We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, warm service, clean and basic rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view, warm service, clean and basic rooms”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The view from the inner courtyard is stunning and probably similar to the much pricier nearby luxury Hotel Caruso. It's a family run hotel which the warm and helpful service also reflects.

The hotels's restaurant has the same magnificent view as the courtyard and serves fresh and local dishes. Highly recommended, if not only, for the view.

Beware that free parking nearby is close to impossible so you are stuck with the €18 a day valet parking.

Our room was fairly basic, but very clean. However, the room had no AC which was somewhat a drawback in hot July. The staff had tried to mitigate this by installing two fans, but they were noisy while trying to sleep. Nor did the rooms have Wi-Fi, which was only available in the courtyard.

Installing AC and improving the Wi-Fi would greatly increase the experience.

All in all, this hotel comes recommended as a less expensive alternative to the general high price ranges in Ravello.

Room Tip: Choose a room with AC and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemodroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    119
    27
    2
    4
See reviews for
100
372
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I called in to the Parsifal during a wander around Ravello on the off chance of lunch. We were very warmly welcomed and offered lunch even though we were literally the only people there, lunch was a wonderful, simple affair in a breathtaking setting, the owner was very hospitable and made us feel right at home.
Having a glass of wine on the balcony was just stunning.
Even though we didnt stay there we would certainly do so when we go back to glorious Ravello.
Marty & Kim

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I can't say enough about this lovely family that runs Parsifal. They are very welcoming and friendly you feel you are at someone's home instead of a hotel. My husband and I booked the large room with the huge terrace overlooking the Minori, Maori and the sea. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of our room, it was spotless. Our room was also quiet. The night we arrived we were really tired from being in the sun all day so we ate at the hotel. The food was really good with fresh ingredients and wonderful wines to choose from. The hotel also provides breakfast which is an added benefit not to have to spend extra euros on that every morning. The only thing that I did not like about our room was that we did not have a stand up shower. We had a hand held shower which is a little bit of a pain. That being said, that did not bother me too much, it really wasn't a big deal. It gave me an excuse to take a nice hot bath every night which I never do. That's what vacations are for anyway! Keep in mind this hotel is budget so if you want lots of fancy toiletries you need to bring your own. They really don't keep things stocked in your room but if you ask they will provide you what you need. When I come back to Ravello I would stay here without hesitation- this is a lovely, charming place with a wonderful accommodating staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shopgirl1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I recently got married in Ravello. A handful of guests stayed at Hotel Parsifal and they all loved the hotel and could not say enough about the accommodations, the view, the staff, etc! The location is in the main town and walkable to everywhere. I also had my wedding rehearsal dinner here and they did an amazing job! We had 28 guests and the hotel went above and beyond! It is family run and Antonio, his brother, and his staff are top-notch. They had blue and white table clothes and flower centerpieces for me. The menu was an assortment of pizza, pasta, risotto, and delicious dessert trays (individual for each person)! Not only are you going to stay at a great place in a wonderful town, but they make you feel at home! Love this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DannyD00dles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Thank you Antonio, Leonardo and everyone who made us feel like home! My boyfriend and I have been missing you after we left your hotel, and we often kept talking about how great our experience was in Ravello because of you guys. You made us feel like part of your family.
We chose this hotel based on the reviews we have read on tripadvisor, and they proved to be true!
Antonio and his family/team were there to help us with anything we needed, from transportation to and from Amalfi, restaurant or show booking, accommodation in another city; practically finding solutions and answers to all our requests in a very timely manner.
The view from the hotel and the restaurant's terrace is stunning, one can see Amalfi Coast and the beautiful sea. We also had a wonderful meal on their restaurant's terrace (overlooking the sea) and the freshly cooked food is delicious and reasonably priced. I should add that, in the five days spent there, we made friends among locals, and we kept asking around about really good places to eat in Ravello. Out of 6 different people and couples we talked to, they all mentioned Parsifal hotel restaurant in the top three restaurants with really tasty and affordable food in Ravello.
We enjoyed a lot our Italian breakfast; I am still craving the perfect freshly baked croissants promptly brought to us when we would arrive at the table. The breakfast is included in the room rate, and they have a variety of fresh foods and fruits to choose from, including home-made white and whole wheat loaves of bread. For those who would like to eat something different, there is a breakfast menu available. Should I mention that they make the best cappuccino?
The room and washroom were spacious, cool and very clean, with a big bed and a very comfortable mattress.
We continued traveling on Amalfi coast and Rome for more than two weeks, but we didn't find anywhere the attention to detail, friendliness, and that feeling that there is someone to help us whatever the problem may be. We highly recommend this experience to everyone; for us it has been unique and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonaAntoaneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

the hotel overall is very well located in the center of Ravello. The rooms are nice, you have an amazing view and the people working at the reception are very welcoming.
BUT overall I can't recommend the hotel because:

- the breakfast is a joke, even for Italians who don't eat a lot for breakfast - please bring in more variety, more fresh products and if not on a buffet give a menu with several food options
- the bath room is definitely several years old and should be renewed soon - i expect more for this hotel category
- the corridor to our room looked like in a random youth hostel with storage of old TV's, old read books unorganized etc. - just remove this crap.
- an absolute no go was the checkout from of our room where the hotel basically packed our stuff although when we are not there. We said we are checking out in time before 12 o'clock (we arrived back in the hotel at 11:30 and they packed our luggage next to the reception) - I never felt less welcome in a hotel - if they need the room early they could have asked us
- also not welcoming at all was when they said at the checkin: keep your passport here, when you leave keep the room keys here and we need your car keys - other hotels can handle that more elegant and a) make a copy of the passport immediately for the guest details b) tell guests when they lose the key it costs X EUR and c) explain why they need the car keys

Overall with a lot of small adjustments this hotel could be way better and I really hope for them they are reading this feedback and take that into account.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffenehrhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Direttore at Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback which we will take into account as we always do
since your opinion counts a lot for us and, some time, guest’s feedback is what make standards to be improved, implemented or even review.

We are obviously sorry for not having meet all your expectations and we do apologise for that, correct actions will be performed mainly with the housekeepers department where they totally fail with their task and once again we are sorry about it.

However, we do not agree with the remaining points that you have highlighted and that I would like to go more into details in order to offer a better and clearer information.

Breakfast:
Our room rate does include buffet breakfast, not English buffet breakfast neither American buffet breakfast. With our buffet breakfast we offer: 3 type of stewed fruit, boiled egg, natural and fruit yoghurts, 3 types of home made marmalade, fresh cheese, salami, 2 types of packed creamy cheeses, packed chocolate nutella, fresh fruit, sweet plum cake, salty plum cake, pancakes, a variety of cereals, honey, rusk bread, fresh sandwich loaf for bread toast and daily fresh baked bread loaf allowing the guest to slice his bread, at the table we serve fresh baked croissant and orange juice.

By the table where the fresh bread was you had a jag of fresh and cold water and right next to the jag you had, but unlikely missed view, our breakfast "à la carte menu" with over 20 items ready to be cooked or offered on request.

Check-in procedures
It is not at all our custom, neither we use to impose or state phrases without using please or asking it in a kindness way, even if sometime there my be a barrier language with our guest. Again, and unlikely, upon your check-in, the night shift was covered by someone who does get away with some English language.
We would never say “keep your passport here” or “keep the room key here
when you leave the room”.
We would ask to have your passport for registration procedures therefore, in your case, it would have been given it back to you in the morning since you had arrived late in the evening. We would ask to leave the room key mainly for safety and emergency purposes, having guest ‘room key on the key rack, it tells us that you are not in the room neither into the hotel therefore if an emergency, we are aware that you are not within the hotel. Strange enough, a travelled guest like you should know such things .....AND, surely, it has nothing to do with key cost if you lose it or what ever was your message regarding the key room.

We ask for the car key for parking meters proposes and for parking the car as near as possible to the hotel. Like you have said, explaining it, it would have helped but no attempt took place from neither side and this is the result that we have unfortunately achieved.

Never the less, thank you for kind your attention, we hope that on your next visit to Ravello you will still consider our hotel for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Antonio and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had our wedding reception on the terrace overlooking the beautiful Amalfi Coast. I can't say enough good things about the Antonio and his staff. They made a delicious five-course dinner complete with dessert and cake. We were a very small wedding party (only 14 people), but they treated us very well and were very, very accommodating in letting us have the courtyard for our cocktails and take pictures, as well as exclusive use of the terrace. Antonio also made a customized dinner for our gluten-free, vegan, vegetarian relative, which looked incredible and she said tasted great (evidenced by the fact that she ate every bite). The night before the wedding, we stopped by the hotel to see what it looked like and Antonio was very gracious in showing us where dinner would be held, and even offered us a drink. Not only is Ravello a spectacular place, but the Antonio and his staff exhibited superb hospitality and made our wedding dinner even more memorable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.7 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
726 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#7 of 21 in Ravello
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#16 of 21 in Ravello
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Property: Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Address: Viale Gioacchino d'Anna 5, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#2 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#5 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parsifal - Ancient convent built back in 1288 by the Augustinian friars and converted into Hotel Parsifal around 1948. 17 rooms with private bath and a central cloister with delightful terraces and gardens overlooking the superb panorama of the Amalfi coastline. Rafael's restaurant and Cloister Bar overlooking the Amalfi coast, offering classical and Mediterranean cuisine with a little touch of creativity. Traditional specialties from the region. Optimal indoor or outdoor seating 60 guest. A three star hotel run by the Mansi family from Ravello. Special winter packages with lodge, board and excursions from November to March. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsifal Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing