We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in stunning location”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We have recently returned from a most wonderful stay in this lovely family run hotel. Twelve adults and three children stayed in this hotel for varying amounts of time when our daughter got married in Ravello. We are so glad we chose this hotel. Antonio and his brothers looked after us so well with friendly service in this charming ex convent. They advised us on and arranged trips to,for example Pompei and Vesuvius, and were more than happy to do things like photo copying for the wedding ceremony.
The rooms we stayed in although not modernised had everything necessary although the bathrooms especially were not the most modern. The unmodernised rooms do not have air con but fans are supplied. Rooms I undersatand are gradually being modernised. The rooms we stayed in all had lovely views along the coast or over the mountains and our room (room 23) had the most wonderful covered terrace with a lovely stone arch overlooking Minori and Maiori which made a lovely back drop for wedding photos. In fact the hotel entrance and the court yard with its flowers and fish pond were all locations which produced beautiful photos.
Continental breakfasts were served and were more than adequate. We had 2 evening meals in the hotel both of which offered a good choice and could not be faulted. One was served on the outside terrace. One of our party is coeliac and he said the staff went out of their way to offer him the appropriate diet for his requirements. The children were also very well looked after and the staff were very happy to wash bottles and feeding cups and bowls for them. We did not have the meal after the wedding in this hotel, although I understand they do cater for weddings, but although that was held at a very stunning hotel we felt the Parsifal overall was totally suited to our requirements for a lovely base for the wedding and our holiday.
We would highly recommend this hotel and we certainly have very many happy memories from our time spent at the Parsifal and in Ravello.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolKEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    121
    27
    2
    4
See reviews for
100
375
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We stayed with our 10 months old at Hotel Parsifal in May and absolutely loved it. It is perfectly charming and quaint with million dollar views. We would lay in our bed and look out at the view of the water and it was breathtaking. And we could not be more happy with the service of all of the staff and the location. Tony and everybody else made sure our stay was perfect. From glasses of wine and cappuccino on the porch overlooking the water in the afternoon. And on one night we ordered in room service to our room and it was amazing - the best risotto we had in Italy. It was a five minute walk into the heart of town and a great location. One thing you may want to ask for is a room with a shower if that is a necessity - we stayed in the original convent and our bathroom had a large tub with a hand held sprayer (it added to the quaintness). Would highly recommend to all staying in Ravello.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldilocks08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The Hotel Parsifal is a rare jewel in Ravello on the Amalfi Peninsula, one of the most beautiful areas in the world. From its lofty position high above villages spread below, The Hotel Parsifal allows an unobstructed view of the sea. While on our honeymoon, quite by chance, we made the sharp turn in the road past the ancient fountain, then immediately on our left was the archway into the hotel's welcoming courtyard of flowers. Beyond the arch, we found a warm welcome which made us choose to stay.

Now almost twenty-five years later, we wondered if this former 13th century convent, transformed into a hotel, would again be as wonderful. To our pleasure, it was--and even more so.

Today the hotel manager, its chef and staff of waiters are the sons and family of the gracious host we knew long ago. The father's smiling portrait hangs prominently in the breakfast room. It was a pleasure to watch the manager, his brothers and a cousin, and the young son of the chef, working as a team, providing the kind of personal attention one would expect when visiting someone's home. They all spoke English well.

After the first great meal, we chose to take all our meals at the Hotel Parsifal. Their menu provides a wide selection of choices. Their pasta and fish specialties were a treat. Their excellent wine selections went well with our meal choices.

The changes made to the hotel since our last visit were all tastefully done. This time, we enjoyed a junior air-conditioned suite with private terrace overlooking the sea and villages below. Lunch and dinner are now served on an outdoor covered terrace. As before, the courtyard with its little fountain and fish pond is surrounded by a magnificent display of flowers. Tables and chairs, shaded by great umbrellas, overlooking the view to the sea, offer another place to enjoy this jewel of Ravello.

Ravello has a lovely center square, interesting churches, ceramic shops, formal gardens, many restaurants and sidewalk cafes. Richard Wagner wrote the opera Parsifal while staying here; more recently other authors (as well as Hollywood) have chosen Ravello in which to work.
One day we took a taxi to visit the lovely village of Amalfi and its magnificent Church of St. Andrew. It was a pleasure to enjoy the twisty and scenic road down and back as passengers of expert taxi drivers.

We came away with many new treasures from the shop of Ceramiche D'Arte.

We are already contemplating another visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JBORLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This hotel was wonderful! I was initially only considering 4 and 5-star hotels, but took a friend's recommendation on this one. We loved the location of the hotel, very close to town, and the view and hotel property were incredible! It is a small hotel, I think less than 20 rooms, and it used to be a convent; the rooms were very well appointed and had all of the amenities that I would expect from a 5 star hotel in Italy. The staff was wonderful and the breakfast was great- the breakfast room has a beautiful view. I am planning my next stay at this hotel, the small details were what made it so nice!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C11950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

This was a two-week vacation during which we visited Venice, Florence, Ravello, and Rome. We paid almost exactly the same amount per night for each of the four hotels, and all were selected because they were pretty highly rated on TripAdvisor and appeared to be in convenient, central locations.

Our 4-day stay in Ravello was one of the high points of our trip. One reason is that Ravello is a beautiful place, but another major factor was the amazing service provided by Antonio, Leonardo, and the rest of the family which owns and runs the Parsifal. Whether it was graciously answering our many pre-trip questions via email, arranging round-trip transportation from the Naples train station, taking care of our bags at the start and end of our visit, providing advice about restaurants and local activities, or just chatting with us as we came and went, our hosts made us feel as if we were almost part of the family.

They were especially helpful when, on the first day of our visit, I fell while walking in town and sprained my ankle very, very badly. They supplied plenty of ice and let me use a cane for the balance of my stay; knowing that we were headed toward several busy days in Rome to end our trip, they even offered to let me take the cane with me, although that did not turn out to be necessary. They also arranged for a taxi to take us into town that first night, at no cost to us, so we could attend a concert at Villa Rufolo.

The service was not the only great thing about Parsifal, The hotel was very clean and well maintained; our room faced the sea and had plenty of space for the three of us; the dining room is lovely and has a phenomenal view; breakfasts were very good, as was the dinner we had there one night; and we found it to be a quiet and relaxing environment overall.

I know that there are several highly rated (and very expensive) hotels in Ravello, but it's hard to believe that the service at those could be much better than that which we experienced at Parsifal. We would be glad to stay there again and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MM7NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford Upon Avon,
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Small family run family hotel with superb views overlooking the Amalfi coast. Ravello is a busy town wirh many hotels and restaurants. Parsifal Hotel is in a good location close to town. All the staff are friendly and cannot do enough to mkae your stay as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge LA USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I've just spent ten days at the Hotel Parsifal and I cannot imagine a better place to stay in Ravello or along the Amalfi Coast. The rooms are fine and the vistas are breathtaking. Even if you don't get the best view from your room, there are terraces everywhere, bathed in colorful flowerbeds and fish ponds, and if you're like me, you'll find yourself gazing down at Minori and Majori and over to the Monti Lattani whenever you get a chance. Best of all, Manager Antonio Mansi and his family form a core of professional people who still believe that the customer is at the center of service.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryThibodeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.7 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#8 of 21 in Ravello
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#15 of 21 in Ravello
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Property: Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Address: Viale Gioacchino d'Anna 5, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#2 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#5 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parsifal - Ancient convent built back in 1288 by the Augustinian friars and converted into Hotel Parsifal around 1948. 17 rooms with private bath and a central cloister with delightful terraces and gardens overlooking the superb panorama of the Amalfi coastline. Rafael's restaurant and Cloister Bar overlooking the Amalfi coast, offering classical and Mediterranean cuisine with a little touch of creativity. Traditional specialties from the region. Optimal indoor or outdoor seating 60 guest. A three star hotel run by the Mansi family from Ravello. Special winter packages with lodge, board and excursions from November to March. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsifal Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing