We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed impression”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

the hotel overall is very well located in the center of Ravello. The rooms are nice, you have an amazing view and the people working at the reception are very welcoming.
BUT overall I can't recommend the hotel because:

- the breakfast is a joke, even for Italians who don't eat a lot for breakfast - please bring in more variety, more fresh products and if not on a buffet give a menu with several food options
- the bath room is definitely several years old and should be renewed soon - i expect more for this hotel category
- the corridor to our room looked like in a random youth hostel with storage of old TV's, old read books unorganized etc. - just remove this crap.
- an absolute no go was the checkout from of our room where the hotel basically packed our stuff although when we are not there. We said we are checking out in time before 12 o'clock (we arrived back in the hotel at 11:30 and they packed our luggage next to the reception) - I never felt less welcome in a hotel - if they need the room early they could have asked us
- also not welcoming at all was when they said at the checkin: keep your passport here, when you leave keep the room keys here and we need your car keys - other hotels can handle that more elegant and a) make a copy of the passport immediately for the guest details b) tell guests when they lose the key it costs X EUR and c) explain why they need the car keys

Overall with a lot of small adjustments this hotel could be way better and I really hope for them they are reading this feedback and take that into account.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffenehrhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Direttore at Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback which we will take into account as we always do
since your opinion counts a lot for us and, some time, guest’s feedback is what make standards to be improved, implemented or even review.

We are obviously sorry for not having meet all your expectations and we do apologise for that, correct actions will be performed mainly with the housekeepers department where they totally fail with their task and once again we are sorry about it.

However, we do not agree with the remaining points that you have highlighted and that I would like to go more into details in order to offer a better and clearer information.

Breakfast:
Our room rate does include buffet breakfast, not English buffet breakfast neither American buffet breakfast. With our buffet breakfast we offer: 3 type of stewed fruit, boiled egg, natural and fruit yoghurts, 3 types of home made marmalade, fresh cheese, salami, 2 types of packed creamy cheeses, packed chocolate nutella, fresh fruit, sweet plum cake, salty plum cake, pancakes, a variety of cereals, honey, rusk bread, fresh sandwich loaf for bread toast and daily fresh baked bread loaf allowing the guest to slice his bread, at the table we serve fresh baked croissant and orange juice.

By the table where the fresh bread was you had a jag of fresh and cold water and right next to the jag you had, but unlikely missed view, our breakfast "à la carte menu" with over 20 items ready to be cooked or offered on request.

Check-in procedures
It is not at all our custom, neither we use to impose or state phrases without using please or asking it in a kindness way, even if sometime there my be a barrier language with our guest. Again, and unlikely, upon your check-in, the night shift was covered by someone who does get away with some English language.
We would never say “keep your passport here” or “keep the room key here
when you leave the room”.
We would ask to have your passport for registration procedures therefore, in your case, it would have been given it back to you in the morning since you had arrived late in the evening. We would ask to leave the room key mainly for safety and emergency purposes, having guest ‘room key on the key rack, it tells us that you are not in the room neither into the hotel therefore if an emergency, we are aware that you are not within the hotel. Strange enough, a travelled guest like you should know such things .....AND, surely, it has nothing to do with key cost if you lose it or what ever was your message regarding the key room.

We ask for the car key for parking meters proposes and for parking the car as near as possible to the hotel. Like you have said, explaining it, it would have helped but no attempt took place from neither side and this is the result that we have unfortunately achieved.

Never the less, thank you for kind your attention, we hope that on your next visit to Ravello you will still consider our hotel for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Antonio and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had our wedding reception on the terrace overlooking the beautiful Amalfi Coast. I can't say enough good things about the Antonio and his staff. They made a delicious five-course dinner complete with dessert and cake. We were a very small wedding party (only 14 people), but they treated us very well and were very, very accommodating in letting us have the courtyard for our cocktails and take pictures, as well as exclusive use of the terrace. Antonio also made a customized dinner for our gluten-free, vegan, vegetarian relative, which looked incredible and she said tasted great (evidenced by the fact that she ate every bite). The night before the wedding, we stopped by the hotel to see what it looked like and Antonio was very gracious in showing us where dinner would be held, and even offered us a drink. Not only is Ravello a spectacular place, but the Antonio and his staff exhibited superb hospitality and made our wedding dinner even more memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is a small, family-operated hotel.
Their prices, friendliness of management and staff (which is all family), their customer service, location, cleanliness.....are SUPERB!! And take this from me - I am a picky guest!! =)

We stayed there twice already! The second time we got there, as I proceeded to say we have a reservation, the owner/manager said: "I remember you, ma'am. You've stayed with us before!" =)
Well, it may be that I like fashion and I somewhat, at times, may stand out, but needless to say, we will be back! =)

Grazie Antonio!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. Some have the Med-view. =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissB12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

If you love Italy and the Italian way of life, then it's safe to say you'll be at home in the Parsifal. Ravello has some of the most stunningly beautiful vistas in the world, and the Parsifal has its share. Antonio Mansi and his brothers work hard to make one's visit a real holiday. With only 17 rooms, it's more like staying in their home. You could easily pay a lot more for what is on offer at the Parsifal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Parsifal and all of Ravello is simply beautiful -- the best images will be those left in your mind and felt in your heart for having taken time to visit this beautiful place. Antonio, Leonardo, and the entire staff are warm and welcoming. The view from our room and the restaurant was amazing and the food and service is excellent. If you plan to attend a performance in Villa Rufolo gardens, the Belvedere, or at the Oscar Niemeyer Center it is a perfect location; you can walk everywhere, people are friendly, and easy access to the bus for the Amalfi coast -- be sure to leave a whole day to walk Ravello and visit the gardens of Rufolo and Cimbrone, or the footpaths below.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lszuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Ravello is a special place and so is this hotel. This is mainly down to the owner and manager Antonio who appears to love being a hotelier and therefore runs a superb friendly small hotel.
The views are fantastic ,the food excellent ,the rooms cool and welcoming. You are a person not just a guest in this hotel and amid the expensive alternatives in Ravello it stands out on its own.The number of guests we met on repeat visits backs this up.
Five and a half stars !

Room Tip: A sea view plus balcony costs more but if cost is an issue there is a lovely terrace only metres awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholas40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We spent over a week sailing the Amafli Coast followed by a couple of days in Ravello, and Ravello was certainly the high point of the trip.

The Parsifal was an excellent hotel, with breath-taking views, and really wonderful service. It’s also worth mentioning that the food in the hotel is excellent (particularly the fish, the deserts not so much). Ravello is honestly the most beautiful place I’ve ever been, and the temptation was to try different restaurants, but we ate every meal in the hotel because the quality was so high.

The staff are particularly helpful and warm, and everything seems to happen incredibly quick and effortlessly smooth with just a small efficient team.

Mind you, my husband is an average sized guy, and the shower in our room was a tight squeeze, so you may need to bear that in mind.

My Top Tips – if you arrive at the hotel by car, don’t worry about paying for parking, when you go to check in the hotel staff will whisk your car away (though a charge will be added to your bill), alternatively you could move the car yourself to a strip of road outside the tunnel where it’s free. The food is excellent, and it’s well worth reserving a table at the front of the balcony. The two historic Villa’s in Ravello are really stunning and close at 8pm – be sure to pay them a visit (lovely photo locations). And Lastly, if money is no object, or for a very special occasion there are areas on the right of this map http://www.hotelolimpico.it/ravello/cartina_geografica_di_ravelloeng.htm (though I’m pretty sure that’s West as it’s the ocean side) that are far above the winding road below, and would be particularly spectacular (though I suspect it won’t come cheap) – the views from the Parsifal were amazing, but the road does go right under the balcony lessening the romance of the location a little bit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.7 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
0.2 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#10 of 21 in Ravello
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#14 of 21 in Ravello
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Address: Viale Gioacchino d'Anna 5, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#5 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £95 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parsifal - Ancient convent built back in 1288 by the Augustinian friars and converted into Hotel Parsifal around 1948. 17 rooms with private bath and a central cloister with delightful terraces and gardens overlooking the superb panorama of the Amalfi coastline. Rafael's restaurant and Cloister Bar overlooking the Amalfi coast, offering classical and Mediterranean cuisine with a little touch of creativity. Traditional specialties from the region. Optimal indoor or outdoor seating 60 guest. A three star hotel run by the Mansi family from Ravello. Special winter packages with lodge, board and excursions from November to March. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsifal Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing