We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel but can get hot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Reggio Emilia Centro Astoria
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Reggio Emilia
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice business hotel but can get hot!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have stayed here a number of times on business. The service is always excellent and the bar serves good beer. Breakfast is a good mix of hot and cold continental and a decent coffee machine. My only complaint would be that it can get quite hot during the summer (I live in the cold).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    304
    102
    21
    10
See reviews for
58
160
58
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I always worry about business travel in Italy, because the locals tend to adopt an overly-laid-back approach. I like this for pleasure travel, but for business travel, I need things to work, I need things to be open, and I need to know what to expect. In other hotels, I deal with nonsense.

I appreciate the Mercure Astoria in Reggio Emilia for their attention to detail, excellent restaurant, and for rooms that just work.

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for six nights. We enjoyed everything about it. Comfortable room, comfortable bed, clean bathroom, friendly staff at reception, very good internet connection, excellent restaurant, and surrounded by other excellent restaurants. (Particularly Piccola Piedigrotta!)

Even though we paid separately for breakfast, we paid 115€ (91€ + 2x12€ breakfast) per night, which provides very good value for the money, and excellent value compared to other European hotels.

I couldn't have asked for more from a hotel. It made business travel in Italy *easy*. Grazie mille!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrainsberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel is a part of Accor chain, however, it is operated by the individual franchisee which makes it a cut above. It simply means that it is dedicated to excellent service and dedication to comfort and satisfaction of the guests.

The hotel is centrally located in the large City park, walking distance to the main piazza with fountains, cafes and shopping areas. It is walking distance to three very good restaurants Condor, Ristorante Canossa and Il Pozzo. These restaurants range from pizza, traditional regional cuisine and open air upscale dinning. This is the region that produces good Lambrusco wine, which is not to be missed. Reunite not included.

The management, within the last year or so, has updated and totally refurbished approximately 35 rooms. These rooms are well equipped, comfortable and ample in size. Some have small balconies overlooking the park. Original rooms are good, but not on the same level as updated rooms. Breakfast served in the hotel is very good and sometimes is included in the room price. The hotel has its own restaurant. When hotel has special promotions, on the web site, ...the room prices are so low, simply unbelievable. It pays to be a member of Accor or A-One Club. It is free to join.

The front desk service is friendly, accommodating and easily accessible. Complimentary, on site parking is available.

Some would say that Reggio is "easy going", sleepy town.....excellent for business, stop over or comfortable and inexpensive base for exploring surrounding towns and areas. This part of Italy, thanks to river Poe, is known as epicurean center of Italy. Modena, Parma, Bologna and Ferrara are reachable within 25 to 40 minutes by car. Florence, which is much more expensive, is within one hour by car. These town can be reached by slower, but free local roads or by expressways. The tolls on expressways in Italy are very expensive and the most recent change is that toll booths are without attendants.....so have plenty of change. Using credit cards to pay toll is possible, but not recommended.

In this area this a hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Non-smoking updated rooms facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autremonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Scott and Greta were outstanding in their service to us when we stayed recently. After arriving in Reggio and discovered our apartment booking by another website was a sham ( no money exchanged, thankfully). I remembered in my research before leaving Oz the Mecure Astoria and as a Accor hotel member we made our way to the hotel and were greeted by Scott (American) who gave us a an excellent deal to stay of which we accepted. The Hotel is located centrally to the city centre and we walked everywhere we wanted to go and see leaving our car in hotel car park. The breakfast each morning was delicious with selections to suit all travellers, fresh breads, fruit, cheeses, juices, scrambled eggs, bacon etc. Greta on day 2 recommended a fantastic restaurant to have a traditional style dinner and it was winner. Thankyou Mecure Astoria Reggio Emilia for a memorable stay in your city. Tip: Visit Emilia Cremeria for the best, delicious tasting Gelato!

Room Tip: The single rooms the shower space is very small. Suggest asking for an upgrade the showers are bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jendamlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We arrived by car later than we had expected. The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful. We quickly went up to the room to drop the bags and then followed the receptionist's directions to a nearby pizzeria, The Condor, for a good meal. The hotel is located very centrally and easy to find. The room was a reasonable size and had the twin beds we had asked for. There was a flat screen TV and plenty of storage space, although we didn't unpack as we were only there for the one night. We had the breakfast that we had paid extra for which was very good and well presented. Check out was very quick and we went on our way, if we had had more time we would like to have seen more of the city really.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

positive points:
- nicely located near the city center, railway station and public park
- free internet
negative points:
- tiny rooms with tiny beds and tiny showers: shower trays are 60x60cm
- awefully expensive mini bar: 4 euros the bottle of oke 5 euros the bag of chips
- expensing pressing service: 7 euros to clean a shirt
- breakfast very expensive comparing to the quality of products 12 euros buffet breakfast with powder coffee and concentrated juice
- all the meals on the menu are frozen
- gym room open from 10 to 10, so i you like to do sports in the morning go elswhere...

Room Tip: do not take rooms on 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick28117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Nice hotel, facing a park. Nice rooms (a bit old fashioned); the TVs have an unusual software (apparently, Mercure has its own pay-tv system)...
The gym is ok, and the breakfast was very good: good cakes and a broad choice. Some services (like sending a fax) are expensive, but nobody said they wouldn't be. At least, they were clear on that. Perfect for short business trips!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reggio Emilia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#2 of 24 in Reggio Emilia
379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Reggio Emilia
0.3 mi away
Albergo delle Notarie
Albergo delle Notarie
#6 of 24 in Reggio Emilia
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#10 of 24 in Reggio Emilia
215 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Classic Hotel
Best Western Classic Hotel
#8 of 24 in Reggio Emilia
432 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Remilia
Hotel Remilia
#7 of 24 in Reggio Emilia
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Reggio Emilia Centro Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Reggio Emilia Centro Astoria

Property: Mercure Reggio Emilia Centro Astoria
Address: Via Leopoldo Nobili 2, 42121, Reggio Emilia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Reggio Emilia > Reggio Emilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reggio Emilia
#3 Business Hotel in Reggio Emilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Reggio Emilia Centro Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Astoria has 106 rooms and 2 suites. It’s centrally located and overlooks a beautiful park. A modern hotel with a great tradition, it offers a complete welcome with a full range of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Reggio Emilia Centro Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reggio Emilia
Accor Reggio Emilia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing