We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweetest and most welcoming hotel in Ravello.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2008

Antonio Mansi, the general manager of Hotel Parsifal, created such a warm, welcoming environment through his kindness to all of the guests, willingness to pitch in on all tasks around the hotel, and hiring of equally good-humored, attentive staff, that we never wanted to leave. He arranged for a driver to pick us up at the Naples airport (it is very hard to get to Ravello otherwise), and the taxi driver allowed us to spontaneously stop at Pompeii for two hours before we arrived at Ravello around 12:30. Mr. Mansi showed us three rooms to choose from and we picked the smallest but one with a tiny balcony with table and two chairs with a heavenly view of the coast (which we had reserved). We were served a delicious lunch before heading off to Ravello by foot. The dinners were better than those we had in Venice or Florence, breakfast was fine, and they have free internet and wireless so we could stay in touch with our daughter at home. Rooms are simply furnished but clean. All the guests seemed happy and pleased to be at this charming little hotel at a price ($185 which included breakfast and another meal) that seemed like a bargain, especially considering the glorious location and staff. They are doing lovely renovations which will make the property all the more inviting. Could not recommend it more highly and know we will return some day.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Karin1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2008

We stayed at Hotel Parsifal for 3 nights in early April 2008.
The hotel is a converted convent so don't expect Best Western. Parsifal is charming and full of character, what you would expect from a building with 800 years of history. The view from our room of the Amalfi coastline below was sensational. We stayed on half board which means breakfast and dinner was included in the tariff. Initially, I thought this might be a bit restrictive but in hindsight it was the best thing we could have done. The food was excellent and it was only a few steps to our room after an evening of fine amalfi wines and lemon cello.
Hotel Parsifal is a destination in itself but the owners go the extra distance to make your stay a friendly and comfortable one. Antonio and his family where excellent hosts and the hotel has a homely feel about it.
All their friends seem to think so too as it is somewhat of a meeting place after dinner to watch the Euro soccer on the big screen along with the quests. All very entertaining even if it is all in Italian. If you are looking for a reasonably priced family run hotel with great food and excellent service then Parsifal is for you!
David and Gail
Cairns Australia.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wallytheworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

Our stay at Hotel Parsifal was comfortable and was great value for our money. I would say it is above average for a 3 star hotel. We were upgraded to a room with a sea view at no additional cost. Travelling in the off season, has it's perks! It was cloudy and foggy the first day we arrived, but the following morning the sunshine & fantastic view of the Amalfi Coast from our room ensured us we were in for a relaxing weekend getaway.

Breakfast is included in your stay. A selection of cereal, croissants, fruit with jams, cheese, tomatoes & salted meats along with complimentary juice, tea or coffee. It's a simple selection, but enough to get you started for your day. Their breakfast area is located in a reasonable sized room with glass fronts giving you a wonderful view to look out

Tony, the hotel owner is very helpful if you have any questions on how to get around or where you would like to go. He runs the hotel with his two brothers, one who is a waiter & the other the chef. The food at Hotel Parsifal is delicious. One night we decided to stay in at the hotel and had a very hearty meal of lentil soup, aubergine parmigiana, veal, monkfish & a homemade cake for dessert. The portions were perfect and had a reasonable wine selection. You get the same view in the dining room as you did for breakfast, this time with the moon in view reflecting on the water, if you are lucky to have a clear night. We had lunch on our last day out on the terrace, also overlooking the coast. The sun was out and we couldn't resist the simple meal of ripe tomatoes with buffalo mozzarella & the homemade seafood pasta. It was a great way to end our stay

They have a bar and lounge area with a flat screen tv where you can relax and enjoy a nightcap after dinner. The choice of channels is quite scarce, all channels are in Italian and usually sports was being shown tv. There is a free internet service as well, along with some magazines guests can read out on the terrace if they wish.

The room was clean & the bed was comfortable. The washroom was a bit small, but also very clean. It's too bad the television channels did not offer any English programs, not even BBC or CNN, but I suppose when you are in Italy in such beautiful surroundings, it's a very small detail that I can overlook. Ask for the room with the sea view & small balcony. It was a simple pleasure, but I enjoyed looking out onto the Amalfi Coast every morning. That view alone was worth the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank K_GirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2008

Fantastic views from our adjoining rooms. A lovely and inviting hotel frequented by many locals. The price was very reasonable for the accommodations. The Mansi brothers are wonderful and attentive hosts. We will definitely return!

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank DaddyCash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2008

We just returned yesterday from our stay in Ravello, at the Hotel Parsifal, yet we feel "still at home" at the Hotel Parsifal, high in the mountains of Ravello, perched on the edge of heaven, high above the sea. This exquisite European hotel is a true find, a great location, a cut above.

I travelled to Ravello with my two teenage sons and my elder mother for spring break. We found the Hotel Parsifal online, and booked it for its historical significance as a convent dating back to the 1200s, and for its proximity to the heart of Ravello.

Before we even arrived, proprietor Antonio Mansi and his extended family made us welcome and helped arrange our travel details, such as hiring us a driver, galant Salvatore Pagano, and strategizing a side trip to Pompeii, en route to the Amalfi Coast.

When we arrived at the Hotel, I was instantly charmed by this small European hotel, quiet and lovely, homey and full of Light. My sons felt right at home, and I felt secure for them to explore the hotel and grounds, and to venture out into lovely Ravello for adventures without me. Hotel Parsifal is located close enough to the center of town, yet off on its own, unspoiled as Brigadoon.

We ate our first meal at the hotel, a delectable lunch of Cabrese Salad and a simple Pasta Pomodoro, even though the lunch hour had passed. We enjoyed our breakfasts each morning, and shared a lovely dinner our final evening in Ravello before moving on to Positano.

Many hotels claim to be "charming" or "family run," but this hotel made us feel that we were part of the Mansi family. I can't recommend it enough...but maybe I don't want to, because a gem like this goes into my "must return" file, and I don't want it to be so popular that I won't be able to come home to Ravello, at the Hotel Parsifal.

For the discerning traveler who seeks unspoiled authenticity, this is your hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SingularGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2007

We spent Thanksgiving in Ravello-with friends and also attended a beautiful wedding in Minori in the little village below-

Hotel Parsifal was a darling hotel that once was a convent built in 1288. The front entrance with beautiful flowerbeds filled with gorgeous colors was a very special welcome!!

Although the rooms are very stark and the bed was pretty hard and uncomfortable (seems to be Italy's standards) it was very clean and the views made up for lack of room decor-

All the staff were great and very friendly and spoke English-
Very nice breakfast (nothing fancy) First night we were tired and ate in the hotel and the food was good.

They were very accommodating of our little Yorkie and we appreciated that-

One of the reasons we love traveling Italy is that it is so "pet friendly"- even some of the finest ristorante's have allowed our little Yorkie to dine with us! It's great-

The location of the hotel was perfect~ a lovely walk into the main Piazza ~ in November some of the shops are closed for the season~ but no crowds!!! A very special place that we will certainly return too-

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ValGal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2007

After reading many reviews, my wife and I decided to stay in Ravello out of all the places in the Amalfi Coast. And it paid. Many people come to Ravello to spend the day. But it's at night, when you walk up and down its narrow alleys that you feel like two stray cats who own a beautiful medieval little town. The Parsifal hotel caught my eye because of the view and the fact that it was built in the XIII century. So this is what you have to expect when you come here. You'll be staying in rooms that once had nuns sleeping in them. The bathrooms are tiny, so are the rooms. Tourists expecting a Holiday Inn kind of room and a breakfast full of greasy fried pork, i guess you should pick somewhere else.
That said, enjoy Ravello for what it is, a stunning place. If you're fit, walk down the hill from Ravello all the way down to Amalfi, with all the lemon trees going by. Ravello is one of those special places. One night, after dinner (and wine) we even stumbled upon a piano and violin concert. We were unaware that the classical music festival had already begun, and that concert in a medieval palace was unforgettable.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frederico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.7 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.5 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#10 of 21 in Ravello
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#1 of 21 in Ravello
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Address: Viale Gioacchino d'Anna 5, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £81 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parsifal - Ancient convent built back in 1288 by the Augustinian friars and converted into Hotel Parsifal around 1948. 17 rooms with private bath and a central cloister with delightful terraces and gardens overlooking the superb panorama of the Amalfi coastline. Rafael's restaurant and Cloister Bar overlooking the Amalfi coast, offering classical and Mediterranean cuisine with a little touch of creativity. Traditional specialties from the region. Optimal indoor or outdoor seating 60 guest. A three star hotel run by the Mansi family from Ravello. Special winter packages with lodge, board and excursions from November to March. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsifal Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing