We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We were offered a choice of two rooms, one larger room or one with an incredible view over the coast from the bed over our own balcony. We took that one and it was really sweet. It's not five star accomodation but it's clean and quiet and the staff are really sweet, they did everything they could to help us. There was a computer in the foyer we were able to use for free. It was about 75-86 eu per night, including breakfast and parking the car, which was fantastic. The food at their restaurant was first class, and they have a bar overlooking the coast where you an sit and relax and watch the traffic go by on theroad below.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talkingheads1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2009

I went on a three week holiday to Italy travelling to different hotels and cities everyday. Hotel Parsifal was by far the best hotel I stayed in during the whole holiday.

I arrived without booking and they found me a room with stunning sea views. The cost was 50euros, which was at least a third of the price of every other hotel in Revllo that I tried (I tried about a dozen before finding this one).

The staff could not do more for you, they were excellent. Breakfast was lovely. Free internet access. The rooms have Sky TV, which was great as it meant I could watch English football.

Everything about this hotel was excellent, would definitley recommend, especially for couples or honeymooners.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenHales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We were only passing through Ravello for one night during our honeymoon. I had contacted the hotel directly and luckily they had availability. Upon arrival, Antonio surprised us by upgrading us to their junior suite. The suite was newly rennovated, large, and had incredible court yard and ocean views. Antonio and the hotel staff were so friendly and accomodating. They helped us with our bags and even helped park our car. One of the best nights we had while in Italy.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinkiestar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Antonio and his family, who run Hotel Parsifal, treat every guest like visiting royalty. My husband and I spent four nights at this gem of a hotel in romantic Ravello. We loved the location - walking distance to the piazza and good restaurants. We loved the breath-taking view of the ocean and cliffs from the flowered courtyard and the terraces. The rooms are simple as one would expect in a 13th cent. convent, but tasteful. What made the hotel unique was the extraordinary warmth of the service, the classic Italian beauty of the hotel itself, and the awesome views of the Mediterranean Sea.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

There are several appealing aspects to this hotel and some which are less than appealing. The location is excellent, but the nearby cobblestone road creates a certain amount of traffic noise for rooms that have windows on that side. The hotel courtyard is gorgeous, with a wonderful sense of history and a fabulous view. The family that runs the place is helpful and kind, and the owner Antonio seems genuinely interested in creating a classy operation.

I think people's perception of the place might depend on whether they stay in the new or the old section. I spent two nights in room 14 in the old section and two in a room in the remodeled wing. Had I only stayed in room 14 in the old section, my ultimate opinion of this hotel would likely have been very different.

Room 14 is described as having a terrace with a wonderful view, accessed through the bathroom. There is a wonderful view but to call it a terrace is wishful thinking. It is a dirty roof-top partially covered with astro-turf like material. Not particularly appealing as a place to relax and admire the view.

Antonio told me he intends to remodel room 14 in the near future, and that's good because the bathroom is really awful. There is quite clearly a water intrusion problem from the exterior: the door accessing the "terrace" is rotting out at the bottom, has dirt and/or black mold in many areas and the tiles near the door are coming off the wall. There were also black/brown "drippings" around a component of the toilet that emerged from the wall - in plain sight while bathing in the tub. One morning there was a worm emerging from the tub drain, and oh yes there's that nasty shower curtain that blows against your body as you stand in the tub. Combine all this with the below motel 6 level amenities, thin and scratchy towels, and the sense of "value" vanishes. If that had been my only experience at Hotel Parsifal I could not give it a good review.

However, our two night stay in the remodeled section of the hotel was a much better experience, and did represent value for the money. While not overly large, the room was pleasant, clean and quiet. There was no tub in the bathroom but it did have a tiled shower with "rainforest" style showerhead and upgraded amenities (shampoo, hair dryer, but still no hair conditioner). Towels were the same.

The breakfast buffet was okay but nothing special. We did not accept the half-board offer but we did eat one dinner in the hotel. That meal was adequate but for the money it did not compare favorably to meals we ate at other restaurants in town. There's lots of good food to be had in Ravello so why confine yourself to a hotel dining room?

Bottom line: get a remodeled room (preferably facing the coast or the courtyard), don't go for half-board and you will likely be quite happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frogprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We have just returned from an 8 night stay at Hotel Parsifal in Ravello as part of our Italian Honeymoon. From the moment we arrived Antonio, Leonardo and Raphael were fantastic ensuring our stay was unforgetable. Nothing was to much trouble for them and they made the stay perfect. Our room (room 23) was amazing with a large private terrace with the most stunning view over the coast. The hotel is perfectly situated a short walk from the central piazza in Ravello. A short walk up the road leads you to very upmarket 5 star luxury hotels which share the same view for 4/5 times the price. However, these hotels lack the personal charm, charactor and history of Hotel Parsifal. A few recent reviews state the hotel is dated... You must remember the hotel building is 800 years old and oozes charm and charactor. The food is excellent and the menu each day is varied with a great choice (especially local fresh seafood). To summary an excellent choice if you are looking for a real Italian gem without the clinical atmosphere of the larger hotels. Antionio, Leonardo, Raphael and all staff at the Hotel we can't thank you encough for making our honeymoon stay so special. We will be back !!! Many thanks

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

This is a lovely hotel. We have just returned from 5 nights at the Hotel Parsifal in late May 2009. Antonio, his family and staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay, especially as we have a 10 month old baby. They provided excellent insight to the area - places to go and see etc, and kept a very clean and well maintained hotel. The hotel is only a 100 yards from the very expensive Hotel Carruso and Pallazo Sasso, but with the same views at a quarter of the cost! There are two areas to the Hotel. The old covent wing, and the new modern rooms. We stayed in the older wing with a nice side garden, whilst our in laws stayed in the new rooms with a lovely balcony.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaywithababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.7 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#3 of 21 in Ravello
744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palumbo Palazzo Confalone
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Address: Viale Gioacchino d'Anna 5, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#2 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#5 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range: £95 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parsifal - Ancient convent built back in 1288 by the Augustinian friars and converted into Hotel Parsifal around 1948. 17 rooms with private bath and a central cloister with delightful terraces and gardens overlooking the superb panorama of the Amalfi coastline. Rafael's restaurant and Cloister Bar overlooking the Amalfi coast, offering classical and Mediterranean cuisine with a little touch of creativity. Traditional specialties from the region. Optimal indoor or outdoor seating 60 guest. A three star hotel run by the Mansi family from Ravello. Special winter packages with lodge, board and excursions from November to March. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsifal Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing