We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hospitality and beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking
1 review
“Charming hospitality and beautiful views”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Excellent service and very friendly staff made this a very enjoyable stay. Meals in the restaurant were excellent - even better because of the stunning view from the dining terrace. Highly recommend this to anyone visiting the Amalfi Coast.

Room Tip: Ask if sea view is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueb2002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    121
    27
    2
    4
See reviews for
100
375
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I chose Hotel Parsifal to hold our small wedding in Italy at the end of July 2014. All I can say is that Antonio and his family made it perfect. As soon as you walk through the entrance into the courtyard you are greeted by the most amazing view of the Amalfi Coast. There are lots of things that set this hotel apart from other Ravello hotels. The beautiful courtyard filled with flowers and plants, the intimate nature of the hotel due to its size, the character and above all, Antonio and his family. I usually like to get lost in the anonymity of a large hotel but I loved that Antonio, Leonardo and the rest of the family knew us and really did make us feel like part of the family. Nothing was too much trouble, they had a great sense of humour and were always knowledgeable and helpful.

The food at the hotel was always fantastic. I ate lunch there three times and we had our wedding reception at the hotel. It was traditional Italian food and all our guests loved it. There was also A LOT of it.

If you are looking for five star luxury then this is not for you. There is no swimming pool and not all the rooms are air conditioned. But, this is an old convent with all the character that brings. The rooms are clean and comfortable, we had air con but we didn't need it at the end of July. What I loved was that all the rooms were different, with views of the sea, the valley or the beautiful courtyard. I have stayed at 5 star hotels in Ravello before and they do not compare. They are sterile, anonymous and boring compared to the Hotel Parsifal.

If you want to support a family run business, with fantastic service, fantastic food, and an amazing atmosphere then please stay here. You won't be disappointed.

ps free, reliable wifi cos even when you're getting married you need to stay connected!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sophiej691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just back from my 4th visit, which should speak volumes! You are mistaken if you think I am easily pleased or lacking adventure. When you uncover a gem you embrace it, as I have done over the last 14 years. The gem is the exemplary quality of service; the amazing views; the totally original ambience of being housed within a converted convent; food to be celebrated; guidance and advice on virtually anything to do with Ravello and the Amalfi coast. In addition, even though Ravello is by no means the cheapest of locations, you will find that all of this is available at the Parsifal for a snip, when compared to many other hotels nearby.

Now that I am done with the superlatives, let me tell you that the friendship and humour of all the staff is the overriding factor that pulls me back there. So, if you want a great time, then speak to Antonio (The Boss), book one of the suites or try the room that we had, which had it's own veranda (unbelievable!). Make sure that you get air conditioning if it's a hot month; arrange a pick up from Naples (it that's where you land!) because the taxi driver Salvatore is also a humorous guide on your trip over the mountains to the back of Ravello; make friends with the family Mansi and you too will be returning to your Italian Home!!!

Room Tip: Read the review but talk to Antonio first
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianspurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a hotel! From the moment we arrived we were greeted by some of the loveliest staff of our trip. Ravello is such a beautiful spot and this hotel highlighted all of Ravello’s charm. This hotel offers stunning views from the bar area and restaurant. It's truly breathtaking. In addition to this, and to our delight, we were upgraded to a room with stunning water views. An absolute treat! The staff made every minute of our stay really special, offering great tips and terrific service. We fell in love with Ravello, and Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. We can't wait to see you again!

Room Tip: It's worth booking a room with a view - absolutely stunning!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, NY
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The moment we arrived at Hotel Parcifal with its beautiful views we suspected we made a great decision staying here. And that was the case. The hotel has commanding views of the coast, a beautiful terrace for during the day, and a smaller covered outdoor terrace where they serve very nice dinners.

This is one of those rare hotels where it is the warmth of the hospitality that makes your stay most memorable. The owner was very helpful during our stay, and his recommendations for hikes for the rest of our itinerary were spot-on (I recommend seeking his advice on hikes and other activities). Nothing in Amalfi is inexpensive, but this hotel is a great value and we wish we had stayed longer.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StevenSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I chose this hotel as we only had 1 night to spend in Ravello and it was walking distance to the restaurant we had booked for dinner.

The location was great. An easy walk to the Cimbrone gardens and town square and there were beautiful views of the mountains and ocean from the main terrace. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly.

The room itself was very basic, dark and small. We were here in mid summer - July and there was only a floor standing fan that made a loud screeching noise on every turn but no air conditioning which was quite harsh during the night. (and there were mosquitos if you left the window open)

Also, if you weigh more than 80kg or 180cm tall... I don't think you will be able to fit in the shower. No joke, the shower in our room was so tiny that it felt claustrophobic and you would hit your elbows on the surrounding walls whilst washing your hair... (and I am a small frame woman) my husband was definitely battling the lack of space as I could hear him bashing the walls every other second which was a good laugh but possibly not the best shower experience.

If you do stay here and you love fine dining - I highly recommend this Michelin starred restaurant called Rosellinis in the Palazzo Avino Hotel - also check out Hotel Caruso piano bar before dinner - they have stunning views and fantastic Bellini cocktails!

Room Tip: make sure you have air conditioning during summer or you'll be baking all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovebeyondsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Have just arrived back from my Daughter's wedding at this hotel. The hotel is small but wow what a fabulous place. The staff were wonderful, Antonio and his family made us all fee l so welcome. My daughter wanted somewhere small and intimate for her wedding and this with it's fantastic views was perfect. The rooms are comfortable and if you are lucky enough to have a room with a view you will not be disappointed. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and a real treat was to find the bed turned down at night. The food did not disappoint either we had a fabulous wedding breakfast and lunch a couple of times. Breakfast is served in I guess the breakfast room, with plenty of choice to suit all tastes. As you walk in through a beautiful courtyard there is some information about the hotel and a slogan that says " a home from home" and that is exactly how it felt, their wonderful hospitality ensured my daughter's wedding was truly perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.7 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#8 of 21 in Ravello
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Property: Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Address: Viale Gioacchino d'Anna 5, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#2 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#5 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parsifal - Ancient convent built back in 1288 by the Augustinian friars and converted into Hotel Parsifal around 1948. 17 rooms with private bath and a central cloister with delightful terraces and gardens overlooking the superb panorama of the Amalfi coastline. Rafael's restaurant and Cloister Bar overlooking the Amalfi coast, offering classical and Mediterranean cuisine with a little touch of creativity. Traditional specialties from the region. Optimal indoor or outdoor seating 60 guest. A three star hotel run by the Mansi family from Ravello. Special winter packages with lodge, board and excursions from November to March. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsifal Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing