We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a great time!”
Review of Hotel Dory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dory
Ranked #7 of 288 Hotels in Riccione
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a great time!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was my first time staying at Hotel Dory although my husband has been there several times. I have to say it was a first class experience! The food was beyond belief and always available. The food options catered to all including those with allergies and vegetarians. So many vegetables! The staff were extremely accomodating. If there was anything you needed the staff at Hotel Dory would make it happen. They were lovely. If you are a cyclist you are at the right place. They have daily tours for every level of cycling and those who don't cycle they have other activities and organized tours for you to participate in. They organized transportation for non cyclists to meet with their friends and family members who were cycling and provided lunches and wine tastings in beautiful settings. We stayed in the apartments about a block away from the hotel. It was clean, comfortable and private, it felt like a home away from home. I cannot say enough about the Hotel Dory and will definitely be returning and would recommend it to anyone who is interested in experiencing Italy first class. My husband and I took a weekend away in Florence which was so easy to get to as the train station is walking distance from the hotel. There is lots of shopping in Riccione and I would recommend taking one of the hotels complimentary bikes and riding into Cotolica which is about 10km from the Hotel and a beautiful little town. We also took the local bus to Rimini for a day which was only about a half hour trip. There is so much to do no matter what you are in to. Big thanks to Stefano and his staff for providing a vacation of a life time.

Annie and Brian Zolper

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the apartments just a block away from the hotel. Our room was very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMZolper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,145
    349
    55
    20
    13
See reviews for
677
374
63
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iasi, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Dory is a hotel where everything is perfectly organized and you feel like home.
Room hotel, restaurant and services for cyclists are excellent. it's definitely the best price and quality in Riccione. Recommend Hotel Dory for your cycling holidays or just relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was our first cycling holiday and Hotel Dory came recommended by a friend. It was brilliantly well organised and the rides were a lot of fun (apart from the hills!). The food was very good and there was no shortage of it.
The hotel itself is well positioned for the beach and the main town for evening strolls and shopping.
Staff were very friendly, there were some break downs in communication at times but they always try their best. It's worth clarifying with them where they are willing to collect you from because the website says you can be collected from Rimini but we were told that it was in fact too far for them to come so we travelled onto Riccione.
I would highly recommend the hotel, we had a fantastic week.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to the newly converted rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 651Daisy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay. Clean room although a little small. Food was good to a point, little disappointing at times if you are a vegetarian. Bike facilities great. Staff friendly and helpful. Enjoyed my stay. Local restaurant variety was good.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MTurny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

To celebrate my 60th birthday, I came here with my wife and adult children. We're avid cyclists at home, and the opportunity to ride in Italy held great appeal. We found the Hotel Dory through an internet search and saw plenty of great reviews. Their reputation is well-earned. We checked in on a Saturday and were promptly set up with Scott CR-1 rental bikes; the hotel has a large bike storage area if you bring your own bike. That evening there was a briefing on the week's activities and Sunday morning at 0930 the groups formed up in front of the hotel and we were off.

Everything necessary for a day's ride was available prior to setting off - sandwiches, bananas and water were set out for the riders to help themselves. There were different levels of groups to accommodate the ability of the cyclists; the guides were well-familiar with the routes for each of these common-level cycling groups and made sure we all stayed together. The roads were challenging ... especially for a Canadian who has only just emerged from a long non-cycling winter.

As the week progressed, we found ourselves making many new friends and on Friday evening there was a weekly wrap-up where we all got to re-live the week with photos and stories.

I'd come back to the Hotel Dory in a New York minute ... and who knows, maybe you can strike a good deal for your old Molteni jersey.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ppotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

First time I have been here.
Really great cycle holliday.
They take great care off you.
Good guides good technical assistance
good food and good sauna
Friendly staff
comfy rooms with great showers
and great region to cycle

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank alaindp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Imagine cycling along the Adriatic, turning inland, following a fabuloso guide (who is not hard to look at!) up (and up) past castles on hilltops, through villages, on roads with sweeping vistas, to the Most Serene Republic of San Marino. Then, after cappucino and gelato, flying down those hills, the Adriatic in the distance, with complete joy and abandon. One day you end up at the country house of Stephano, the Hotel Dory's owner and spectacular host, where tables are set out and sausages are grilling and wine is flowing. The French sing their national anthem. We Vermonters top them with ours. Or one day you meet near the end of a ride at a vineyard to sample wines and olive oil, with breads and prosciutto, cheese and dessert, and try not to drink too much to ride the 10 miles back to the hotel (flat miles, thank heavens). You know that a perfecto buffet meal will greet you--fresh vegetables and salads, two kinds of pasta, at least two meats and one fish, desserts galore. Best of all, you're riding with people of your own level (5 levels to choose from), so each day is nothing but fun. Well, hard work and fun, rewarded with free wine and beer at dinner, excellent breakfasts that fuel your ride, great lunches to come back to, and lots of new friends from all over the world. Our suite was lovely, my bike was better than mine at home. We were back from our daily rides by 2, in time for lunch and then a swim in the Adriatic on the beautiful beach a block from the Dory. If I'm raving, it's because this was the perfect holiday. My husband could ride with the Limoncinos (crazy cyclists), I could ride with Cappucino Lights, we each were challenged and happy and could come together with our friends at the end of a great day. The Dory a superbly run cycling center. We are going back next year with even more friends. Bravo, Hotel Dory! Can't wait until September!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the hotel behind the hotel and on an upper floor--you'll be able to see the Ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vtwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riccione hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Augustus Riccione
Hotel Augustus Riccione
#2 of 288 in Riccione
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Love Boat
Hotel Love Boat
#4 of 288 in Riccione
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Riccione
Atlantic Hotel Riccione
#11 of 288 in Riccione
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Select Suites & Spa
Hotel Select Suites & Spa
#10 of 288 in Riccione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#20 of 288 in Riccione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#12 of 288 in Riccione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dory

Property: Hotel Dory
Address: Viale Giacomo Puccini 4, 47838 Riccione, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Riccione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Riccione
#3 Spa Hotel in Riccione
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riccione
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Riccione
#14 Business Hotel in Riccione
#14 Family Hotel in Riccione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dory 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 50 years our main objective has been to make every guest feel right at home, surrounding them with warmth and all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dory Hotel Riccione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing