We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value hotel in Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Ravello, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best value hotel in Italy”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We have just returned from our seventh visit to Ravello and the hotel Parsifal. Again we have been treated by the Antonio Mansi and staff as one of the family and not just a guest. Everyone who stays at this hotel are made to feel special from the time that they arrive to the date of departure.
On our recommendations many of our friends have stayed at the Parsifal and without exception they have said what a wonderful experience they have had and indeed have also returned for subsequent visits.
The very helpful service that all the staff give to their guests is truely appreciated and they go out of their way in ensuring that everyone leaves the hotel with a favourable impression.
If you have never visited Italy, or indeed the Amnalfi coast with Ravello situated up in the hillside and stayed in a first class hotel such as Parsifal, then you have miised an experience of a lifetime. Once you have had this experience, I can guarantee that you will return time and time again like my wife and I have done many times.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parsifal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    122
    27
    3
    4
See reviews for
101
379
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Parsifal for our honeymoon and had a fabulous time. We feel we chose the perfect hotel. Everyone was so friendly, the food was delicious, the room was very pretty and immaculately clean and the views were stunning. The hotel just has the most wonderful character and we felt part of Ravello life for the week that we stayed. We would love to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMershon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Just came back from a week long stay in Parsifal. Hotel is situated in a magical spot, the view is breathtaking. Our room was a standard room in the old section of the hotel (the original convent), quite large with a/c. Our friends took a junior suite in the new section which was large and accomodating, very lovely and modern bath room and a tarrace overlooking the Minori bay (amazing view).
But the main attraction of this lovely hotel is the service, Leonardo and Antonio the brothers who run the place did everything possible to make out stay perfect, they went out of their way to assist us, they even rented my husband a pair of mountain bike which was a very rare request. We fell in love with Ravello, Hotel Pasifal and the owners and will certainly come back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

My girlfriend and I recently stayed with Antonio & his family for two lovely nights at Ravello; a mixed experience. The hotel itself boasts a stunning location overlooking the Amalfi coast towards Minori. It really is a breathtaking view and one of the best we encountered on our entire trip. We dined at the hotel both evenings, and thoroughly enjoyed the carefully prepared menu making use of seasonal locally produced ingredients. We stayed in a sea view room, also with a stunning view. The bathroom may be old-fashioned for some, though we found it quite manageable. Of note, is that there is no Air-Conditioning, though we found the fan in the room to provide a pleasant Mediterranean temperature throughout our stay. Really, it was a delightful visit UNTIL...

We checked out after dinner on our 2nd night, allowing for an early departure the following morning.. We paid via credit card to ensure that we would be able to keep the cash we had with us to pay for the ferry/day trip to capri. We had purposefully withdrawn €200 from a nearby ATM at around 5pm that afternoon, and on checking out, visually confirmed that that money was still in the wallet. We then retired for the night. The following morning at 7am, we took our bags down to breakfast and the staff told us we could leave our bags in a certain area. We had our breakfast, and less than 20 minutes later, collected our bags, and walked the 100m to the bus stop and hopped on a bus. It was at this point that my girlfriend opened her bag, then her wallet, to give me the cash to pay for the ferry/day trip. She found that €200 had been stolen.

There was simply no question about it. The cash was there at 10pm, we went straight to bed, got up, had breakfast, the staff took our bags, we had breakfast, collected our bags, walked 100 m, opened the bag/wallet, to find all her money stolen. I called Antonio at the nearest opportunity, at which point he explained it was his brother working at the time, and that there was no way it could have been him. He went on to say that it could have been "someone else", perhaps a guest?? To us, this was simply irrelevant. We were assured our bags were safe and subsequently robbed while our bags were under the responsibility of the hotel staff. After much discussion, Antonio endeavored to solve the issue by offering us a night of free accommodation at the hotel; kind but completely impractical and incompatible considering the problem we had just faced.

BASICALLY, watch your bags, and keep your valuables within sight the entire time you are at this hotel as security is lapse, and they will not take any responsibility for theft on their premises. It is with great sadness that I write this review, as everything else during our stay was nothing short of perfect, but this sour ending really spoiled our experience of Hotel Parsifal.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We have recently returned from a most wonderful stay in this lovely family run hotel. Twelve adults and three children stayed in this hotel for varying amounts of time when our daughter got married in Ravello. We are so glad we chose this hotel. Antonio and his brothers looked after us so well with friendly service in this charming ex convent. They advised us on and arranged trips to,for example Pompei and Vesuvius, and were more than happy to do things like photo copying for the wedding ceremony.
The rooms we stayed in although not modernised had everything necessary although the bathrooms especially were not the most modern. The unmodernised rooms do not have air con but fans are supplied. Rooms I undersatand are gradually being modernised. The rooms we stayed in all had lovely views along the coast or over the mountains and our room (room 23) had the most wonderful covered terrace with a lovely stone arch overlooking Minori and Maiori which made a lovely back drop for wedding photos. In fact the hotel entrance and the court yard with its flowers and fish pond were all locations which produced beautiful photos.
Continental breakfasts were served and were more than adequate. We had 2 evening meals in the hotel both of which offered a good choice and could not be faulted. One was served on the outside terrace. One of our party is coeliac and he said the staff went out of their way to offer him the appropriate diet for his requirements. The children were also very well looked after and the staff were very happy to wash bottles and feeding cups and bowls for them. We did not have the meal after the wedding in this hotel, although I understand they do cater for weddings, but although that was held at a very stunning hotel we felt the Parsifal overall was totally suited to our requirements for a lovely base for the wedding and our holiday.
We would highly recommend this hotel and we certainly have very many happy memories from our time spent at the Parsifal and in Ravello.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolKEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We stayed with our 10 months old at Hotel Parsifal in May and absolutely loved it. It is perfectly charming and quaint with million dollar views. We would lay in our bed and look out at the view of the water and it was breathtaking. And we could not be more happy with the service of all of the staff and the location. Tony and everybody else made sure our stay was perfect. From glasses of wine and cappuccino on the porch overlooking the water in the afternoon. And on one night we ordered in room service to our room and it was amazing - the best risotto we had in Italy. It was a five minute walk into the heart of town and a great location. One thing you may want to ask for is a room with a shower if that is a necessity - we stayed in the original convent and our bathroom had a large tub with a hand held sprayer (it added to the quaintness). Would highly recommend to all staying in Ravello.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldilocks08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The Hotel Parsifal is a rare jewel in Ravello on the Amalfi Peninsula, one of the most beautiful areas in the world. From its lofty position high above villages spread below, The Hotel Parsifal allows an unobstructed view of the sea. While on our honeymoon, quite by chance, we made the sharp turn in the road past the ancient fountain, then immediately on our left was the archway into the hotel's welcoming courtyard of flowers. Beyond the arch, we found a warm welcome which made us choose to stay.

Now almost twenty-five years later, we wondered if this former 13th century convent, transformed into a hotel, would again be as wonderful. To our pleasure, it was--and even more so.

Today the hotel manager, its chef and staff of waiters are the sons and family of the gracious host we knew long ago. The father's smiling portrait hangs prominently in the breakfast room. It was a pleasure to watch the manager, his brothers and a cousin, and the young son of the chef, working as a team, providing the kind of personal attention one would expect when visiting someone's home. They all spoke English well.

After the first great meal, we chose to take all our meals at the Hotel Parsifal. Their menu provides a wide selection of choices. Their pasta and fish specialties were a treat. Their excellent wine selections went well with our meal choices.

The changes made to the hotel since our last visit were all tastefully done. This time, we enjoyed a junior air-conditioned suite with private terrace overlooking the sea and villages below. Lunch and dinner are now served on an outdoor covered terrace. As before, the courtyard with its little fountain and fish pond is surrounded by a magnificent display of flowers. Tables and chairs, shaded by great umbrellas, overlooking the view to the sea, offer another place to enjoy this jewel of Ravello.

Ravello has a lovely center square, interesting churches, ceramic shops, formal gardens, many restaurants and sidewalk cafes. Richard Wagner wrote the opera Parsifal while staying here; more recently other authors (as well as Hollywood) have chosen Ravello in which to work.
One day we took a taxi to visit the lovely village of Amalfi and its magnificent Church of St. Andrew. It was a pleasure to enjoy the twisty and scenic road down and back as passengers of expert taxi drivers.

We came away with many new treasures from the shop of Ceramiche D'Arte.

We are already contemplating another visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JBORLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravello
0.7 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Piedimonte
Villa Piedimonte
#4 of 21 in Ravello
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
221 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288

Property: Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288
Address: Viale Gioacchino d'Anna 5, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ravello
#2 Business Hotel in Ravello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#5 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parsifal - Ancient convent built back in 1288 by the Augustinian friars and converted into Hotel Parsifal around 1948. 17 rooms with private bath and a central cloister with delightful terraces and gardens overlooking the superb panorama of the Amalfi coastline. Rafael's restaurant and Cloister Bar overlooking the Amalfi coast, offering classical and Mediterranean cuisine with a little touch of creativity. Traditional specialties from the region. Optimal indoor or outdoor seating 60 guest. A three star hotel run by the Mansi family from Ravello. Special winter packages with lodge, board and excursions from November to March. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Parsifal Antico Convento del 1288 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsifal Hotel Ravello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing