We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but a little tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

The location is great and the staff is so friendly and helpful. However, the hotel needs a little care itself. The fridge, bidet, and heated towel bar did not work in our room, and the towels and robes felt like sandpaper.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    117
    26
    2
    4
See reviews for
98
364
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed in remodeled room and it was really, really nice with a superior view. The setting was beautiful, the room was clean...and the tv channel selection for that rainy day was really nice. The brothers were very helpful. We would definitely stay here again. By the way, the steak I had there for dinner was so darn good. I would suggest spending 10,000€ to provide some better ambience in the indoor dining room...to include appropriate romantic music. Just a helpful suggestion.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had one night in this gorgeous little hotel. Ravello is so beautiful and staying in this old convent really made it. The service was great and the surroundings amazing.

There is a little bar at the back, which looks over the valley and was such a great end to our evening. They had book swap areas and it had an incredibly friendly feel without losing any professionalism or invading privacy. They managed to get the balance perfectly.

The man on reception when we arrived was lovely and told us where he felt we should go while we were in Ravello and he was right. The staff here made our stay really.

Breakfast was great, fresh and plentiful with loads of choice. It was possibly the best breakfast I had all holiday.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but I think we made a mistake there. I just wish we had booked for longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophiemacmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My stellar opinion of The Parsifal was re-confirmed, once again, on a recent third visit in as many years. Obviously, you don't come back to a hotel, over and over, unless there is something special about it. This place has that magic. There are hundreds of glowing reviews written here (my two previous among them) so I think it might be a good time to get closer to the nuts-and-bolts of what keeps people coming back. (Tip: Book early. They enjoy 97% occupancy during the high season.) First and foremost, there's Antonio. One of my fellow guests, who has returned here a dozen times, suggested that there should be a statue of him in the beautiful courtyard of this former convent built in 1288. San Antonio has to be the best host in Ravello. He was born to do this job and he sets the high standard to be found in a multitude of hospitality touches. This family hotel offer you authentic local atmosphere, incredibly attentive service, magnificent views, and one of the best restaurants in Ravello. Just imagine that the chef has a Michelin Star and enjoy all the dough you're saving in the dining room. The flavor is just as good This may be a 3-Star hotel but the view from your window or balcony is the same as the three 5-Star establishments just down the road. Yes, you'll be getting tile and fieldstone surroundings, instead of marble, and your towels will be less fluffy, but I'll trade that for a staff of real people instead of polished, uniformed puppets. The service here is always as good or better than the posh venues and the pricing is incredible. The Parsifal is simply the best $$$ deal in town. The 5-Stars up the street will cost you at least 5x as much per night! In the four years I've been following The Parsifal, they've never slipped lower than 4th out of the 20 to 22 hotels in this town. Two of those are always the world classers, The Caruso (by Orient Express), and The Avino (formerly, The Sasso, which started out life with the Virgin Group), the third isn't even in Ravello proper and they solicit TA reviews for consideration (something Antonio could never conscience). I'll close by telling you that on one memorable morn in June, 2012, The Parsifal finally awoke to find itself Trip Advisor's #1 Hotel in Ravello. When a 3-Star establishment can blow past a couple of the best 5-Star resort hotels in Europe, you know you're staying at the right place, even if you are saving a small fortune.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bbaldwin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Immediately upon arrival you enter the courtyard of this magnificent former convent with stunning gardens and sweeping views of Ravello. Every attention to detail is provided here and we were treated to 2 different rooms both of which were magnificent, the second with a terrace to enjoy a view that i will not forget with enough room for a romantic after dinner dance if you are so inclined. We enjoyed 3 of the most amazing dinners we have ever had at this hotel. After the first meal, we knew there was no point in going anywhere else. The gardens in front of the hotel provide all of the fresh ingredients for the Chefs works of art. The Tuna steak and the homemade Ravioli with fish mousse are not to be missed. The staff don't miss a beat and are friendly, courteous and helpful ensuring your every satisfaction is met. A great wine collection, with wonderful recommendations. You will have missed a great opportunity if you don't stay here on your visit to Ravello!

Room Tip: Room 29 has the Terrace we danced on! There is no actual fitness center but the walks to and from to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were married in July and my husband and I stayed in Ravello at the Parsifal just after a few days in Venice. The Parsifal was a recommendation from a good friend and neighbor who visits Italy at least once a year and I must say what a wonderful experience it was!
Antonio, Rafael, Luciano, Leonardo and family were a pleasure.
The fact that the property is a renovated Convent makes it that much more charming.The view from our room was amazing and the accessability to other towns on the Amalfi coast were very easy and Antonio and staff answered all questions, made excellent recommendations and we left seeing and experiencing the best the area had to offer.
The restaurant was excellent as well and leaving the hotel was not necessary to have a wonderful meal and evening on the patio/restaurant with the spectacular views.
We can't wait to make another trip to Italy, hopefully for our anniversary and will definitely stay at the Parsifal. We are looking forward to seeing everyone there as they make you feel like you are visiting family and you could not ask for anything better than that.
Warmest regards,
Martez and Aniello Vacchiano

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martez11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Hotel Parsifal was recommended to us by a friend and we can certainly see why! The room we were given was clean, tidy and had a stunning sea view from its own private balcony/terrace. The manger/owner and all his staff were extremely helpful and any request was dealt with accurately and immediately. The food in the restaurant was excellent as was the house red!

The location is ideal, just a short 10-15 minute walk from the main square in Ravello, though a little hilly in places!

Room Tip: Say you were recommended by a friend, it gained us an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.7 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#1 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#5 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#3 of 21 in Ravello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#7 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Property: Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Address: Viale Gioacchino d'Anna 5, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#2 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#5 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parsifal - Ancient convent built back in 1288 by the Augustinian friars and converted into Hotel Parsifal around 1948. 17 rooms with private bath and a central cloister with delightful terraces and gardens overlooking the superb panorama of the Amalfi coastline. Rafael's restaurant and Cloister Bar overlooking the Amalfi coast, offering classical and Mediterranean cuisine with a little touch of creativity. Traditional specialties from the region. Optimal indoor or outdoor seating 60 guest. A three star hotel run by the Mansi family from Ravello. Special winter packages with lodge, board and excursions from November to March. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsifal Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing