We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villaggio Club Baia del Sole
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Ricadi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2007

We have just returned from two weeks holiday at this hotel and it’s the best holiday we have had. We were so chilled out it was great. The hotel grounds were beautiful and were well laid out. The food was a vegetarian’s dream, the sweets were to die for. The wine with the evening meals was free and as much as you wanted (red or white). The staff spoke some English but not a great deal, but if you spoke a little Italian they loved it. But all in all a great holiday for us. Best get to this place before it becomes commercialised, and Mc Donald’s gets there. Unfortunately Thomson Holidays are now pulling out of this region after only two years so if you wish to go Ryan Air operates to the local airport.

The staff were all very helpful, and the food was buffet breakfast, even bacon and eggs, as well as the cold selection. Evening meals were buffet and waiter served al la cart. On the beach you got a deck chair and a sun bed for the duration of your stay, but there were plenty of sun lounges around the pool which were more confortable.

We went to Sicily on a trip which was a long day but through some beautiful countryside. Although Sicily was nice and there were some stunning views on the way, it didn't show the true Italy as you were dropped off at Taormina. You were dropped off on the main shopping street with your free time to shop if you could afford to, and then back to the coach. Things there were more expensive and the people more reserved in Sicily. But all in all a great holiday for us.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justlovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2007

The hotel was very nice and in a nice location right on an excellent beach. Our room was well equipped and clean too. Staff were attentive and was amazed that waiters actually addressed me by my surname at breakfast when asking what we wanted to drink.

This was our second trip to Italy this year and we were expecting a culinary experience to remember however although the buffet food was nice, it primarily consisted of vegetables and served cold/lukewarm at best. This may sound like a typical "Englishman abroad" thing to say but I assure you I don't go on holiday to then eat fish & chips at the local bar!

However, for four of the seven nights we were given the option to order food off the menu and this was of a much better standard (more meat and fish) and served hot.

The food was our only criticism although slight and would return. Apparently TUI (UK) the parent of Thomson Holidays are pulling this from next year's brochure so it remains to be seen whether this would be possible anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rob_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2007

Fantastic hotel, very clean, good size apartments - cleaned daily. Set in fantastic Gardens. The food was good, a mixture of buffet and al a cart. It was a bit confusing on the first night but basically you always have a buffet starter - as much as you like then you choose two dishes of the menu. If you are a vegetarian you will love the food as there are all types of vegetables at the starter buffet.
There is only one shop nearby which sells some nice produce and cheap bear and wine! Please note if you are a smoker there is no-where to purchase cigarettes, you have to go into Tropea to buy them so take some with you. The hotel offers a taxi up to tropea at about 7Euros each and leaves you for four hours, as this is the only place to buy gifts etc it is worth going. The beach there is georgeous.There is no pay phone anywhere near the resort either but you can use the phone in your room which cost us about 7Euros for about 15mins. Tip try to speak Italian as they speak little English, it will be appreiciated. We tried and got a great response from the waiters and good service - Fabio is the only one who speaks better English so look him out. Walk over the rocks to the stromboli beach much nicer, more room.
The snorkling is good and not so crowded out of season. The beach at th front of the hotel is quiet small but you do get your own bed chair and lounger, however as we do not like being crammed in with lots of people this was not for us. You can get to other beaches but it is a bit of a walk but worth it for more space. Note, no cash is spent on the resort you are given a card which you pay at the end. Everytime you purchase a drink you are given a receipt so you can see how much you owe, for this reason you are unable to purchase drinks from a neighbouring hotel as they all operate this way. I think it is to keep you on your own resort. This for us was the best holiday we have had so far and would return.

3  Thank kseager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2007

The Thomson brochure described the hotel as having authentic italian food; this was correct and it was excellent. The menu was not repeated in two weeks and every menu had several choices for each course, ie a mixture of buffet and waiter service which worked well. Amazing fish and pasta courses, a super fresh buffet starter each evening. Bread, desserts and served courses were all superb.
Beautiful grounds, lovely beachside location, although quiet and a 15 minute shuttle/taxi ride into Tropea - which was also lovely.
Super genuine and friendly Italian staff and the hotel definitely had a family run feel to it which was lovely, ie no corporate feel to it at all.
Many water sports available plus a tennis court.
Only slight criticism was very little organised activities for 6-14 year old children but a lively under 6 mini club was available but of course dominated by Italian children as so few English families seem to visit. Sadly Thomson are dropping this location after this year - a great loss.
Lovely small gestures made, ie constant jugs of iced water (still and sparkling) available to all on the bar throughout days and evenings. In addition, water melon offered around the beach and pool by entertainment staff. Half a litre of wine given with each evening meal for half board guests - a lovely touch.

Excellent - we will revisit !

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JulieHolidays22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2007

We spent a week at the Baia Del Sole having booked through Portland and were very impressed with most of the experience - spending a 9 hour delay at Gatwick due to a fault with the plane was less than great! The staff at the resort were good though, they had kept some meals for us even though we didn't arrive until past midnight. The facilities and room were of a good standard and the food was exceptional - we had a half board deal and really didn't need to eat any more than was offered at breakfast and dinner - in quality and quantity. The staff didn't speak much English - which we were warned about before we went, but they made every effort to understand and we got by with no problems, look out for Fabio if you struggle - speaks good English and is also very helpful. There isn't really anything to do outside the complex in the evening - you can get a ride into Tropea from the reception - so it is a case a relaxing in the bar, which suited what we wanted to do. Overall I would recommend this resort if you want to relax in the sun or if you want to explore unspoilt Calabria

Stayed: June 2007
5  Thank Chris_Deverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

I booked this hotel on the strength of previous reviews, although I was a bit wary as all the reviews were so positive. But I am glad to say that the hotel lived up to its Trip Advisor reputation. Beautiful tranquil grounds with very colourful shrubbery. The staff were also very friendly and helpful, especially with my 4 year old daughter. The food was also excellent, in particular the €30 dinner buffet. We booked a one bedroom self catering appartment at €90 per night, but were allocated a two bedroom apartment at no extra cost. The beach itself had very nice soft sand, however, it was a bit stoney in the sea which is obviously beyond the control of the hotel.
The area itself is both beautiful and bland in equal measure, plenty of nice beachs and scenery but also a lot of shabby looking towns and holiday apartments. The old centre of Tropea is beautiful but the more modern areas are not so great. Its the same story with Pizzo. The amount of half finished houses dotting the landscape is also a bit of an eyesore. Having said that , the area is well worth a visit, in particular if you stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank o2barebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2006

We stayed at this hotel between 29 Aug and 5 Sep 2006. Probably the best holiday we have had in Europe. Very clean, charming and helpful staff, very Italian, beautiful grounds, stunning scenery. We did not watch any entertainment so can't comment nor did we have children with us. Booked a double room but actually given an apartment with separate fully equipped kitchen. Food was great and local wine was free with evening meal on half board. We did trips to Sicily and Aolian Islands which were good. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KathEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ricadi hotels
0.6 mi away
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
#2 of 9 in San Nicolo
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel  La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#1 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
1,038 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Resort Tonicello
Hotel Resort Tonicello
#9 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baia del Godano Resort & Spa
Baia del Godano Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villaggio Stromboli
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala di Volpe
Hotel Cala di Volpe
#7 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villaggio Club Baia del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Club Baia del Sole

Address: C.da Torre Ruffa, 89866, Ricadi, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Ricadi
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ricadi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ricadi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ricadi
#13 Family Hotel in Ricadi
Price Range: £92 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Club Baia del Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Baia del SoleAlong the coast which bridges Tropea to Capo Vaticano, there is a piece of sweet Calabria on the sea: our tourist village will surely surprise you for its care, its greenery and its hospitality. An overall made up by organization, seriousness, structures’ quality, in a pleasant and relaxing living where you can do everything or nothing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villaggio Club Baia del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Club Baia Del Sole Hotel Ricadi
Villaggio Hotel Ricadi
Villaggio Hotel Baia Del Sole
Villaggio Club Baia Del Sole Calabria, Italy - Ricadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing