would be my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bbaldwin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We booked their last available room after reading reviews on trip advisor and weren't disappointed. The food and service is excellent. The rooms are quite basic, but comfortable.They can also arrange hikes and anything else you fancy. We hiked into Amalfi and they arranged for a car to meet us with our bags..Great service!

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesn't face the road. There is some traffic noise in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Parsifal. Our room with a balcony had a view of the Coast which was as stunning as any place in Ravello. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was quiet and relaxed with wonderful preparation. We also were grateful for all of things that Antonio did for us -- even arranging to get a flat tire repaired.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony and a view of the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Having visited both Amalfi and Positano, we were relieved to have chosen to spend most of our Amalfi Coast holiday in Ravello – and even more pleased to have chosen Hotel Parsifal. Antonio, Leonardo, Rafael and Luciano made our four days feel just like home. We initially chose room 23, which is the one directly underneath the restaurant terrace with the iconic covered arch balcony and wonderful views. We liked this room even though it is a bit tired and small. After 2 nights we were offered room 29 in the refurbished section across the courtyard, and we loved it – large and airy with a big bathroom, proper shower, and tastefully decorated in handpainted red and blue ceramic tile.

But really, it wasn’t the rooms that made our stay so enjoyable – it was the great hospitality of Antonio and his brethren. Some days we had lunch on the terrace, with its wonderful views across the bay, some nights we stayed in watching football on SKY, and the rest of the time we spent exploring the pretty town. The other big name hotels on this street include the Caruso (Orient Express), Palazzo Sasso, and Palumbo – all with much the same aspect but costing around 4 times what an equally intimate and exclusive experience does at Parsifal (although admittedly not as posh).

Lunch on the terrace was always great (see photos); we tried the marinated anchovies, caprese salad, wild boar ham, spaghetti bolognese, veal in lemon sauce (multiple times) - and all were excellent. Even better with great wine, coffee, limoncello, and a side of Rafael’s witty banter. The only blip was a dinner at the restaurant – we both ordered steaks and they weren’t great. Plus, although fine for breakfast with the sun streaming in through the windows, the restaurant itself is not very pretty and feels a bit dingy in the evening. The terrace is much nicer for dining…

If you're staying on the Amalfi Coast, my advice is to base yourself here, get Antonio to hook you up with the effusive and knowledgeable Salvatore from Ravello Taxi for your Pompeii trip and airport transfers, have lunch at Villa Cimbrone - and for the rest of the time stay put here. Great place + great people = great holiday....

Room Tip: Go for either Room 23 if you want the best balcony and rustic setting, or Room 29 for a much better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnlisa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The superlative service and attention to detail, especially from Antonio, made a last-minute 24 hour trip to Ravello a highlight from the whole holiday. Not only does it represent relative good value, it is a superlative hotel and restaurant in its own right, and the view is absolutely incredible.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel Parsifal with my 8 month old daughter. Antonio was incredibly accommodating - I requested many changes of room/dates, etc and nothing was too much trouble. We received such a warm welcome on arrival, and Antonio went out of his way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I ordered room service from the restaurant the first night and the food was absolutely delicious. The pastries at breakfast were also beautiful, not to mention the stunning views. The hotel is located very close to the main square. The decor of the room was fairly standard, but it was immaculately maintained and very clean. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.7 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
726 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#7 of 21 in Ravello
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#16 of 21 in Ravello
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Property: Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Address: Viale Gioacchino d'Anna 5, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#2 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#5 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parsifal - Ancient convent built back in 1288 by the Augustinian friars and converted into Hotel Parsifal around 1948. 17 rooms with private bath and a central cloister with delightful terraces and gardens overlooking the superb panorama of the Amalfi coastline. Rafael's restaurant and Cloister Bar overlooking the Amalfi coast, offering classical and Mediterranean cuisine with a little touch of creativity. Traditional specialties from the region. Optimal indoor or outdoor seating 60 guest. A three star hotel run by the Mansi family from Ravello. Special winter packages with lodge, board and excursions from November to March. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsifal Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing