We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not as good as we expected from the reviews here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villaggio Club Baia del Sole
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Ricadi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Good, but not as good as we expected from the reviews here”
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Well located resort with many facilities, tennis, bikes (extra $), gym, table tennis, diving (extra), Sailing (extra). Food good, if only a little buffet centric which can become a little much after a few days. Lunch very good although this is extra.
Very disappointed with the room, dispite having 2 bedrooms, the bathroom(loo) was tiny, which ends with a continious queue outside. Strangely the room also came with a huge kitchen. Outside on a small patio tackly plastic table and chairs. The whole thing was more like a Naple city appartment. Maybe just a one off.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Accomadation
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Toolbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    115
    19
    11
    9
See reviews for
252
98
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

Hi just returned from this wonderful hotel again, and with its beautiful gardens it is the nearest thing to paradise i have ever experienced. The people are so warm and friendly and go out of their way to help you. If you love food, beaches, italian people, sunshine and panoramic scenery to mention but a few, then look no further. Flights ryanair stansted, car hire avis collected at Lamezia airport and hotel all booked on the internet, everything sweet cannot praise it enough. Going back again in september counting the weeks.....Trevor Wilson... Maldon Essex.

  • Liked — The food and people
  • Disliked — No real entertainment in the evening
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zambrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bremen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2007

very well looked after, everything in this hotel is equipped with care and always checked or being in a good state.
it is directy at the seafront, good access by road (although hard to find because of the lack of any signs). without your own car it is hard to reach.
food was excellent and everything was freshly prepared.
we had a three-room appartement for a family with two kids so we had a lot of space. other rooms were much smaller and less beautiful.
late september is a good season to come, prices have gone down, but weather is still good.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maresol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanbedrog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2007

cant get enough of this place.. sooooooooooooo relaxing. Food so great , views , the sea, the weather , the peole , the friends we made.
We were given the same gorgeous bungalow and the girls had a smaller one next door.... they seemed so happy to see us return. We were happy to return and were treated like long lost friends rather than hoilday makers.
We will make every effort to return independantly next year as it has been withdrawn from the brochure now.
You cant go wrong when you go here it is simply the most relaxing and wonderful holiday we have ever had.
If anyone works out how to get there independantly please let us know
We want to go back andback back...even my 18 year old an my 14 year old.

  • Liked — family feel peace tranquiilty wth just the right amount ofthings to do.
  • Disliked — going home
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Melon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2007

We have just returned from two weeks holiday at this hotel and it’s the best holiday we have had. We were so chilled out it was great. The hotel grounds were beautiful and were well laid out. The food was a vegetarian’s dream, the sweets were to die for. The wine with the evening meals was free and as much as you wanted (red or white). The staff spoke some English but not a great deal, but if you spoke a little Italian they loved it. But all in all a great holiday for us. Best get to this place before it becomes commercialised, and Mc Donald’s gets there. Unfortunately Thomson Holidays are now pulling out of this region after only two years so if you wish to go Ryan Air operates to the local airport.

The staff were all very helpful, and the food was buffet breakfast, even bacon and eggs, as well as the cold selection. Evening meals were buffet and waiter served al la cart. On the beach you got a deck chair and a sun bed for the duration of your stay, but there were plenty of sun lounges around the pool which were more confortable.

We went to Sicily on a trip which was a long day but through some beautiful countryside. Although Sicily was nice and there were some stunning views on the way, it didn't show the true Italy as you were dropped off at Taormina. You were dropped off on the main shopping street with your free time to shop if you could afford to, and then back to the coach. Things there were more expensive and the people more reserved in Sicily. But all in all a great holiday for us.

  • Liked — Everything was just fantastic
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justlovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

The hotel was very nice and in a nice location right on an excellent beach. Our room was well equipped and clean too. Staff were attentive and was amazed that waiters actually addressed me by my surname at breakfast when asking what we wanted to drink.

This was our second trip to Italy this year and we were expecting a culinary experience to remember however although the buffet food was nice, it primarily consisted of vegetables and served cold/lukewarm at best. This may sound like a typical "Englishman abroad" thing to say but I assure you I don't go on holiday to then eat fish & chips at the local bar!

However, for four of the seven nights we were given the option to order food off the menu and this was of a much better standard (more meat and fish) and served hot.

The food was our only criticism although slight and would return. Apparently TUI (UK) the parent of Thomson Holidays are pulling this from next year's brochure so it remains to be seen whether this would be possible anyway.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rob_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2007

Fantastic hotel, very clean, good size apartments - cleaned daily. Set in fantastic Gardens. The food was good, a mixture of buffet and al a cart. It was a bit confusing on the first night but basically you always have a buffet starter - as much as you like then you choose two dishes of the menu. If you are a vegetarian you will love the food as there are all types of vegetables at the starter buffet.
There is only one shop nearby which sells some nice produce and cheap bear and wine! Please note if you are a smoker there is no-where to purchase cigarettes, you have to go into Tropea to buy them so take some with you. The hotel offers a taxi up to tropea at about 7Euros each and leaves you for four hours, as this is the only place to buy gifts etc it is worth going. The beach there is georgeous.There is no pay phone anywhere near the resort either but you can use the phone in your room which cost us about 7Euros for about 15mins. Tip try to speak Italian as they speak little English, it will be appreiciated. We tried and got a great response from the waiters and good service - Fabio is the only one who speaks better English so look him out. Walk over the rocks to the stromboli beach much nicer, more room.
The snorkling is good and not so crowded out of season. The beach at th front of the hotel is quiet small but you do get your own bed chair and lounger, however as we do not like being crammed in with lots of people this was not for us. You can get to other beaches but it is a bit of a walk but worth it for more space. Note, no cash is spent on the resort you are given a card which you pay at the end. Everytime you purchase a drink you are given a receipt so you can see how much you owe, for this reason you are unable to purchase drinks from a neighbouring hotel as they all operate this way. I think it is to keep you on your own resort. This for us was the best holiday we have had so far and would return.

Helpful?
3 Thank kseager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ricadi
8.2 mi away
BV Borgo del Principe
BV Borgo del Principe
#1 of 11 in Zambrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
#2 of 9 in San Nicolo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala di Volpe
Hotel Cala di Volpe
#4 of 19 in Capo Vaticano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Resort Tonicello
Hotel Resort Tonicello
#7 of 19 in Capo Vaticano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ipomea Club
Hotel Ipomea Club
#1 of 2 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 21 in Tropea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villaggio Club Baia del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Club Baia del Sole

Property: Villaggio Club Baia del Sole
Address: C.da Torre Ruffa, 89866, Ricadi, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Ricadi
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ricadi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ricadi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ricadi
#13 Family Hotel in Ricadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Club Baia del Sole 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Baia del SoleAlong the coast which bridges Tropea to Capo Vaticano, there is a piece of sweet Calabria on the sea: our tourist village will surely surprise you for its care, its greenery and its hospitality. An overall made up by organization, seriousness, structures’ quality, in a pleasant and relaxing living where you can do everything or nothing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Villaggio Club Baia del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Club Baia Del Sole Hotel Ricadi
Villaggio Hotel Ricadi
Villaggio Hotel Baia Del Sole
Villaggio Club Baia Del Sole Calabria, Italy - Ricadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing